Motivation logo

To Give Your Last Twenty

Because it could be their last

By AshleyPublished 15 days ago Updated 2 days ago 3 min read
Top Story - May 2024
24

He walks oddly, shuffling and nearly tripping down the hallway toward his apartment door. I slow my pace, allowing my neighbor— a stuffy ex-marine with one missing tooth, a strong odor of liquor and two weeks' worth of unwashed stench always accompanying him—to reach his door. I crinkle my nose, nearly gagging as he dawdles ahead.

I fumble for the keys in my tote, sifting through the lone tampon, a pack of nicotine gum, my wallet, and a cheap Sephora brand half-used burgundy lipstick, until I find them. I pull them out and they clatter to the wooden floor.

My neighbor pauses at his front door, shifting from one foot to the other and swiveling his head behind his shoulder.

I shyly smile and stammer through gritted teeth, “Hi Bill, hope you’re having a good night.” I flip my blonde hair and dart up, quickening my pace to reach my flat before he has time to respond.

Only seconds from escaping, Bill says, “Sorry about Harvey. He keeps me up at night too, he’s a sick little asshole, but he’s the only thing keeping me from jumping, I suppose.”

My door now unlocked, I keep my hand still on the vintage golden knob. I clench my jaw. I tilt my head up and close my eyes. Why? I harshly snap at God in my head.

I swallow my saliva and cock my head playfully, “Ah, Bill, you don’t mean that. You’ve got lots of people who love you, I’m sure of it.”

Bill turns around, now fully facing me. “You’re the only person I really talk to if I’m being honest.”

Cold icy fingers intertwine between the spaces of my ribs. A heaviness invades my chest. I point my nose to the floor.

Bill grumbles, “I didn’t mean to make you uncomfortable, Kate. I don’t have much time before I’m shipped to the old person’s home. I’ll be out of here soon, I’m sure.” He turns his back to enter his apartment.

“Bill?” I call out, chewing the side of my cheek. “Don’t you have kids?”

He nods ‘no.’

My mother once gave a man her last twenty. I was ten and she was thirty. We had been going to the grocery store. Skipping behind her, a Marlboro Red Label Short between her index and middle finger, she had dropped the smoke to the ground just as we were about to enter Albertson’s.

A man had called behind us, “Hey! I’m short on cash and need to fill up my tank. Can you spare a few bucks?”

“I’m sorry, I don’t have anything,” my mother had haughtily responded. We turned our backs to continue into the store until my mother stopped, tilted her head up, and closed her eyes.

She reopened them and turned about-face, calling to the man, “Hey!” She rummaged in her purse— rustling whatever she kept in there—and pulled out a crumpled twenty-dollar bill, the last she would have until Friday, when she’d get paid.

He thanked her and dashed back to his cheap Honda Civic. My mother shook her head and began to walk me back to our run-down Saturn, which had only a quarter tank.

I had furrowed my brows in confusion, “Why did you give him your money, Mom?”

She furiously walked ahead, as if on a mission. “I know what it’s like to be down on my luck, and that’s what good people do, Kate.”

I come back to the present. Bill’s sagging yellowed eyes, his alcoholic death on the horizon, I turn toward him.

“I’m hungry for pasta, Bill. Want to join me? I’ll be ready in twenty.”

happiness
24

About the Creator

Ashley

Hello,

I'm a writer based in Portland, Oregon. Feminist-focused.

Instagram: @ashleyleap

Thank you for reading!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe O’Connor8 days ago

    I like how the memory plays in between the scene- is this for the In A Minute challenge? The contrast between adult Kate and old Bill is done well, and the mix of reluctance and compassion at the end is lovely🤗

  • Laura DePace9 days ago

    Touching story. Makes you think.

  • Anna 9 days ago

    Congrats on your Top Story!

  • angela hepworth10 days ago

    Amazing top story!

  • anata10 days ago

    I could visualize each bit. Even the feeling of empathy. Amazing!

  • Fantastic work on dialogue and storytelling here

  • Belle11 days ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Caroline Craven11 days ago

    I don’t think we can ever underestimate these small acts of kindness and empathy. This was beautifully written. Great top story.

  • The Dani Writer11 days ago

    An amazingly touching story that gives a great lesson. Well written and perfect for sharing. Congratulations on being featured as a top story!

  • Hannah Moore11 days ago

    She will be glad she did, later. Great story.

  • Gabriel Huizenga11 days ago

    Really truly moving- every human needs moments of compassion like that extended to them. This does a great job of communicating the internal struggle/reticence with engaging people in unfortunate and/or unhealthy situations, too- but then leads, via reflections on a meaningful memory, to the choice of human connection. Thank you for sharing this work of art, and congrats on a well-deserved Top Story!!

  • BrettNotGreg11 days ago

    Great story! Congrats on top story!

  • Congratulations on your top story.

  • M11 days ago

    Really good story!

  • Christy Munson11 days ago

    Congratulations on Top Story! 🥳

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.