Longevity logo

Fighting Fitness

My Unfit Life

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 3 months ago 4 min read
7

Introduction

I am writing this from a position of reasonable healthiness and fitness, but I have not always been that way, in fact only in the last ten years have I really started to realise what an unfit lard bucket I really am.

The music, fairly appropriately, is "Fat Man" by Jethro Tull from their album "Stand Up".

Many Years Ago

I never realised I was fat as a child, though looking back I know that I really was, until I hit secondary school. My mum had to adjust pants for me, but I was encouraged to eat the "build myself up".

While I am not an advocate of putting kids on diets, also they should be encouraged to do physical activity and not to eat more than they need to. Luckily I was encouraged to do lots of outdoor things so though I may have been fat, I was also fit. This meant by the time I was at secondary school I was fit enough to captain the class football side in the first and second year, and we won the league while I was captain, though most of the time I was a goalkeeper or defender (we got a great goalkeeper called Nigel Mulhall so I became an outfield player and managed to score a hat trick in one match).

As I got older, while hardly slimline, I was not morbidly obese and had no problem walking or biking long distances.

Me In This Century

As I got older I drank too much, which probably contributed greatly to my diabetes and cirrhosis which eventually turned into Liver Cancer. If you are interested you can read about that here:

At some point, I tried pedometers and walking, but nothing too serious. I didn't really have a way of tracking what I did without a lot of work from myself, and you know how lazy I am.

As we moved into this digital age, my eldest daughter Juliet badgered me into taking her old mobile phone, which I took for when I was working away. Eventually, I started as a contractor at Orange, which then became Everything Everywhere which became EE. Mobile phones metamorphosed into handheld computers only a little less functional than a Star Trek Tricorder.

I eventually settled on a Samsung Note work device and kept that when I left and they are still my network provider.

Sometime after Fiona suggested I sign up for the Diabetes UK Million Step Challenge.

This seemed like a good idea but the timeframe was wrong for me and I started this in May 2014 and the July to September timeframe was moving toward winter. So I did eleven thousand steps a day and recorded is using Google Fit and Google Sheets, but when I finished I wondered what to do and then decided to turn it into a rolling program and walk a million steps every three months.

Then my Samsung Note died.

I briefly had a Sony phone which took some amazingly psychedelic photographs. That only lasted til I accidentally smashed it when I dropped it visiting Matt and Less.

My youngest daughter Kirsty recommended a Google Pixel so I got a reconditioned one and I have had one ever since using Google Fit to keep track of my steps. I reduced my daily target from eleven thousand steps a day to seven thousand but that is just so I don't have to go out twice a day, but I still usually go over eleven thousand steps a day.

Google Fit also has this thing called heart points. It recommends 25 heart points a day / 150 a week, and you get a point for each minute of brisk walking. I usually hit the 25 a day, and often hit 50, and sometimes 100. Yesterday I hit 77.

So while I am overweight, I still feel in good physical condition, and doubt I would have come through the cancer if I had not kept up my walking. I am grateful for the software on my Pixel because it means I know that I am doing what I need to keep me in the best condition I can be in.

Conclusion

Thank you so much for reading, I intend to keep as fit as I can for as long as I can, and I believe that will be a very long time.

weight losswellnessself carelifestylehealthfitnessCONTENT WARNINGbodyagingadvice
7

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Salman khan2 days ago

    Discovering your passion can revolutionize your life, just as mastering the art of flight cancellation can safeguard your finances. Visit More Info : https://latarde.com/como-cancelar-un-vuelo-de-iberia-y-recuperar-tu-dinero/

  • Salman khan3 days ago

    Unlock the secret to perfect balance and comfort—explore the top foot massagers for neuropathy and step into relief!. Visit more info : https://techbullion.com/top-7-best-foot-massager-for-neuropathy/

  • Phil Flannery3 months ago

    Sounds like you've been through a lot, I'm glad your on a good health path. My wife and a couple of my kids have smart watches and count their steps. I am at that age where I should be aware, but my job requires me to walk a lot so I am opting out of technology for the moment.

  • I've had a Google Pixel for several years now, as it's supposed to have the best camera for pictures & video. I use it to livestream our worship services each Sunday morning & post to Facebook. I also use Google Fit along with Virgin Health, which our annual conference provides for us. The only thing I don't like about Google is that it doesn't allow you to set up groups for sending out email. The work around is a pain & they keep coming up with ways it seems to disrupt even that. I don't know what it is they have against sending email to a group. Blessings to you, Mike, & best wishes for keeping this up. Though I do object to one characterization you seem to have of yourself. Lazy? Really? I think not. (And with that, just as with Descartes, I shall disappear, lol.)

  • John Cox3 months ago

    This is a great read, Mike! Congratulations for ten years staying fit and keeping your eye on the prize!

  • Novel Allen3 months ago

    This is like a birthday gift to me. I am trying by best to keep up with exercising. So Thanks for all this great advice, I do need to seriously get down with this whole plan. Step by step, we have to be vigilant. i am happy that you are doing much better. Keep up the great work.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.