Motivation logo

So Far, So Good On Vocal

Just A Few Milestones Passed

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - December 2023
So Far So Good

Introduction

1800 Stories

This week I have passed a couple of milestones on Vocal. I won't be sharing this in the Facebook groups. I really did not expect this to happen but the Shane MacGowantribute below added 170 reads to help me get over the the forty thousand reads. I think those reads were also the reason it got a Top Story.

The music I have included is Forty Thousand Headmen by Traffic because I do like the song and it has the number I was hoping to hit on Vocal reads before Christmas.

So My Thoughts And Observations

I have one disappointment and that is the Clickbait piece which is still my most-read Vocal Story. It is not a bad piece but I was shocked that it got so many reads, although not many from Vocal Creators who have better taste than to read by Clickbait, but if you want to check it out it is here.

However, I do expect this to be superseded next year by the Gail Collins Pappalardi and The Cleaner Autism pieces which you can also sample below. Again these have not been picked up by many Vocal Creators but someone is reading them on a daily basis which is good for my Vocal read counts.

These are lessons in how to maximise your Vocal income, find an external audience. Unfortunately, I don't know where reads are coming from and they may actually be coming from shared links, in which case I will never find where the reads are originating. The thing is, people are still reading them, Vocal is counting the reads and that is what matters.

I share embedded links rather than text links because the embedded links open in a new window, while text links open in the same window, which can be a little tedious.

As well as the forty thousand reads I wanted to hit two hundred and forty dollars for Vocal reads and yesterday it stalled at $239.99. Remember this is over two and a half years and I am sure others have made a lot more in that time. That is also a small part of my Vocal income the rest comes from bonuses and Ambassador payments. Reads are a small part of that but most months I hit more than my subscription in reads.

My subscriber base grows most weeks but I assume it must be quite small compared to the successful Vocal Creators. It is usually grown by interaction, but my interaction with others is not considered exemplary, but I do not have the time to make more effort.

This week as you can see I also posted my eighteen hundredth post although this one is eighteen hundred and five.

That was swollen by the twelve pieces that had been waiting for a response from Vocal's Resource Team, but after two months decided to republish them.

So Why Did I Post This?

I hope this does not come across as bragging or showing off. I wanted to show other creators that this is possible.

Yes, I do post a lot of pieces, I am so lucky to be easily inspired but if you know me you will know why that is. Last year I hit a thousand posts, next year it will be two thousand.

I am nothing special, I just have a computer, a Vocal subscription and I suppose a relentless drive.

I also put a lot of effort into the Vocal Social Society whose membership is growing healthily. You can visit here to see what is going on, and join if you are not yet a member.

I hope you have enjoyed this and it has encouraged you to keep creating and doing your thing.

Vocalsuccesssocial mediaself helpproduct reviewhow tohappinessgoalsadvice

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales & Poems

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudeyAnna

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Carol

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (37)

  • Mellygan4 months ago

    Wow, it's very inspiring. Congratulations!

  • Anna 4 months ago

    Wow, this is impressive! Literally my dream🥹

  • Heather Hubler7 months ago

    So much to be proud of here! What wonderful accomplishments, Mike :) I'm so sorry, but I thought I had commented already. Kudos to you for all of your perseverance and hard work!!

  • Teresa Renton7 months ago

    Oh wow Mike! Congratulations! Does this mean you’re a kind of minor celebrity now? I should call you ‘sir’ 😂. Your constant flow of inspiration is awesome. I just can’t work with such speed and quantity. It’s a real gift you have, to connect with people 🤗 Great job Mike xx

  • Thank you for all the amazing comments on here and the amazing support and encouragement you give me

  • Mark Graham7 months ago

    Keep on writing and reading.

  • Annie Kapur7 months ago

    Congratulations! What a great milestone! Keep it up x

  • Raihana H.7 months ago

    Happy for you! Congrats! I'm trying to write and post more but my lack of self-confidence and social anxiety is making it so hard!

  • Test7 months ago

    Congratulations on the many milestones! And another Top Story to add to the ever growing list of achievements! 🤍

  • Congratulations, Mike! (This seems to be becoming a habit, lol.) Well done.

  • Lana V Lynx7 months ago

    I think that Lottery story was the first story of yours I read, Mike. It is quite a successful clickbait, I must say. Congrats on all your achievements, including the Top Story!

  • Yayyyyy you got a Top Story! Congratulations!

  • Leslie Writes7 months ago

    Wow, Mike. This is impressive. Congrats.

  • True Crime Writer7 months ago

    Congrats on reaching your milestones and another Top Story. I didn't realize the Ambassador program was still a thing.

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Awesome!!! Amazing!!! Congratulations on your milestone & Top Story!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Donna Fox (HKB)7 months ago

    Excuse my language but holy fuck!!! Congrats on all the success and cheers to more wonderful things coming your way!! This article really gave me hope that if I continue to work hard at my craft it will pay off, thank you for that! 💚

  • Yeah... why DO the text links open in the same tab? All that does is screw up your read stats and make the reader lose their place in the article/story. And, having worked as a web developer, I can say with confidence it's all of adding one HTML attribute to change that behavior. And yes, the embeds are an alternative, but those can be disruptive to the flow of the text. Will raise this in the Vocal Creator's Chat.

  • Rachel Deeming7 months ago

    Congratulations, Mike. Long may you continue!

  • Linda Rivenbark7 months ago

    This is quite impressive, Mike! I'm glad that you are easily inspired to write. I like to read the many poems you write in response to a reader's request...one was at my request. Congratulations on your accomplishments and keep up the good work!!!

  • Ashley McGee7 months ago

    Long time no see! It’s amazing you make that kind of income on Vocal. I have since given up.

  • Ahamed Thousif7 months ago

    This is Awesome Mike! You are lucky on Vocal. And Congratz on Top Story and Good Job Mike...

  • Alexander McEvoy7 months ago

    Congrats on your milestones Mike! Very well deserved, in my honest and objectively correct opinion. Very inspiring :)

  • Sid Aaron Hirji7 months ago

    congrats on the milestone and ts

  • Mackenzie Davis7 months ago

    Amazing job, Mike! You must be so proud! What an inspiring piece. ❤️👏😊

Mike Singleton - MikeydredWritten by Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.