Humans logo

From Pain to Love: How I Found Happiness After a Failed Marriage and a Cancer Battle

A Journey of Growth and Transformation

By Jawad KhanPublished about a year ago 7 min read
From Pain to Love: How I Found Happiness After a Failed Marriage and a Cancer Battle
Photo by Artur Solarz on Unsplash

It was the spring of 2014 when I found myself at the altar, exchanging vows with a girl I barely knew. It was an arranged marriage, and while I had my doubts, I was convinced that it was the right thing to do. Nazmeen was a shy and reserved girl, but she seemed sweet and kind-hearted, and I thought we would get along just fine.

However, as days turned into weeks and weeks turned into months, I began to realize that our marriage was not going to be as easy as I had hoped. Nazmeen was distant and indifferent to me, and I could sense that she was miserable. I tried my best to be a good husband, but I didn't know what was making her unhappy.

Only after several months of living together did Nazmeen open up to me about her true feelings. She confessed that she had been in love with her cousin before our marriage and that our marriage was forced upon her. I was stunned and wounded by this confession, and I felt like I had been cheated.

As time passed, our marriage became more and more strained. We clashed over our religious beliefs and values, and I was rigid in my views. I was a traditional man, and I demanded Nazmeen follow my rules and values, even if they conflicted with hers. I didn’t allow her the freedom to be herself or pursue her own passions, and I ignored her when she tried to communicate her worries.

To make matters worse, Nazmeen kept in touch with her cousin throughout our marriage, and she shared our troubles with him. This only worsened our relationship, and I felt more and more lonely and abandoned.

Despite my attempts to save our marriage, it finally collapsed after two and a half years. Nazmeen asked for a divorce, and I was shattered. I felt like a loser as a husband and as a man, and I couldn’t get rid of the feeling that I had disappointed her.

To make matters worse, Nazmeen had been secretly taking pills to end the pregnancy that she had gotten during our marriage, without my knowledge or approval. This news crushed me completely, and I found myself unable to cope with what had happened.

I became more and more isolated and depressed, spending most of my days in a tiny room, disconnected from the world. My father was concerned about me and decided to take action. He arranged for me to study for a master’s degree in a different city, hoping that it would help me find a new direction in life and move on from my past.

It took me a long time to heal from the emotional trauma of my failed marriage. I battled with feelings of rage, guilt, and shame, and I found it hard to trust others or build meaningful relationships. But gradually, over time, I began to improve. I started to own up to my mistakes and recognize the ways in which I had caused the collapse of my marriage. I worked on managing my anger and becoming more flexible and respectful to others, even if their beliefs and values differed from my own.

And then, something amazing happened. I met someone new. Her name was Sarah, and she was unlike anyone I had ever met before. She was kind, compassionate, and understanding, and she didn’t hold my past mistakes against me.

We started dating, and I was amazed at how effortless and natural it felt to be with her. We had similar values and interests, and we were able to talk openly and honestly with each other. After several months of dating, I knew that I wanted to share the rest of my life with Sarah. I could see us growing old together, going through all of life’s highs and lows side by side. We were perfect for each other in every way, and it was only a matter of time before I would propose to her.

As I planned the proposal, I knew that it had to be flawless. I wanted to create a moment that we would both cherish for the rest of our lives. I found the perfect location, a stunning park with a lake and a gazebo. I arranged for a friend to snap the moment on camera, and I picked out the perfect ring. I was nervous, but also thrilled beyond words.

The moment of the proposal came, and I was bursting with anticipation. I fetched Sarah from her flat and drove her to the park. As we strolled around the pond, taking in the stunning views, I could feel my pulse racing in my throat. At last, we reached the pavilion, and I knelt down on one knee.

“Sarah,” I whispered, my voice quivering with feeling. “You are my everything in this world. Will you be my wife?”

Her eyes filled with tears as she gazed at me, and she nodded yes. We embraced each other warmly, and it was then that I felt my life transforming forever.

