Humans logo

Modern Dating

I wish we could go back in time, when loving someone meant more to people.

By Kimmiekins4Published 2 months ago 3 min read
4
Modern Dating
Photo by Josh Hild on Unsplash

As someone who has spent more of their life single than in a relationship I've just really been having some thoughts about the dating world, what it has become, and is there really any hope to fix it. I know that what works for one person might n0t work for someone else, but I wanted to share my thoughts on this incase anyone felt the same.

I feel like when we first go through a break-up, we are told, or just feel within ourselves that we have to immediately jump on a dating app or hit up someone on your roster if you have one of those. I don't see anything wrong with people casually hooking up if it works for you but for me personally it doesn't. I also feel like once dating apps used to be a place you'd go to find some to date seriously, if not marry eventually. Somewhere along the line for most people it changed into looking for a quick hookup, adding a third part to marriage etc. If those type of things work for you I am not one to judge, everyone should do what makes them happy. I just feel that somehow dating has become so difficult, and utterly exhausting.

I know that even back in the days of Romeo and Juliet and basically since the dawn of time there has been disloyalty and cheating in love. But back then we didn't have cellphones and a million apps, rather dating or social media, to make these type of situations easier. At least back then people made effort in love, and tried to make it work even when it felt impossible. Now it's like people know they don't really have to try, because they know if it doesn't work out they can find someone within in seconds. I already have many trust issues when it comes to dating, these type of apps don't help any.

I have since gotten rid of all my apps because I felt exhausted, annoyed, and under valued everytime I logged on there. I've gotten unsoliced pictures from guys, been asked about S*x right off the bat. What happened to Hi, how are you? Just genuinely getting to know someone. I feel like being behind a screen makes people more bold, not to mention they are probably coping and pasting the same message to so many people so how are you to feel special to someone when that is the case.

I've always found that I do better when I've met people the old fashion way. I have met a few people that I have talked to of apps and eachtime it didn't really go well. It seemed like we had amazing conversation online, and then weould meet in person and everything would fall short. There was one time (and it was the last time I went on a date through a dating app) that I met this guy for dinner and I was scared. It was a catfish moment, and also a moment that I realized his true intentions. I am glad I trusted my intuition to stay behind after the date, so he wouldn't see what car I got into. While it's hard to ever truly know a person rather you meet them in person or online, I feel like you can get a feel for someone quicker if you meet in person.

By Biel Morro on Unsplash

My whole point to this is modern dating has started to feel hopeless. With everyone feeling emotionally damaged, still caught up on an ex, not wanting a title but wanting all the benifits. I just wonder when the shift happened and if it will ever go back or at the very least get better. Being a hopeless romantic in this generation isn't for the weak let me tell you. It's sad that so many would rather be alone now days than take a chance on love.

divorcesocial mediasinglelovehumanitydatingadvice
4

About the Creator

Kimmiekins4

I am a very creative person. I love reading, writing, listening to music, watching movies and shows. Writing has always been a way for me to express my feelings and thoughts. I'm excited to write some of my stories here on Vocal.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Rowan Finley 2 months ago

    Thank you for your honesty and sharing your thoughts. Have you written anything on personality theory? For example the MBTI 16 types?

  • Marysol Ramos2 months ago

    It’s crazy how us as strangers can relate so much !!! The “real deal” seems like such a fairytale. The “real deal” now in days is full of settling and faking it. I’d rather be alone because if I’m not going to have the REAL deal, then I don’t want anything at all.

  • sleepy drafts2 months ago

    It's true, modern dating seems like chaos these days! D: I'm so sorry that situation happened to you, also. I'm glad you followed your gut and got home safe!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.