Longevity logo

No Hiding Place

Trying To Deal With My Diabetes

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 3 min read
6
Todays Current Reading. High Readings Due To Rich Food Yesterday

Introduction

Over the past six months, I have been getting high blood-sugar readings, and despite not changing my diet from when things were under control, and increasing my insulin dosage, they just kept rising.

The level should be between 4 and 10 but I was getting readings towards 20 and had two at 27. The really weird thing is that I didn't feel unwell or like I was going to lose consciousness and I remember many years ago having a reading of 21 and feeling absolutely terrible.

The only reason I knew about the high readings is because I took my own blood readings.

So I contacted my practice and they put me in touch with a diabetes consultant called Rhiannon, which is why I have shared the Fleetwood Mac song in this story.

What The Consultant Said

I spoke with Rhiannon about the situation, and we talked food, insulin and other medication. One of my other problems is that I am also insulin-resistant, and one of my medications has become unavailable worldwide so I am dealing with reduced overall medication.

She then suggested that I triy the Freestyle Librelink which you can read about on the link below.

I was not too sure about this because it meant that I would be monitored 24/7 and the details would be monitored by the consultant, so if I did stray not only would I know, but my consultant would know as well.

We talked more and I know that it is essential that I get this under control if I am to stay alive and keep writing on Vocal among other things.

Rhiannon showed me how to prepare the device which would connect to my phone and then send information back to her. One problem was that where we were the phone signal was atrocious so I would have to finalise my connection when I got home.

The device looks very fiddly and I will have to replace it this week, it is supposed to last two weeks. She put it on to my right arm and it started to send signals on my blood sugar levels to my phone and back to Rhiannon, who I have on call and I can phone her at any time.

When we speak she is always positive and very helpful.

My first surprise was that I was getting readings that were fine, below 10, but the reason for this is that it was recording me every second of the day. That made me feel more positive about the device.

Whenever I eat my blood sugar level goes up, but that is true for everyone. Because I know that it can be monitored by my consultant it helps me resist possible temptations. The more I had it on the more I began to prefer it to the needles that I had been using before.

While I do get the spikes when I eat, it makes me aware of how much I am keeping on the straight and narrow so to speak. I don't have to take readings at particular times because it is recording 24/7.

Conclusion

I am now sold on this device. It is making my life better, it lets me know if I have to take action, which becoming more and more seldom.

There was one issue when it stopped talking to my phone unless I tapped the phone against the device, but the device was still recording and sending data to my phone when I tapped it. Today it went back to normal so the slight inconvenience has gone.

So with the help of this device, I am going to keep myself in excellent condition and be around for a very long time.

Today I registered my lowest blood sugar reading for a long time so it is obviously helping me.

Thank you so much for reading.

self carewellnessproduct reviewlifestylehow tohealthfitnessdietadvice
6

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock2 months ago

    I'm so glad that you're getting the care you need & that things are turning out so well, Mike. Blessings.

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    Glad you got it under control. 🤗

  • Sandra Matos2 months ago

    This is great for you! I'm happy that you took the leap. My sugar is out of control and I may have to use insulin soon if the right meds can't be found. Thank you for sharing your journey.

  • Chloe Gilholy2 months ago

    I reconise the name Abbot as they supply some of the machines for my workplace. My friend's stepdad has a device simular to this one.

  • Judey Kalchik 2 months ago

    I’m glad you tried the new device, and very happy it is working for you! Thank you for sharing your experience so honestly

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.