Petlife logo

Home

For Christmas and Beyond

By Cathy holmesPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 4 min read
Top Story - November 2023
48
Photo by Chaitanya Maheshwari on Unsplash

“Home.”

It’s a sound I’ve heard many, many times. I wasn’t sure what it meant, but I do know that it scared me. Whenever I heard that word spoken about one of my friends, I never saw them again. I missed my friends. I missed the ball games we used to play, and the wrestling matches we’d have while rolling around on the grass in the garden.

Sure, I always made new friends. They came in almost every week. But it wasn’t the same. The new friends were usually very afraid and they didn’t want to play with me. They just wanted to sit in the corner and watch. Sometimes they’d shiver, and sometimes they’d even cry.

I always tried to make my new friends feel better. I wanted them to know it would be okay. Sometimes I’d go lay down next to them and let them feel my warmth. Sure, it’s scary at first when you don’t know where you are, and you just want to run away. Of course, you won’t like feeling trapped. But you’ll get used to it. At least it’s not cold, and you don’t have to worry where your next meal is coming from. I’d been there a very, very long time, so I knew what I was talking about.

*

This morning, the most amazing thing happened. The humans that took care of me threw a big party. They made me a cake from sweet potatoes and peanut butter and all kinds of yummy things. Then they put a silly hat on my head and told me I was “going home.”

photo by Jamie Street on Unsplash

I was terrified. I remembered my friends who went “home,” and I never saw them again. I tried telling the shelter humans that I didn’t want to go. I cried. I tried hiding behind them, but it didn’t matter. They helped the other humans put me in the machine on wheels and take me away.

When we arrived at my new house, I was in awe. There were big humans, and small humans who all came to greet me and give me hugs. There was a whole box full of toys and a big bowl of food in the kitchen. There was a tree inside the house. Yes, a tree! It had millions and millions of sparkly things on it, and pretty blinking lights all over. I was mesmerized.

And just when I thought things couldn’t get any better, I saw her – the dog. They had another dog! I was beside myself with glee. I started barking and jumping all around the room. The humans laughed and said something about me turning myself inside out, but I couldn’t help it. I was so excited to have a friend.

After my new friend and I played around for a little while, my new human Mom gave me another big hug, kissed me on the snout and said, “Welcome home Bailey,” I almost cried again. But it wasn’t a sad cry this time. It was a happy cry. It was a “I don’t think I’ve ever been this happy” cry.

It’s been a long, exciting whirlwind of a day, and I am completely tuckered out. The little ones are all gone to bed and I’m sitting on the couch getting hugs and ear scratches from my new human dad. I can’t help but think of all my shelter friends who had gone home before me. I remember how scared I was for them when I didn’t know what “going home” meant.

Now I realize how lucky we are. If they have families as fun and loving as the family I have got, they truly are as blessed as me. I also can’t help but think of my other friends who are still in the shelters waiting to find their forever homes and I hope that one day soon, they will get their turn as well.

For now, I will lay here hypnotized by Dad’s ear scratches and the twinkling lights on the tree, and I will try to understand why he won’t let me eat the big sparkly things hanging from the branches. Hmmm seems like I got some convincing to do.

*********

If you have a desire to adopt a pet during the holiday season, please ensure that you are willing to make a lifetime commitment. Also, never give a pet as a gift unless you are sure the receiver is prepared to make the same commitment. Pets are living, breathing sentient beings. They are not presents to be thrown out with the wrapping paper in January. Thank you and Happy Holidays.

fact or fictionhumanityadoption
48

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (32)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen5 months ago

    Wonderful heartfelt story Cathy. We should share as much love as we can, esp for the holidays...to both human and non human friends. Congrats.

  • L.C. Schäfer5 months ago

    I'm so happy Bailey got a good home! I think a lot of shelters here are a bit hesitant to rehome over the festive period, because there is too much going on and it's harder for the pet to settle.

  • Daphsam5 months ago

    A wonderful story! Oh Bailey, you are a dear! Well done!

  • Elevated State5 months ago

    Lovely Read... I truly felt Bailey! He is a better human to have that much of emotional thought for his kind. But then, in the end, Bailey is just a baby. Just cute!

  • Isabella Rose5 months ago

    This story absolutely brought me to tears of joy. There is nothing better than being a "home" for someone who needs love, regardless if that someone is a pet or a person. There are so many precious animals in the cold right now that it breaks my heart. Thank you for the amazing story from the perspective of a very deserving dog.

  • Carol Townend5 months ago

    What a heartwarming story Cathy! And, thank you for spreading this important message. I think humans sometimes forget that Animals have feelings, and form bonds with the humans that they become family to. We get hurt when separated from our loved ones, and abuse hurts us too; this is also the case for dogs.

  • Lovely story , but then you can always do this Cathy

  • Grz Colm5 months ago

    Here’s me thinking this was about you getting cozy with friends on the grass!!! 🤣🤣 I have a nasty habit of not reading the communities! And the picture was quite dark and ambiguous above, so I didn’t make the pet connection until the dog wearing a Santa hat! So this read like a genuine twist!! 😁 I loved this …it warmed my heart …great images and genuine care emanated from the piece. A few of my friends have gotten shelter dogs and this made me think of them. Well done Cathy on your moving Top Story!! 🎉 🐶

  • I'm soooooo happy this got a Top Story! Congratulations Queen!

  • K. Kocheryan5 months ago

    This was really sweet and made me smile. Congrats on Top story.

  • JBaz5 months ago

    So glad this is Top story and hope it will bring awareness to such a good cause. Congratulations

  • Gerald Holmes5 months ago

    Congrats Sis. I was hoping this one would get Top Story.

  • Judey Kalchik 5 months ago

    wonderful story and a great reminder!

  • Dana Crandell5 months ago

    A wonderful story and an important message to share. All of the dogs in my adult life have been rescues. I wouldn't have it any other way. A very deserving Top Story, Cathy!

  • KJ Aartila5 months ago

    Awesome statement, and a most important statement at the end! (Having dealt with a lot of the aftermath of pets at Holidays as a former animal shelter worker and active animal rescuer!)

  • Melissa Ingoldsby5 months ago

    Very poignant and beautiful 🤩

  • Our son's last dog had been given/taken five times to homes unwilling to receive him before finding his way to us. All I can say is that those five homes have no idea what a wonderful loving friend they missed out on.

  • A very wonderful holiday story and an important message.

  • Caroline Jane5 months ago

    ❤❤❤ Awwww. This is lovely. I love my dog!!!! ❤❤❤

  • Awww. This was soooo sweet! But I sometimes have this irradiation fear that some people would abuse the pets they adopt 🥺 As you said, it's a lifetime commitment and some people are meant for that. And don't get me started on giving pets as a gift. That's like the stupidest thing ever, especially as a surprise!

  • Phil Flannery5 months ago

    That was lovely. Pets don't always get a good run. It was interesting reading it from their point of view. My daughter's Great Dane is still a bit jumpy after 3 years, but my old dog Dave, takes her nervous energy like the gentle old giant he is. Great story. Dave is my profile pic.

  • Colleen Millsteed 5 months ago

    What a beautiful story Cathy.

  • Mother Combs5 months ago

    💙💚

  • LOVE THIS SO VERY MUCH. I AM CRYING. PETS ARE OUR FAMILY

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.