Fiction logo

The storm

The old, wise dog explains

By Anna Published 26 days ago Updated 26 days ago 2 min read

- Silence rules the night... Ronnie and Rex are trying to sleep in their dog house, until... -

"Hey, did you hear that?" – Ronnie lifts his head.

"Yeah, what was that?" – Rex asks with curiosity in his eyes.

"It's called a thunder... at least that's what humans say. But if you ask me, it's definitely a warning... a foreshadow of the coming war."

"A war?"

"Yup."

"But where's the enemy? I can't see anyone here..."

"Of course you can't! That's because they're disguising themselves." – Ronnie explains.

"They are hiding? What a coward behaviour!"

"Right?"

"Yeah, so if they're invisible, how do we know when to strike?"

"We don't... we just listen and follow the threatening signs."

"But it's scary..."

"That's exactly what they want you to be. Scared. Fear makes you weak. It paralyzes your body. But we aren't scared, are we?"

"No!"

"Great! Now here's the plan: first they'll try to fool us with a bright fake sign up there... a beautiful illusion. However as I said, it's a trap and if you run out too soon, it's gonna blind you. But we'll be smarter and more careful than that! We'll patiently wait in our place until they strike again. This time with a sharp, deafening noise. And that's when we'll attack and make them shut up. You got it?"

"Totally." – Rex agrees with his buddy.

"Okay, good. I'll run first, you'll follow and fight right behind me."

"Copy that."

"One last thing: after some time they'll probably cry and beg for grace. Don't let them mislead you, no matter how many tears they'll shed. Show them no mercy!"

"I will."

"Look! Here's our sign! Ready? And three... and two... and one..."

Thunder shakes the stormy sky, and the two dogs run out from their house, straight into the heavy rain, trying to bark over the loud rumbling.

"LET'S GOOOO! THAT'S WHAT I'M TALKING ABOUT! GET OUT OF OUR PROPERTY!"

They make so much noise in the middle of the night, that no one in the neighbourhood can sleep peacefully. But they're just doing their job, aren't they? You can't blame them for helping get rid of the heavy storm. And it seemes like they're succeeding! Good job guys, you did great, but now it's really time to go to bed!

Word count: 380 words

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Written for Belle's Inside the Animal's Mind Unofficial Challenge.

AI image generated by Gencraft

Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed my story, please let me know by leaving a tip, a like or a comment. Don't forget to subscribe if you like my writing style! Any support is appreciated! <3

You might like these too:

FableMicrofiction

About the Creator

Anna

"Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart" - Colossians 3:23

Check out my website HERE!

You can buy me a coffee HERE😊

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (11)

  • Shirley Belk20 days ago

    My dogs also bark at the thunder....I can't get mad at them because, that's their jobs...to alert me of danger

  • Belle20 days ago

    🎉🥳🎉 THE RESULTS ARE IN! 🎉🥳🎉 The results for "Inside the Animal's Mind [an unofficial challenge] have been posted! You can view them here! https://vocal.media/writers/results-inside-the-animal-s-mind-an-unofficial-challenge

  • Murali21 days ago

    I love your creativity! Your fictional story about how dogs might perceive thunder is incredibly imaginative.

  • Belle24 days ago

    Very cute and imaginative, Anna! I love seeing the perspective of a barking dog during a storm! This take is really quite well done! Thank you so much for entering my challenge!

  • It really natural and I can live within it!!!

  • Our loving fur babies are our dearest friends

  • Cathy holmes26 days ago

    Great job on this one. The dialogue was really well done, and I believe it. We dogs hate storms. These guys are fighting back..

  • Awww, Ronnie and Rex are so adorable! Loved your story!

  • Andrea Corwin 26 days ago

    I loved This! It so explains how dogs are thinking - probably hate the thunder but if they bark the “owner” could be more understanding! They should give this story to adoptive dog parents!!

  • ema26 days ago

    I like it so much! My dog get crazy during storms I need to keep him with me... sleepless nights!

  • angela hepworth26 days ago

    You describe the nature and setting so well, I felt like I was there! Loved it.

Anna  Written by Anna

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.