Humans logo

That One Friend

Friendship

By Blue BhuttaPublished about a year ago 4 min read
6
That One Friend
Photo by Aman Shrivastava on Unsplash

I saw her sitting on the other side of the classroom on the first day of college, lost in thought, and immediately felt drawn to her. She had a quiet confidence about her that was both intriguing and comforting. I wanted to talk to her, to get to know her better, but I didn't know how to approach her. At first, I thought that she might be a rude person and would not want to be my friend so I didn't even try to talk to her.

Weeks went by, and we continued to sit on opposite sides of the classroom, never saying a word to each other other than work. But something about her continued to capture my attention, and I couldn't help but feel that we were meant to be friends.

Let me clear this first, I have never struggled in making friends in my life and I feel very lucky when it comes to making new friends. Since I was a little girl I've always had a nice and supportive group of friends. I am the kind of a person who is friendly with everyone and people usually approach me first to be their friend. I guess it is just something about my personality that draw people in. Maybe it is my easygoing nature or my ability to make others feel comfortable around me. Whatever it is, I didn't mind.

Anyways, After some weeks the girl at the other corner and I exchange numbers because our class was creating a WhatsApp group. Now I had her number and little did we know that it would be the start of a lifelong friendship. Without even realising we were talking non-stop. Sometimes we used to stay up till 2 or 3 o’clock, and we spent many late nights discussing our dreams, fears, and everything in between.

In 2nd year of college, I changed my seat and we started to sit together. I remember one day, We both were sitting together in the classroom after the classes ended, staring at the clock and waiting for the final bell to ring. It was a sweltering summer day, and the heat was making us restless.

That's when I turned to her and whispered, "Do you want to break the doorknob?"

She looked at me quizzically, but I could see the mischievous glint in her eye. "What do you mean?" she whispered back.

I grinned, feeling a thrill of excitement. "The doorknob to the classroom door," I explained. "It's been loose for weeks. We could break it off and see what happens."

She hesitated for a moment but then nodded. "Okay," she said. "Let's do it."

We waited until the classroom was empty, then snuck up to the door. I twisted the doorknob back and forth, feeling it give way in my hand. With one swift yank, I pulled it off completely. We both burst out laughing, feeling a rush of adrenaline. But as we turned to leave, we heard footsteps in the hallway. Panicking, we ran back to our seats and pretended to be studying. It was the janitor, checking to make sure all the doors were locked. He didn't seem to notice anything amiss, but we both sat frozen in our seats until he left.

After that day, we both felt a secret bond. We were partners in crime, willing to take risks and have fun. We started to plan other pranks and It was one of the best times of my life. Looking back on those days, I realize how much I owe her. Without her, I might have never learned to take risks and have fun. She was my partner in crime, but she was also my friend. And I'll never forget the thrill of those reckless days in the classroom.

Now that I think about it friends have a profound influence on our lives. They are the people we turn to for support, guidance, and comfort. They can lift us up when we are feeling down and push us to be better than we ever thought possible. Friends can help shape our beliefs and values, introduce us to new experiences, and challenge us to step outside our comfort zones. Whether we realize it or not, the people we choose to surround ourselves with can have a significant impact on our choices and the paths we take in life. That's why it's so important to choose our friends wisely and cultivate healthy, positive relationships that encourage growth and personal development.

literaturevintagetravelsinglequotesmarriagelovelistinterviewhumorhumanityfriendshipfeaturefamilyfact or fictiondivorcedatingbreakupsartadvice
6

About the Creator

Blue Bhutta

I either write about my own experiances or write in article style and give information so that people who read my things can improve themselves and can get successful in life.

If you want to know me through my stories then subscribe

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Mubeshir Aliabout a month ago

    Your creative writing beautifully captures the essence of friendship's transformative power. The narrative flows smoothly, drawing the reader into the evolving relationship between the narrator and her newfound friend. The authenticity and honesty portrayed make it relatable and engaging, while the insightful reflection underscores the significance of companionship in shaping our experiences and outlook on life. Well done! i apologize on my behalf that i didnt read this master peice earlier..

  • Sachinkatuaabout a year ago

    Very nice but everyone wants to think different such a life, still you write something which makes you realize after reading that this is it...

  • Rambabu Ramsabout a year ago

    This one is the best memorable story. Having such good memories will bring you back to the old golden days... You just made me back to my old days by reading your story 🙂

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.