Longevity logo

5 Ways to Family Wellness

Tip 1: Play Together

By Holly PheniPublished about a year ago 5 min read
2
5 Ways to Family Wellness
Photo by Lawrence Crayton on Unsplash

5 Ways to Family Wellness

When I first began my health journey, I was sick and tired. Forget tired, I wrestled with chronic pain and fatigue on a daily basis!

I first decided something HAD to change for me to be well, strong, and energetic enough to do all the mommy things! My kids were my greatest motivation – and still are.

As I regained my energy physically, I was amazed by how much better I felt emotionally and mentally. It’s amazing how much easier it is to smile, relax and enjoy family time when you aren’t in pain and falling asleep at 2pm!

When I experienced something better, I desperately wanted my kids to experience it too! No, they weren’t in the poor state of health that I was – I was pouring every resource I had into them through it all. But, I wanted us to capture that energized joy as a family -- and getting them to eat veggies isn’t a bad bonus!

Here are some of the intentional changes we’ve made to be well inside and out – as a family:

By Vitolda Klein on Unsplash

The Family that Plays Together Grows Together

I began making a concerted effort to play with my kids more. “Let the dishes wait a while.” -- we’ve heard it a million times but it’s easier said than done. Once I had my get-up-and-go back, I was able to enjoy playtimes so much more – and to find time and energy for more play. Here are a few of the activities we enjoy when we want to get moving:

• Yoga on YouTube – Here’s our favorite

• Games that invite physical actions – like Jumanji

• Plank-offs – who can plank longest?

• Turn on the music and dance!

• Hide and seek, basketball, walks outside, trips to the park, soccer

When we play together, the stress of the day melts away and conversation flows. It’s been amazing to hear what flows from their little hearts when they express their feelings in an informal setting. That’s why play is my top way to improve wellness as a family.

By Brooke Lark on Unsplash

The Family that Cooks Together Just Might Eat More Veggies

Away with the boxed, hurried, meals. They’re okay in moderation – we all have an extra-busy evening in our week, don’t we? -- but prepping I the better choice. On my health plan we have a wealth of recipes and many are quick and easy. But – would my kids eat this if I make it?? The good news is that they do!

Here’ how I made it happen:

• Mobilize your troops! I enlisted my mini-chefs in the stirring, measuring, and prepping the pans. When they got a little older, they learned to chop as well! Feeling like they had a part in creating the meal promoted eagerness to taste the result!

• Talk about the benefits! Veggies are more than just “good for your eyes” – they give you energy for sports, almost all contain mood-boosting B vitamins, you probably won’t get sick very often if you eat nutritiously, which means more playtime – the list goes on of thing that matter to them right where they are now as kids.

By Andriyko Podilnyk on Unsplash

Set a Quiet Hour

This isn’t a rigid time frame at our house, but we tend to settle down about an hour before bedtime. This is when it’s great to take out a board game or some cards, to draw or color, paint or clay, and to read together.

We have had so many deep discussions on topics I had no idea they were thinking about because it came up in a book. I can not emphasize enough about the value of reading – not to mention the cuddle time on the couch when everyone is leaning on everyone else. That physical closeness is thought to boost the immune system, and in our experience, it definitely builds connection as a family.

By Denny Müller on Unsplash

Let the Sunlight In

We live in a state where the days are short and nights are long throughout the fall and winter months. This creates a lull in energy that is not small to contend with. Using a sunlamp can be very helpful, but what I like even more is to open the curtains! Just letting those rays touch your skin, even through a window, help everyone get moving and the vitamin D is a great mood-booster and good for immunity during cold season! This simple practice helps us keep a routine and is indispensable to me winter, spring, summer or fall.

By Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Routine is Inertia

The law of inertia says, and I’m paraphrasing, An object in motion will stay in motion, and an object at rest will stay at rest, unless acted on by an external force.

I hate to break it to you, but we are objects friends. If we don’t wake up knowing what needs to be done, our natural response for most people is what my grandmother used to call “puttering.” We might grab our coffee, or on the weekend lay in till late. (You can have that weekend lie-in as part of the routine for sure!) Generally speaking, we get more done, we humans, when we start early and stay in motion.

I’ve never been one for a super-tight schedule when it comes to household things but having a routine and sticking to it creates a security that is so healthy for adults and children alike. We all love knowing what to do and when, for the mot part, and this can relieve stress for as often as we’re able to settle into the rhythm of a daily routine.

By Jeremy Alford on Unsplash

Let’s get well together in 2023!

Believe me when I say, if we can do it, anybody can! I used to have every reason on earth to think that more rest would help my health, but it was finding ways to get moving that really worked. Engaging with the kids in these activities has brought so much joy to our home. Comment your family’s favorite activities below. We are always looking for new ideas! Stay moving in 2023! I know you’ve got this!

Diclaimer: I am not a doctor and this article is not intended to replace professional medical advice.

This article first appeared on my blog at flyingelephantmom.com

humanityyogawellnessself carelifestylehow tohealthfitnessathleticsadvice
2

About the Creator

Holly Pheni

This page is for dreamchasing, adventure, and catharsis. Hope my musings connect with others out there.

Blog: flyingelephantmom.com

Creators I'm Loving:

Gina Jori Heather Dharrsheena Tiffany Babs

Cathy Misty Caroline Rick Mike Lonzo Scott

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Nicely written! It was warm, friendly, well thought out and useful. Great work :)

  • These are such great tips for family bonding as well as to boost our physical, mental and emotional health. You provided very useful information in each part. I enjoyed reading this!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.