Fiction logo

179 My Big Fat Book of Life: an Autobiography — Part 1

For Thursday, June 27, Day 179 of the Story-a-Day Challenge

By Gerard DiLeoPublished 3 days ago Updated 2 days ago 2 min read
Overdue

I reach up to the dusty bookshelf in my museum, its dedicated library that has been opened for me, for a special exhibition--"by invitation only."

My Big Fat Book of Life--by me. I don't remember writing it.

A much larger tome than I expected, I place it on the library table with difficulty. I open it to the Table of Contents. The section, "Youth," is much thicker than all of the others. I know why:

Youth reads neither between the lines nor footnotes, and the content swells with both--some in bold font, some written in invisible ink.

There had been more to the truncated plot-line I imagined I was living.

Now that I'm old, I can appreciate the content. There's an index; I can page back to certain parts to re-read. "Arrears" is when things occur to us.

Autobiographies haunt us all, in arrears.

I never read this, since I lived it. Yet, as written, I lived it differently than how what I'd thought. I turn the pages, each year passed. In my youth, I would never have even opened it; I'd just live and live some more. I was never privy to the spoilers within its pages; instead, the spoilers came after, now so tidily explained and catalogued. And the diction, syntax, and exposition make them so obvious now.

I'm intrigued: all the footnotes explaining where I went wrong. Pages often turn and chapters often segue in twists and turns that read so logically now to an old autobiograhpher.

The index is twice as long as the story. A lot of my actions and decisions, not self-explanatory, require in-depth explanations and relevant tangential insights. My God! What was I thinking?

Some writing is choppy with very little continuity. I jump around from desire to desire, thrill to thrill, and even from volition to regret. As pages turn, the regrets begin to dominate most of the footnotes now.

Yea, yea, yea...I get it. Spare me the lecture, so written, in arrears.

Impatient, I skip to the final chapter to see how it all ends, as I've done with many other books before.

Alas, someone has ripped out all of those pages. Who's in charge here?

Targeted vandalism — by invitation only

__________

AUTHOR'S NOTE:

For Thursday, June 27, Day 179 of the Story-a-Day Challenge

366 WORDS (without A/N)

Title-accompaniment photo was AI-generated but final chapters were not!

---

ABOUT THIS STORY

This is a 2-parter, but in keeping with the new story-a-day motif, each can stand alone. Skipping ahead to see how a book ends is cheating, but we've all done it. Yet, we must be extremely careful with our autobiographies! Who will make sure we don't read what we weren't meant to read until it was right? Who is our librarian?

On to See Part 2 My Big Fat Book of Life: an Autobiography — Part 2

---

There are currently three surviving Vocal writers still participating in the insane 2024 Story-a-Day Challenge and approaching only its halfway mark:

• L.C. Schäfer, challenge originator

• Rachel Deeming

• Gerard DiLeo (some other guy)

Read them. Support them. Pray for them. Read ahead with them--just be careful which book you choose!"

SeriesMicrofictionFantasy

About the Creator

Gerard DiLeo

Retired, not tired. In Life Phase II: Living and writing from a decommissioned church in Hull, MA. (Phase I was New Orleans and everything that entails. Hippocampus, behave!

https://www.amazon.com/Gerard-DiLeo/e/B00JE6LL2W/

[email protected]

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Novel Allenabout 4 hours ago

    Oh this is reminding me too much of my memories. Such nostalgic tones and a bit of sad even in the happy parts. I love the moving parts of the two chapters.

  • Lol, I wonder how I'd react if that was a book about my life. Loved your story!

  • John Cox2 days ago

    You have away of looking at things from unexpected angles. This is both profound and disturbing, just like soul searching usually is. The art of autobiography is explaining and categorizing events that resist both and justifying and ennobling the ignoble. But if we told the unvarnished truth about ourselves, who would ever want read that?

  • Rachel Deeming2 days ago

    So glad those last pages were ripped out. No peeking!

  • Andrea Corwin 3 days ago

    I love this story! All the footnotes and the index, what an imaginative story❣️

  • Dana Crandell3 days ago

    Those regrets just keep piling up. I thoroughly enjoyed both the concept and the execution of this. Excellent story, Gerard!

  • D. J. Reddall3 days ago

    The notion of an autobiography written in arrears and festooned with discomfiting footnotes is ingenious!

Gerard DiLeoWritten by Gerard DiLeo

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.