Motivation logo

Check It Out

Attracting People To Read Your Work

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 6 months ago 3 min read
14
An AI Bar By The Author

Introduction

This is just a piece about how I get people to read and engage with my work on Vocal as opposed to others' methods that you often see on social media.

I suppose the title of this piece in itself is almost clickbait.

What Gets Me To Read Other Creators' Work And What Puts Me Off Reading Other Creators' Work

Anything that demands me to do stuff for no apparent reason apart from someone getting a read from me, is an immediate no-go for me. Even if it is "Check Out My Latest Story", that puts me off, if that is followed by "Clap", "Subscribe", or "I Will Reciprocate" they are more red flags for me. I have even heard of creators who follow up after people have read and commented on their stories, with demands for money via direct messages and even messenger calls.

I often see piece that promise to tell you the secret of earning a thousand dollars a day on Vocal. To do that you would gave to be clocking up a hundred and fifty thousand reads a day, I think I might hit that total in about five years, and I regard myself as a successful Vocal Creator.

I have a problem when writers almost exclusively cover the same subject, but for them that is fine because it is like a news source on a particular subject. They will get reads from their audience but will only get sporadic reads from me.

Whether that is right or wrong only you can decide.

The things that do tempt me, are interesting subjects with introductions. Also an interesting image to lead you in. Sometimes it is the creator who tempts me in although I do miss a lot by my favourite creators.

So What Do I Do?

I do not believe I can ask people to read my work, part of that is my imposter syndrome and part is me feeling unworthy of people's attention.

So I continually change my focus of what I write about, I do write a lot of poetry, and playlists and enter challenges if I believe I can submit something worth reading.

Then I try and get a title and su heading that will attract people's attention and an image that will grab them. The images are usually something I create in Nightcafe, and sometimes that can be difficult and other times they can work straight away.

The writing needs to be readable and understandable, because if it is people are likely to come back to your work because they know that you can produce something worth reading.

This may sound very big-headed on my part, I don't feel that I should have to ask people to read my work, I want to make them want to read my work.

I have a large Vocal audience and even when I di not publish anything I do get reads from people.

My most-read piece is a horrible piece of clickbait that went horribly right, but it is best to find somewhere to share your work that gets a continual number of small numbers of reads. In my top ten most read I have three stories that fall into this category, two music-related and one autism /TV-related. I wish I know what they have been picked up for continuous reads, but it is nice to see them going up on a daily basis.

Conclusion

I hope the image and title ensnared you, and I hope you have taken some ideas from this piece, and I hope I have not offended anyone by stating why I sometimes pass by some stories.

Thank you so much, I really appreciate your support.

social mediaVocalsuccessself helphow tohappinessgoalsadvice
14

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • The Dani Writer6 months ago

    I enjoy this type of reflection and honest respectful sharing. I look for pieces that capture me and they need to do so from titles and first lines. I will stop reading a piece that is 'blah' and of course reading tastes are subjective to the individual, but I was force-fed so much that I didn't like during high school that I now don't compromise. Drill sergeants who issue commands don't blip my radar, good writing does. Development does. Sincere effort with authenticity does. Pure heart on a page does.

  • The things that you've mentioned that puts you off, I don't mind those at all. I'll still read them. But what puts me off is when I've read someone's work and commented, they reply me with "I hope you read more stuff from my profile". I find that very demanding. Some have even replied me with 10 links to their stories they think I would enjoy just because I enjoyed that particular story. Like how entitled can some people be. It truly baffles me. I would still read their future work but I ain't gonna read what they tell me to read.

  • Kel6 months ago

    It's good to hear someone give "true" advice as opposed to "post it on social media", thank you for this

  • Lana V Lynx6 months ago

    To be fair, I’d read a story that says “I’ll reciprocate” if it looks interesting. Made me think, Mike.

  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    Duley ensnared!

  • marie e ehlenbach6 months ago

    Kinda interesting!

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Fabulous thoughts!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Helpful thoughts. Thank you for sharing, Mike.

  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    💙

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.