Motivation logo

Thank You For Your Six Tenths Of A Cent

The Benefits Of Reciprocity On Vocal

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 3 min read
15
An AI Creation By The Author

Introduction

I am not exactly sure which way this will go apart from that it will be totally positive, about my audience, friends, and Vocal (that might surprise you, but Vocal does deserve a lot of praise).

When you come into Vocal either as a free member or a V+ member, the pay per read may not seem that high. Roughly 0.3c for free members and double that for V+ members.

Vocal do not specifically promote your work but offers lots of advice in their Resources community.

But Vocal gives you a potential audience of over 800,000 members and that is a big pool.

So Why I Thank You All

I wasn't getting that much response at first until I joined the Facebook Vocal Groups (I'll include my poem listing them at the end of this post), and then things started to take off.

The thing is Vocal pays you for reads by members and non-members. Stories are open to anyone who wants to read them and every read that you get, Vocal tracks and puts 0.6c or 0.3c in your wallet depending on your membership level.

It may only be a tiny amount, but it's thanks to Vocal and your readers that you are getting these tiny amounts, and those tiny amounts add up to money that you can withdraw for coffee or whatever you want.

As well as Facebook and Vocal itself, you can share your stories on other social media platforms such as Threads, X (Twitter), Pinterest, Instagram, Reddit, and many more.

Vocal enables me to share all my stories with my audience, and every read brings in a little more money. And every read helps get your story noticed by the Vocal moderators and with the potential to receive a top Story bonus, which then adds a significant amount to your wallet (five dollars).

So that is why I thank you for every time you read a story of mine. It has paid for my subscription almost every month since I joined Vocal, and expect that to continue.

The numerous bonuses for one-offs, Top Stories, Vocal Challenges, and the Ambassador's Program can add a lot more to your wallet as well, so complete kudos to Vocal for enabling all these income streams.

The thing is, all these rewards are made up of those tiny amounts that you receive from your reads. If your stories are not read then these rewards will not come, but Vocal provides the way by which this can happen for you.

Though for all we receive, we should be prepared to give, reciprocity is a big part of this when you read mine, I read yours and Vocal pays both of us.

The Model

The overall Vocal model is excellent for creators. It is not perfect but there are options to feel rewarded for your work. I certainly do.

It does have issues but we are talking about the benefits here.

Being a Vocal Creator not only gives you rewards, but with interaction with other creators, you can improve your writing and creations, far beyond what you first envisaged as you put pen to paper or finger to keyboard.

I know this has certainly happened with my creations, and often I will go back and almost not believe that I have created such amazing stories and beautiful poetry.

I hope that this has happened or will happen for you too.

Conclusion

I hope this has raised your appreciation of what Vocal allows us to do with our creations and how those tiny payments grow into something substantial, that can buy you the odd cup of coffee or piece of cake.

Oh and that poem, thank you for reminding me Mother Combs

Vocalsuccessself helphow tohappinessgoalsadvice
15

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock6 months ago

    Excellent. If looking for remuneration, Vocal may prove a disappointment. If looking for a community, on the other hand....

  • Chloe Gilholy6 months ago

    I’ve always preferred Vocal over Medium. Don’t think I’ve been in the latter in ages. I like the community feel here.

  • Judey Kalchik 6 months ago

    Thank you, Mike. I always appreciate your viewpoint

  • Sheila L. Chingwa6 months ago

    Thoughts were nicely conveyed!

  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    Thank you for sharing, Mike Oh, did you forget the poem?

  • Matthew Fromm6 months ago

    thanks for this Mike. It may have its faults, but before vocal I was doing this for free so I appreciate the audience access and the rewards for my work.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.