Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Wisdom Over Ivory

For Belle's Inside the Animal's Mind Unofficial Challenge

By Paul StewartPublished 28 days ago Updated 28 days ago 3 min read
Wisdom Over Ivory
Photo by Geranimo on Unsplash

"As I stand here in this tight, confined space, all I can hear is groans, moans and then silence at varying intervals. There is a pungent stench, something foul in the air, that's for sure. It feels worse than any swamp I've ever played in... something uncomfortable. It feels unsteady, and there's a thickness in the air. If I were a more superstitious mammal, I would say there is a stink of death in the air. The increasing temperature as it hits midday is not helping things feel any fresher or more comfortable.

Let's just say that it's not the place I would have chosen for this meeting, whatever it may be.

Standing here, waiting, has me thinking.

I've never understood it. Though our intelligence is often debated, I doubt anyone understands what 'they' do.

It's not like they get to enjoy a sumptuous and juicy steak or burger from their act of terrorism against my kind.

It's not like there is this real shortage where life depends on one of the very things that makes my kind what we are being cruelly ripped from us.

Those would be reasons I'd find it much harder to argue against. I'm sure I could still think of choice words to combat their calls for the continued slaughter and decimation, but at least they'd have something approaching an argument based on more than just "ivory is high value".

The time I spend with my brethren and other animals is what I consider valuable. The scent and feel of the morning dew, the warm sun on my back, splashing in the water with my kin. That's what's truly valuable.

I remember my brothers, who had long passed, though they are now, spraying me with water when I was but a young calf.

I'll always cherish those memories, the way my brothers would tumble around and race each other back to our parents. The times when we just lazed around, letting the flies land on our backs and trunks. Even now, when I drop my trunk into the water and give it a playful spray, I think back to those days.

I also remember vividly calling out to them as the humans cornered them, attacked them, and led them away to be slaughtered. Their groans and painful outcries soundtrack many of my dreams and nightmares.

My father called them the human disgrace. I have seen examples that both contradict and support that denunciation.

It's not enough for them to just gaze at our majesty or to employ our services when they need the help of our might. No. They have the same attitude toward everything they see in this world. Take, take, take until there's nothing left.

It's the way of things; that's what happened to my father.

I was still only young, and I remember calling out to him as they led him away.

You look like one of the men that led my father away. He was my world. He shaped me as an elephant into the male of the herd I am. My kin looks up to me, and it's because I reflect his most outstanding qualities.

Imagine, for a moment, please, you had children that had sought-after gifts. Gifts of high value that anyone would do anything to get and pay any price to obtain. The gifts did not solve man's problems, nor did they provide a solution for the earth's problems. What's more, extracting those gifts from your children and your offspring would cause them untold pain, misery and eventually death. How much would you be willing to accept in exchange for your own flesh and blood?

Some of my kin say, "But man does what man does," like it doesn't matter. It doesn't in the grand scheme of things. We don't have a voice that can sound in protest at their brutality.

Even if we did, though, would many of them listen? I like to think they would if they could, but then I remember...

Do they listen to the outcries against war, class divides, religious disputes, fights, and the world's ever-depleting forests, rainforests and natural resources? Do they ever really listen to the calls against sex trafficking, malnutrition, and genocide of their own people?

So, I won't hold my breath that this special place I am being taken to is not just some warehouse where they can kill me for my tusks."

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Notes: This is for Belle's awesome Inside the Animal's Mind unofficial challenge. I think I got a bit carried away with the word count!

Here is a link to the challenge:

Here is a link to a recent poem that touches on the same subject:

Short Story

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (14)

  • Mackenzie Davis14 days ago

    Outstanding! Incredibly moving, too, Paul. You must have been filled with all kinds of emotions as you wrote this, from anger to sadness. Seeing how cruelly we treat animals, in particular, but also ourselves, as the elephant mentions, is just the hardest thing to come to terms with in this life. You capture this so very well. Congratulations on your win for Belle's challenge!

  • Sara Wilson18 days ago

    Ivory is one of the worst practices. It's gross. You wrote this so well. Great job 👍

  • Congratulations on your well deserved placing in Belle’s challenge. This is so sad & tragic… another case of the cruelty of some humans and the callous waste of precious life. Well put!✅

  • Andrea Corwin 20 days ago

    I just read this with Belle's announcement. Congrats!! I must say that I have been on 4 photo safaris in Africa and am an animal activity on Twitter (X), although not quite as active as I once was (you can read my story https://vocal.media/earth/the-tweetstorm-that-got-me-suspended). They murder them on the plains, like rhinos, and mutilate them whether totally dead or not. Babies are orphaned. Kenya shoots poachers on sight, and I wish the others would also. Skin is used for paper and ivory is still desired in Asian countries. Giraffe tails for fans, lions are farmed for easy shooting and claws, and all African animals are at risk for their body parts. Humans are the scourge of the earth as a whole. Great story, Paul!

  • Shirley Belk20 days ago

    profound! and deeply saddening.

  • Belle20 days ago

    🎉🥳🎉 THE RESULTS ARE IN! 🎉🥳🎉 The results for "Inside the Animal's Mind [an unofficial challenge] have been posted! You can view them here! https://vocal.media/writers/results-inside-the-animal-s-mind-an-unofficial-challenge

  • Cathy holmes22 days ago

    and now I want to cry, and all I can say is humans suck. Great entry to the challenge.

  • Belle24 days ago

    There are so many things I love about this piece, Paul. You have captured a bigger, much more pressing thing with this, and I applaud you for being able to use an animal to make larger commentaries. The realities of exploitation and the unfortunate truth around the quote "but man does what man does" are applied perfectly. Amazing work!! Also, I love the touch of the fact that this is from an elephant's point of view, as he is remembering old times... It could've been any other exploited animal, but the elephant is known for its memory, after all. Thank you so much for entering!!! This was such a pleasure to read!!!

  • Novel Allen27 days ago

    Poor big guys, too large and ungainly to defend themselves, yet elephants never forget...hopefully someday they get their revenge.

  • Heather Zieffle 28 days ago

    Great story, Paul! What people do to elephants is abhorrent. Humans are the most baffling animal in existence, that's without question.

  • Sir Paul, I saw your subtitle and your cover photo and straight came to the comments. I'm too afraid to read this. Is this a sad animal story? 🥺

  • Rachel Deeming28 days ago

    Moving. Seeing things from the animal's viewpoint and writing as them, I think is really powerful. Nice work, chum!

  • JBaz28 days ago

    Amazing that this is still a topic in the world today. HOW? You bring life and light to this, thank you

  • I hadn’t seen this challenge yet, it definitely catches my interest after reading yours Paul. Great job 🌟🙌🙏💎

Paul StewartWritten by Paul Stewart

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.