Writers logo

Inside the Animal's Mind [an unofficial challenge]

May 2024 Writing Prompt/Challenge

By BellePublished 18 days ago Updated 18 days ago 3 min read
20

Hellooo Vocal Creators!

I have noticed a few other creators doing their own unofficial challenges, and I thought I'd try to hop on the bandwagon! Let's see if we can get some contestants! (And hopefully it can become a monthly thing!)

The Prompt

Write a story on the inside of an animal's mind/told from the perspective of an animal.

This is really open-ended, so here are some ideas for inspiration:

What is going through the mind of the elk during rutting season? Or the lion during the hunt? The mouse as it tries to flee the chase? The bat in the cave? The polar bear in the glaciers? The ladybug as its picked up by a child? A butterfly as it comes out of its cocoon? Heck, even Sasquatch as it's sighted in the woods?

Some tips: I am open to anything -- but I love darker pieces of writing that explore danger, terror, and risk. However, I am also open to beautiful/inspiring pieces, if that's your thing. The more out there, the better!

Also! The animal does not have to be REAL. It can be a mythological creature or something fantastical.

The Criteria

Word Count: Aim for around 500 words! But I'm not counting. Anything between 350 and 650 is fine! (But again, I'm not counting.)

Link back: At the end of your work, include a link to this page so this challenge prompt comes up!

Comment: Come back and comment the link to your submission once it has been published! I can't wait to read them!

More than one submission?: DO IT! I'd love to see what you have to write if you have more to say! I just ask that each submission be in its own publication.

Deadline: This challenge will end on May 31st! That's as long as there are actually people who submit to it. Let's hope so! (If there is an adjustment to this date, I will notify all contestants and edit this publication.)

Invite!: So this is not a requirement, but (please) invite your friends to join the challenge! I'd love to see more responses/submissions, if at all possible! Exciting!

Judging

So, I will be doing the judging after it closes. It should take me approximately a week (I am not anticipating many things to read for my first shot at a challenge), so let's shoot for June 6th.

(P.S. If you are worried about my credentials for judging, I don't claim to be the most eligible judge, but for piece of mind, here's a little about me: I am an English major in my BEd and have had a passion for creative writing since I learned to pick up a pen.)

I will judge the works based on writing, plot/story, language, and creativity. Another publication will be written and published on June 6th with the winner (or top 3 if we get enough submissions!) as well as a little blurb rationalizing my choice. Links to all submissions (regardless if they made it to the top) will be included!

Prizes? I am not entirely sure yet about prizes, as ridiculous as that might be. I would like to be able to give tips in the future, but for now -- I will be reading and commenting on 5 of the winner's works as well as subscribing. I hope that this will help boost your page, and hopefully in the future I can start utilizing tips!

Thank you all! I am excited to start this! Happy writing!

(If you comment below that you are planning to enter, I will send reminders out at two weeks before and one week before the closure date if you haven't made a submission yet.)

Here are some (very simple) possible images for inspiration: (though I invite you to look elsewhere for inspiration, create connections between ideas, and build something amazing!)

AchievementsWriting ExerciseWriter's BlockPromptsCommunityChallenge
20

About the Creator

Belle

I host unofficial challenges and enjoy writing microfiction and poetry.

My current open challenges can be found here.

ALL EYES ON RAFAH. 35k+ murdered in Palestine. 70k+ injured. 25k orphaned. ~10k missing/under rubble.

Top Story Count: 4

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk2 days ago

    Here's my entry, Belle. Thank you for the prompt. You are awesome

  • Mackenzie Davis4 days ago

    I love the sound of this challenge! I often wonder what animals are thinking, lol. Not much time left but maybe I can start something on my flight home… 😆🤗

  • Lamar Wiggins6 days ago

    Cool, challenge! Also, I love dark direction you recommend us going. Let’s see what the ole pen has to say about it.

  • Christy Munson6 days ago

    Great prompt! For my entry (perhaps just my first), I went with a puppy, cuz puppies! I mean, come on! For your reading pleasure: https://vocal.media/fiction/she-loves-me-437h0e40

  • Paul Stewart9 days ago

    Two things - Belle, well done on another fantastic prompt idea..I have a few animals I really love that many people don't that I might take a stab at for this challenge making them feel more lovable. Second thing - that picture of the sheep is haunting lol!

  • Andrea Corwin 12 days ago

    What is that first photo?? I will ponder all this, and see if my mind whips out - oops whips into - something for this challenge. 😜

  • I really enjoyed this challenge… thanks for dreaming it up!👏✅🐈‍⬛ https://vocal.media/petlife/her-majesty-mia-and-her-minions

  • Thank you Belle... I saw your post about this on Vocal + Assist and it looks interesting. I'm going to try my hand at it.

  • What a fun challenge. I stumbled upon when I read Hannah’s excellent story! ✅

  • Rachel Deeming13 days ago

    Another one, Belle! Think I might be done now...maybe. And to be honest, I might have overdone it as I can't remember the rules. https://vocal.media/fiction/whale-song-g7zi00en

  • Hannah Moore13 days ago

    I am weary and my head is throbbing, and this felt like the perfect mini escape, thank you! https://vocal.media/fiction/strutting

  • Mark Gagnon13 days ago

    I posted this several months ago and think it may fit with this challenge. Hope you get a laugh out of it. https://vocal.media/humor/sss-snake

  • I've added this to the Unofficial Challenge thread in Vocal Social Society on Facebook, if you are not a member please join us. Great challenge.

  • Rachel Deeming16 days ago

    Here's another, Belle! Thank you for this challenge. https://vocal.media/fiction/waiting-for-the-ice

  • Rachel Deeming17 days ago

    Here's my first effort. There may be more to come... https://vocal.media/fiction/dreams-of-the-savannah

  • Well you know me, I only write horror. So let's see if Mr Brain comes up with anything hehehe

  • Rachel Deeming18 days ago

    I could do something for this and include it as part of my microfiction challenge! I have something in mind already.

  • Fantastic! Well written and interesting

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.