Humans logo

I Brought My Girlfriend on My 1st Date With My Bride

I’ll Admit That it Was an Unorthodox Strategy

By Jason ProvencioPublished about a year ago 5 min read
1
A scene from our first date. No, that’s not my girlfriend next to her. First pic I ever took of my Bride.

I’ve never been a player. In fact, I’ve been in committed relationships my entire adult life, except for six months. I’m not the kind of fella who usually brings his girlfriend on a first date.

This sounds worse than it is. Never bring a plus one to your first date, it can be awkward. Let me tell you the true story about my first date with Mai.

Mai and I met on Facebook. I remember getting a friend request on August 9th, 2011. I first had to check her profile before I accepted it to be sure it was a legit profile. She was beautiful, so I figured it was a fake spammer account.

Nope, it was legit. *ACCEPT. I messaged her quickly to introduce myself. She was funny. That was a big one for me. I had told myself that the next relationship I participated in had to be with someone funny.

Right away, I could tell that she was funny. That’s still my favorite thing about her. Besides that sweet ass.

We chatted off and on for a few days. Both of us were single and both had been through some pretty rough relationships over the years. We were a little gun-shy.

We both had small children to worry about. They had to come first, in both of our minds. We had a first, second, and third grader between us. This likely caused us to be a bit more cautious than usual.

We made plans to hang out as friends, first. There was a local guitarist playing at a little bar and grill called “The Curb”. We made plans to meet there with some friends and see him perform.

Saturday morning came and she messaged me. She told me that her kids were sick, so our plans went up in smoke. Well, no worries. Single Jason had other options.

Ok, I was disappointed. We’d really hit it off online, but I understood the deal. Kids came first.

I didn’t hear from her for a bit after that. I had started talking to another woman who had also requested me on Facebook around this same time. We also hit it off and agreed to meet up for a coffee date, and she kept our date.

We started dating and things seemed solid. We had been together for about two or three weeks. Then Mai messaged me on Facebook again.

“Hey! My friend Debbi and I are meeting some of our Facebook friends at The Curb this Saturday night. Will you be there?”

Huh. While I was enjoying the time spent with New Girlfriend, I was still down to meet Mai. After all, we were supposed to have hung out as friends on our “not date” 3 weeks prior.

I told her that I’d like to go, so I’d see if my new girlfriend would like to come along, check out the music and meet some of our Facebook friends in common. She was into it, so we decided we’d go.

I came with a couple of friends. They wanted to meet my other Facebook friends and New Girlfriend. NG was going to be late, so it was the three of us there first when Mai and Debbie showed up.

You know in the movies when two people see each other, it’s crowded and noisy, and all you hear is some cheesy love song in the background while time seems to stand still. That shit actually happened.

I swear our first date could have easily gone this way. But I’ve never been a cheater. Close call.

We sat next to each other. While there were five at this point at our table, I was fixated on talking mainly to Mai. I had to sit close and talk right in her ear due to the loud music. She didn’t seem to mind.

I really didn’t have any business doing that. New Girlfriend showed up and Mai was nice to her. Mai and Debbi left a bit after that. I remember the drive home and NG said, “I don’t think Mai liked me very much”.

Maybe she sensed something was going on between Mai and me. I laughed it off and said, “What? She was friendly. She hugged you, right?” NG wasn’t convinced.

A few months passed. I had a bad feeling one day when I was at NG’s house alone, waiting for her to come home. I had a feeling that something was off. So I did the only logical, fair thing that made sense.

I went through all of her shit.

No joke, it took me five minutes to find what my gut had told me to look for. She was writing to a guy in prison. The letters from him made it sound like they were going to be together once he was released. He was in jail for having sex with a 17-year-old girl.

Well, that was that. The End. This guy wasn’t going to play the fool.

I posted about our breakup on Facebook. People were shocked. I had built her up as this wonderful new person in my life and it ended so abruptly. I asked people to give us privacy and not ask about what happened.

I saw a new comment on that post late that night from Mai:

So what happened?

HAHA! Such a fucking smart ass. We laughed about that comment later. I saw her online and sent her this message:

I seriously messaged her that evening after I’d dumped Cheater New Girlfriend.

You can see that we were both cautious again, but also putting out the vibe. We ended up hanging out for the first time less than two weeks after this. We watched the first 15 minutes of Get Him to the Greek and probably the last 15 minutes. I wised up and didn’t bring a girlfriend this time.

I asked her what she was up to the next evening. She mentioned having her kids that Saturday, and I had my daughter, so we planned on me cooking for them over at her house. Spaghetti dinner, my specialty, and her son’s favorite.

We never spent another night apart after that.

I’m glad that she didn’t hold it against me that I brought my girlfriend with me on our first date. She LOVES telling that story, even after 11 years together. I told ya she was funny. &:^)

This is my “I married up” face. All’s well that ends well. Love my Bride.

advicebreakupsdatingdivorcefamilyfriendshiplovemarriagesingle
1

About the Creator

Jason Provencio

78x Top Writer on Medium. I love blogging about family, politics, relationships, humor, and writing. Read my blog here! &:^)

https://medium.com/@Jason-P/membership

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.