We devoted the following year to arranging our wedding. It was a splendid event, with all of our loved ones in attendance. We pledged our vows in a gorgeous garden, enveloped by blossoming flowers and the melody of birds singing. It was the most blissful day of my life. As we adjusted to married life, I felt like I was in a fantasy. Sarah was the ideal mate, and we were both so enamored. We relished spending time together, embarking on adventures, and creating memories.

However, life has a way of hurling curveballs, and our first major hurdle came when Sarah was diagnosed with cancer. It was a crushing blow, and we were both overcome with fear and uncertainty. After the initial shock of the diagnosis, the reality of what lay ahead set in for both of us. I was shattered at the thought of losing my wife, my soulmate, and the mother of our unborn child. I knew I had to be brave for her, but I couldn’t help feeling hopeless and powerless in the face of such a dreadful disease.

As the chemotherapy and radiation treatments progressed, Sarah’s once lively and spirited personality began to wane. She became frail and exhausted, barely able to even get out of bed some days. But through it all, I was there by her side, offering words of comfort and support whenever I could.

One day, as we sat in the hospital room awaiting yet another round of treatment, Sarah turned to me with tears in her eyes. “I don’t want to die,” she said, her voice barely audible. “I don’t want to leave you and our baby.”

I took her hand in mine and squeezed it gently. “You’re not going to die,” I said firmly. “We’re going to fight this together, and we’re going to win.”

Sarah smiled faintly at me, but I could see the fear and doubt in her eyes. I knew that the journey ahead was going to be a long and hard one, but I was resolved to do whatever it took to help my wife get better.

Over the weeks and months that followed, I watched as Sarah’s condition worsened. She lost weight, her hair fell out, and she grew fainter and fainter with each passing day. But through it all, I never left her side. I held her hand, wiped away her tears, and whispered words of love and support in her ear.

We spent months going to doctor’s appointments, undergoing treatments, and hoping for the best. There were times when we both felt like giving up, but we leaned on each other for support and managed to stay strong. And miraculously, Sarah beat the cancer, and we were both overjoyed. It was a rare outcome, as only 20% of people diagnosed with lung cancer survive for five years or more. It was a moment of gratitude, and it brought us even closer together.

Throughout our marriage, we continued to face challenges, but we always managed to work through them together. We learned that love wasn't just about the happy moments, but also about the difficult ones. As the years passed, our love for each other only grew stronger. We built a life together, filled with love, laughter, and memories. We had our ups and downs, but through it all, we remained committed to each other.

Looking back, I realize that the day I proposed to Sarah was just the start of our journey together. It was a journey that has been filled with love, happiness, and even some sorrow. But through it all, I wouldn’t change a thing. Sarah has been my anchor, my soulmate, and my partner in life. And I know that as long as we have each other, we can handle anything that life throws our way.

The experience of my first marriage taught me the importance of open communication and mutual respect in any relationship. It also taught me that it's possible to change and grow as a person, even after going through difficult and painful experiences.

My life has been a roller coaster of ups and downs, joys and sorrows, successes and failures. But through it all, I have learned many valuable lessons and gained many positive qualities. I have learned to be more open-minded, compassionate, and flexible. I have learned to appreciate the people who love me and support me. I have learned to cherish every moment and not take anything for granted. I have gained strength, courage, and resilience. I have gained a deeper faith and a greater purpose. And most of all, I have gained the love of my life, Sarah, who has been my rock, my soulmate, and my partner in life. She has taught me what true love really means, and how to overcome any obstacle together. She has made me a better person, and I am eternally grateful for her. She is my everything, and I will always love her with all my heart.



marriageloveliteraturehumanityfriendshipfamilydivorcedatingbreakupsadvice

About the Creator

Jawad Khan

I'm a tech enthusiast who loves to share my reviews and comparisons of the latest gadgets and innovations. Follow me on Vocal for honest and insightful opinions on technology. Check my blog: careersettler.bogspot.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Mary Louisa Cappelliabout a year ago

    Marriage is not for the feeble minded.

JKWritten by Jawad Khan

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.