Humans logo

The Choice Between the Priesthood and Marriage

My sisters' opposition to my decision of becoming a priest.

By FredPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
The Choice Between the Priesthood and Marriage
Photo by Josh Applegate on Unsplash

I was born into a Catholic family, and my faith has always been important to me. When I was younger, I considered becoming a priest. I loved the idea of serving God and helping others. I also enjoyed the sense of community and belonging that came with being a part of the priesthood.

But I was the only boy in a family of eight children. My sisters were very close to me, and they did not want me to leave them. They were afraid that I would become lonely and isolated as a priest. They also worried that I would not be able to find a wife and have children.

My sisters were opposed to my becoming a priest, so they arranged for me to meet women in the hopes that I would change my mind. They even tricked me into watching movies that were not recommended to me and my mates, in the hopes that I would change my mind.

At first, I was resistant to their efforts. I felt that my calling to the priesthood was too strong to be swayed by anything. But as time went on, I started to question my decision. I began to wonder if I was really cut out for the priesthood. I wondered if I would be able to give up the things that I loved, like spending time with my family and friends, and pursuing a romantic relationship.

One day, my sisters set me up on a date with a woman named Mary. Mary was beautiful, intelligent, and kind. We had a lot in common, and I quickly found myself falling for her.

Mary showed me a whole new world. She introduced me to new experiences, new people, and new ideas. She made me question everything that I thought I knew about myself and my future.

After that date, I started to think seriously about my calling to the priesthood. I realized that I was not as sure about it as I thought I was. I started to wonder if there was something else that I was meant to do with my life. I started dating women and I had many experiences with women, I was even called a sexy boy.

I talked to my sisters about my doubts, and they were very supportive. They told me that they would love me no matter what I decided to do.

In the end, I decided to abandon my calling to the priesthood. I knew that it was not the right path for me. I was meant to be Married, and I wanted to start a family.

I am now married to Mary, and we have two beautiful daughters. I am so grateful that I followed my heart and found my true calling. I know that I made the right decision, and I am happier than I ever thought possible.

Mary showed me a side of life that I had never seen before. She introduced me to new experiences, like going to concerts and the movies. She also introduced me to new people, like her friends and family. I started to feel like I was part of a real community, and I loved it.

But the most important thing that Mary showed me was myself. She helped me to see my own potential, and she gave me the confidence to follow my dreams. She showed me that I could be anything I wanted to be, if I believed in myself.

I am so grateful to Mary for everything that she has done for me. She has made me a better person, and I will never forget her.

I know that my story is not unique. There are many people who have felt called to the priesthood, only to find that it is not the right path for them. If you are struggling with this decision, I encourage you to talk to someone you trust. There is no shame in changing your mind, and there is no right or wrong answer. The most important thing is to follow your heart and find your true calling.

I have found my true calling, and I am so happy that I did. I am grateful for the experiences that I had, even though they ultimately led me to a different path. I am grateful for the people who have helped me along the way, especially Mary and my sisters. I am grateful for the life that I have, and I am excited to see what the future holds.

fact or fictionsinglemarriagelovehumanityfriendshipfamilydatingcelebritiesbreakups

About the Creator

Fred

I am a passionate writer with a strong sense of purpose and excitement. Informative, engaging, and creative. If you want a reading experience that's both enjoyable and informative, read more from

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    FredWritten by Fred

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.