Longevity logo

What Is Faith,Then?

just believe

By umer aliPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
What Is Faith,Then?
Photo by Billy Pasco on Unsplash

what is faith, then?

thought she.

how much is it worth?

what must it amount to to make faith worth anything?

I think it must be worth a good deal, or we should have the proof all ready - right here, this side of eternity.

I think that it is worth more to us than very great things are worth to the people that possess them.

Why?

If I can't explain my faith to the woman, what good has it been to me?

If I can't convince another of his or her own, what good has it done me?

Faith is so much more than that it a answers.

Faith or what you do with it, it is a deep place where you go to contemplate and just get away.

So many lives are so desperately in need of prayers and so much more than prayers, hope.

We hear that there is hope, we pray that someone will be there to reach out to.

For some reason that many are not there, for others, there is nothing to do but die.

We would do well to go deeper than that, to a place of darkness.

As we walk this earth, death follows in our footsteps like a thief waiting for the very time we get to go home to heaven.

I would like to hold on to a little more of my faith than I do, a little more hope, a little more healing, a little more love.

I have to admit, I have to admit that I feel so much stronger, so much more sure of myself, I look at myself in the mirror and I think "I must be stronger and wiser than I used to be."

Then I start to look at what I have done.

How many years have I wandered around in the dark in the face of great need and love?

I just turned sixty - two, I have seen, done, felt so much.

I started to feel the pain of the absence of those in the world around me.

And so I said I would learn to live in the dark, learn to use my words.

That first year or so, I was weak.

I am still weak.

But I hope, I am beginning to think that I can make a difference.

Some believe that they can not.

My faith says I can.

Sometimes I get up to do a chore and say to myself, "why do I need to get up to do this?"

It is not that I am afraid, I just don't want to do it.

This is a big change in me, to not want to do something.

I can do it, I just don't want to do it.

Is that faith?

I don't know.

I want to be in the dark place to just ponder and say, "What are you here for?"

I want to not feel the darkness of all that I do not have, and understand that without faith in you and me, I am nothing.

Are you there for me?

Is that faith?

What if my faith fails?

My faith will not fail me.

I will try to be patient.

I will try to learn patience and how to see you through my weakness.

I have been in my faith for a long time.

I pray, I listen, I ask.

I try to trust in you.

I try, try, try.

Faith is not a sign of weakness, it is a strength.

Faith is not selfish, faith is helping me to share my love.

I have only two children, my son, and my daughter.

My daughter is the child that I wanted more than anything.

Her, not someone I brought into the world, but a child that I had to learn to love.

self carespiritualitymental healthmeditationhumorhumanityfact or fictiondiyartagingadvice
Like

About the Creator

umer ali

You Might Learn A thing or two here

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.