Fiction logo

The Darkest Widow

All eyes on you.

By Lamar WigginsPublished 28 days ago Updated 19 days ago 3 min read
The Darkest Widow
Photo by Jon Butterworth on Unsplash

Written for Belle's unofficial challenge, 'Inside the mind of an animal' Details after the show.

_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_

One can only spin so much web in a day. It keeps me occupied and allows thoughts to slowly quiet. Somehow, the intricately woven designs mirror the previous ones. Nature has a funny way of guiding us through elaborate steps just to reach similar results. I guess it's pointless to mull over something so trivial when I should be concentrating on proliferating within these walls.

The upright walkers have no intention of sharing this space. I have news for them. We were here first. I will retaliate, but first, I must build a new army.

On the day of reckoning, we were ambushed by a poisonous fog. The tiny, translucent orbs rushed into our environment from every direction, flushing out my soldiers like a deadly resurgence of Agent Orange. The recruits were no match against the aerosol as it quickly adhered to every part of their bodies. It was a massacre that can't be unseen. Their bodies spasmed out of control and contorted in unspeakable ways. I escaped the toxic fumes deep into the cracks of this shared dwelling and watched from afar as each of my progeny perished with insufferable agony. They were all persecuted by a fantastic weapon the upright walkers have in their arsenal. Angered by the tragedy, I retreated.

**

With the help of a suiter, strong and worthy enough to bear an army greater than the last, I will rise again. I shall keep this sire longer than the previous one. The trust issues I have are inherent and personal. These eyes must look beyond intrinsic behavior to allow him to live after the dreadful, yet necessary act of mating.

I shall appoint him captain and place him in charge of training the hundreds of mindless offspring. They are precious little things but must quickly learn the ways of the arachnids or face the same fate as the others.

Recently, I've spent many hours traveling room to room, keeping my attention on the predatorial strangers that live here. Their unpredictable routine of coming and going leaves me no insight into their hatred of my kind. Maybe it’s jealousy. Can anyone ever deny the advantage of having eight legs and eyes?

The subtle scent of remebered devastation leads me to their tools of destruction. I find them perched high upon a shelf in a dark enclosure. I seize the opportunity to seal the openings of each cannister with generous amounts of web, being very careful not to come into contact with the lethal residue. The next time they arm themselves for defense, the cannisters will most certainly backfire.

What they fail to understand is I carry my own weaponry—a potent venom fatal to potential prey, but will it be enough to take down the colossal frames of the walkers? I don’t know. This leads back to the importance of multiplying. It's an urgent obligation I burden myself with every passing second. Time is valuable.

During a stakeout, I notice a vulnerability of my foe. They spend an enormous span of the night dormant. They lay on a flat surface and become virtually motionless for hours. I suppose it’s some type of recharging ritual.

**

Nighttime returns, I stealthily wait until the last light goes out. The mounting anger over my loss fuels my motive. I see one of them below. My heart accelerates as I inch all the way down on a single thread of web and arrive on a soft covering. Many hills and valleys are traversed until the horizon reveals exposed skin. My fangs react to the suppleness of it and bite down until the poison is drained from my reserves. I again, disappear into the darkness.

I wait and wait...

When the light comes on a commotion ensues.

"Come on, Robert…get up! It's time for work! Get your ass up man!"

It rips the soft coverings off and sees the infected walker is barely breathing. Noticing my handiwork on its neck, it rushes out the room and returns with more walkers. The commotion escalates! Similar to the turmoil I faced when we were attacked.

My work is done for now. I make my way into a vent on the wall to initiate phase two - locate a mate.

The walker I bit into did not return for several days. They brought it back in a mechanical chair that it now uses to get around. The bite was damaging but not fatal as I'd hoped.

In two weeks, the eggs will hatch. Soon, copious amounts of venom will be gifted to each one of them.

They began this unprovoked war. And war is what they shall have. I now know when and where, they rest...

Dall-E

Short StoryHorror

About the Creator

Lamar Wiggins

Creative writer in the Northeast US who loves the paranormal, mystery, true crime, horror, humor, fantasy and poetry. Take a chance, you'll be thoroughly entertained.

"Life is Love Experienced" -LW

LDubs

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (17)

  • Sara Wilson18 days ago

    Oh my gosh! This gave me the creeps lol. Well done!!

  • Mark Gagnon19 days ago

    Congratulations on coming in third, Lamar! I've been so wrapped up in house-hunting there has been no time for reading or writing. I almost got bit by one of those nasty critters. It was a scary experience.

  • Congratulations in placing in Belle’s challenge! This is brilliant… I used to be terrified of spiders, now I rescue them! Loved ‘ Their unpredictable routine of coming and going leaves me no insight into their hatred of my kind. Maybe it’s jealousy. Can anyone ever deny the advantage of having eight legs and eyes?’ Such a wonderful voice!

  • Belle20 days ago

    🎉🥳🎉 THE RESULTS ARE IN! 🎉🥳🎉 The results for "Inside the Animal's Mind [an unofficial challenge] have been posted! You can view them here! https://vocal.media/writers/results-inside-the-animal-s-mind-an-unofficial-challenge

  • Cathy holmes21 days ago

    Wow. That was utterly terrifying and fantastic. Well done.

  • Shirley Belk23 days ago

    Brilliant and terrifying!

  • Belle24 days ago

    Astounding, Lamar! I love that the selected language is so militarized and intentional. This spider knows what she's doing, and she's highly aware as a combatant. A very great story! Well done! Thank you so much for entering my challenge! I see some of the other contestants have left comments, and I am so happy for that! I hope to see you in more of my challenges! It's been a great pleasure.

  • Sleeping is like my most favourite thing to do and now I'm so scared to sleep hahahaha. I think I'll be safe as I'm not the one who waged war against the spiders hehehe

  • shanmuga priya28 days ago

    I appreciate your work.

  • Novel Allen28 days ago

    The kids run screaming yelling 'spider in the bathroom'. I say let them alone. But the broom comes out. I will let them know what the spiders are planning so they will be prepared. I enjoyed the view from the perspective of Spidey.

  • Lana V Lynx28 days ago

    Yuck, that was intense and pretty graphically disgusting. Great job on rendering that in writing, Lamar!

  • Andrea Corwin 28 days ago

    OMG so creepy and evil - GREAT job!!

  • Real Poetic28 days ago

    Your descriptive language is always so vivid, and that ending is creepy! Love your story!

  • Luksi Bayou28 days ago

    Terrifying! I love the descriptions that hold the spider's perspective in place, such as the "hills and valleys".

  • angela hepworth28 days ago

    Creepy work! Great choice of animal too!

  • D.K. Shepard28 days ago

    Yikes! So creepy! The ending mention of the eggs hatching gave me a shiver!

  • Great work, Lamar!!! Excellent entry for Belle's challenge.

Lamar WigginsWritten by Lamar Wiggins

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.