Fiction logo

The rabid wolf

Belle's prompt #2. Inside the animal's mind.

By Novel AllenPublished 27 days ago 2 min read
The rabid wolf
Photo by Jeroen Bosch on Unsplash

Once they called us 'dire wolf' (Aenocyon dirus) a now extinct canine that once roamed the Americas.

I am the modern Canis lupus, member of a fascinating species of wolves and the largest member of the family Canidae. We have a complex social structure and travel in close knit families consisting of a mated pair and our offspring. We form packs and establish territories, which we defend quite vigorously.

Wolves are apex predators that occupy the top tier of the food chain. We hunt large wild hooved mammals as well as smaller animals. We can also feed on livestock, carrion, and garbage.

"What"? "Don't judge me, it is a hard life out here in the wild".

Wolves have evolved and adapted over time, and our presence across various ecosystems highlights our importance in maintaining ecological balance. We are truly remarkable creatures that continue to engender the interest of scientists and nature enthusiasts alike.

I am really beautiful on the outside. Once, I was just as lovely on the inside too.

Today, I am not my usual apex self. In fact, I feel completely omni-apex. You see, over a week ago we were out hunting bison upon the plains. We did our assessment, identifying weaknesses and looking for terrain that favored the pack. Finally, after exhaustive planning, we cornered what looked like a weak one.

The damned thing was rabid, not as weak as we had hoped, within it was an unexpected strength, quite unusual to its kind. It sank its teeth into me, biting me most savagely before we took it down. I became ill, a threat, and I was banished from the pack, which was the right thing to do.

Belle's pic

Now here you are, meeting me face to face in the woods.

Today, unfortunately for you, I am not feeling lovely on the inside, in fact I feel the awful, gut infected strength of a feral, rabid wolf. I feel quite mad and excessively aggressive.

You scream, fear rooting you to the spot. I am beyond mercy, instinct is now driving me to anger with murderous intent.

I pounce!!!

My eyes red, my mouth salivating. Madness burning red hot in my bones. I sink my teeth into the warm flesh of your neck, your blood is warm as you fight for your life. But today, I am beyond saving, my life ebbs away as my disease ridden brain takes your life.

Do not worry, I will keep you company while both of our lives waste away.

I nestle close to your still warm body, happy that I will not die alone.

..............................................................................

Not a lot of time left to join, but here is Belle's prompt.

Short StoryPsychologicalHorror

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Clouds come floating into my life, no longer to carry rain or usher storm, but to add color to my sunset sky. ~~ Rabindranath Tagore~~

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

  • Shirley Belk20 days ago

    I felt the savagery.

  • Belle24 days ago

    An intriguing ending! I love the way the wolf found solace in his prey in the end, as he died. Terrifying and comforting. Great work, Novel! Thank you again for entering!!

  • Hannah Moore26 days ago

    Do bison carry rabies? I did not know this!

  • Andrea Corwin 27 days ago

    The Dire Wolves! How I wish I could see them and the lion that used to roam North America! Great entry for the challenge. We went inside the mind of the wolf.

  • "My eyes red, my mouth salivating. Madness burning red hot in my bones. I sink my teeth into the warm flesh of your neck, your blood is warm as you fight for your life." I wish I get to experience this at least once in my life hehehehhehehehe. Loved your story!

  • Sasi Kala27 days ago

    Nice short story!!

  • Sid Aaron Hirji27 days ago

    poor wolf, at least he is content dying with another

  • Luksi Bayou27 days ago

    Whew! Incredible, powerful descriptions!

  • angela hepworth27 days ago

    Powerful work! Great contribution.

Novel AllenWritten by Novel Allen

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.