Humans logo

A woman's journey through divorce after years of infidelity and abuse.

The challenges of divorce, especially when there are children involved.

By FredPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
1
A woman's journey through divorce after years of infidelity and abuse.
Photo by Afif Ramdhasuma on Unsplash

I am Keshia, and I have been married to my husband, Johnny, for 15 years. We have four daughters together, and I am currently pregnant with our fifth child.

Johnny has been a womanizer since the day we met. He has cheated on me multiple times, and I have always forgiven him. But I am tired of being hurt. I am tired of feeling like I am not good enough. I am tired of being treated like a second-class citizen.

I have tried to talk to Johnny about his behavior, but he just doesn't listen. He tells me that I am being too sensitive, or that I am imagining things. He even accuses me of being the one who is cheating.

I have tried to get my family involved, but they don't seem to be able to help. They just tell me to be patient and that things will eventually get better. But I don't think things are going to get better. I think they are only going to get worse.

In the past few months, Johnny's behavior has become even more erratic. He has been going out drinking more often, and he comes home drunk and angry. He has accused me of being unfaithful, and he has even threatened to leave me.

I am scared. I don't know what to do. I don't know how to make Johnny change. I don't know how to save my marriage.

I am so tired of being hurt. I am so tired of feeling like I am not good enough. I am so tired of being treated like a second-class citizen.

I don't know what the future holds, but I know that I can't live like this anymore. I deserve better. My daughters deserve better.

I have filed for divorce, and I am going to fight for custody of my children. I am not going to let Johnny get away with this. I am not going to let him hurt me or my children anymore.

I am Keshia, and I am a survivor. I will not let Johnny break me. I will not let him win.

I am going to get through this. I am going to be okay. I am going to find a way to be happy again.

I am not giving up.

I am Keshia, and I am a fighter.

The divorce process has been even more emotionally draining than I could have imagined.

I have had to relive all of the pain and hurt that Johnny has caused me, and it has been incredibly difficult. I have had to face the reality that my marriage is over, and that I will be raising my children on my own.

But I am determined to get through this. I am determined to be strong for my children. I am determined to find happiness again.

The court process has been long and drawn-out.

Johnny has fought me every step of the way, and it has been exhausting. He has accused me of all sorts of things, including infidelity, and he has made it difficult for me to see my children.

He has even requested a DNA test to prove that the baby is not his.

But I have not given up. I have fought for my children, and I will continue to fight for them.

I am finally starting to see the light at the end of the tunnel.

The divorce is almost final, and I will soon be able to move on with my life. I am excited to start a new chapter, and I am confident that I will be happy.

I am Keshia, and I am a survivor. I have been through a lot, but I have come out stronger. I am not going to let Johnny break me. I am going to find happiness again, and I am going to be okay.

marriagefamilyfact or fictiondivorcebreakupsadvice
1

About the Creator

Fred

I am a passionate writer with a strong sense of purpose and excitement. Informative, engaging, and creative. If you want a reading experience that's both enjoyable and informative, read more from

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.