Critique logo

Critiques That Didn't Squeak

The critiques I had sitting in drafts that I didn't manage to "squeak in" just before the deadline. Plus: the ones I did manage to submit collated in one place, and my thoughts on the challenge.

By L.C. SchäferPublished 9 months ago 5 min read
Top Story - August 2023
45
Critiques That Didn't Squeak
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

Thank you

To Vocal for this challenge. I don't expect to place, but it was a lot of fun. It got me writing again after long creaky weeks of frustration and a dearth of creativity.

Also to the many writers who made participating in this one so enjoyable.

My thoughts

It was an exercise in brevity, and I know better than anyone I can be too wordy at times. Re-reading my old pieces makes me shudder. I'm tempted to dive back in to some of them and cut swathes of cringe-worthy extraneous crap. The opportunity to practise being concise from the get-go was a welcome one. Hold the nib to my throat and make me slash another word, it does me good.

More than that, this was just fun. By peeking at your bookshelf, your movie collection... I feel like I've got to know you a little better.

On hitting the brief

I think a lot of us failed here. We jumped in with both feet and splashed about gleefully - it was great fun but were we actually doing what the challenge required of us?

I read a lot of entries that were blurbs. They summarised the plot - sometimes in a very compelling way that made me want to watch or read the thing you were talking about. But having read your 50 words, I come away not knowing what you liked about it, and what you didn't like. How did it affect you? How did it make you feel? Where did it especially shine, what were its flaws?

As always, I hope those who place do hit the brief first and foremost.

The critiques that didn't squeak

Here they are - my drafts that, for whatever reason, I didn't finish in time to get them submitted. They don't generally hit the word count. In some cases, this was the reason they weren't submitted.

Hot Fuzz - movie by Edgar Wright, starring Simon Pegg & Nick Frost.

I adore this film almost as much as Shaun of the Dead. I watch it in sickness and in health - could probably recite the script off by heart at this point. City-hardened pro teamed up with a lovable bumpkin in a sleepy town in Gloucestershire - and it's so much funnier than it sounds. No romance - just a heartwarming buddy-cop-movie meets hilarious whodunnit, with a star-studded cast. Bonus points if you can spot Peter Jackson and Cate Blanchett.

Eminently quotable.

It's just the one swan actually...

Swan, Pegg & Frost in "Hot Fuzz"

Twilight - book by Stephanie Meyers

Fucking AWFUL. Well is it named, "Twishite". Our protagonist is a bland nothing-character. Creepy stalker behaviour and an alarming age difference are both played off as "romance". It spawned FOUR terrible movies with the worst acting I've seen in a long while, plus the worst and most damaging fanfic I've ever seen (50 Shades).

Would that Meyers had lopped off her hands before she ever set pen to paper.

Duncton Wood - book by William Horwood

I read this book (in fact the whole series) before I left primary school, so that colours my opinion of it. As a child I was completely awestruck and captivated by these books. The mystery of ancient tunnels underground, an entire society of animals (moles), epic journeys, good triumphing over evil. Horwood captured me where Tolkien lost me. I found Bracken's character arc inspiring. I loved that here, at last, was something I could really get my teeth into. Today, the religious overtones spoil it a bit.

Turner & Hooch - movie starring Tom Hanks. Spoiler within.

One of Hanks' best roles in my opinion. A dog-ignorant cop partnering with an hilariously disgusting, beer-swilling, car-munching, naughty canine character (and he really is a character) to solve a crime - it should be a saccharine mess of a movie, but somehow it works. Hooch (a Dogue de Bordeux named Beasley) with his iconic flapping face is adorable.

Some people found a little piece of their childhood died with Artax in the swamp, but I didn't see Neverending Story until I was an adult. For me, it was Hooch's heroic ending. George Martin, you got nothing on this.

"This is not your room."

"Hooch" from Turner and Hooch. Look out, bad guys - he's coming for you

The Works of Roald Dahl - children's books

I could relate well to Matilda - the kid who could read early and who loved books. The BFG was marvellous - the titular character adorable and charming despite his size, and the many silly made-up words brought me a lot of joy. Boy and Going Solo horrified me and entertained me by turns. Possibly my favourite, and my inspiration for one of my Tales Retold entries - Revolting Rhymes.

Guardians of the Galaxy

The film that made me fall back in love with Marvel, centred around a soundtrack of stand-out 70's songs. Space adventures, a stellar bunch of characters (did you see what I did there) and plenty of humour. Watch it if you love Marvel, and even if you don't.

Toy Story

Hanks' best role, hands down! Animation that was streets ahead at the time it was released and still holds up well today. Not just for kids. Friendship, adventure, an asnwer to the question "what do your toys do when you're not around?" There is nothing to not-love about this movie.

Infinity War: Endgame

Not as good as Infinity War, but an worthy conclusion to an epic saga. I may never watch it again. I can never again watch it for the first time, but then again I'm not sure I'd want to. The first time left me empty and reeling.

My pieces, the pieces of me

Newest to oldest - here we go!

Shaun of the Dead

Harry Potter

Terminator 2

A Christmas Carol

Lord of the Rings

Breaking Bad

Kill Bill Vol 1

Paul

Snow White (Disney, 1937)

Good Omens 2

Barbie

Oppenheimer

+++++++

Thank you for reading! As always - please leave me a comment with your thoughts and let me know how you came across this piece. I do my best to reciprocate every read.

If you are subscribed to me - golly gosh and THANK YOU! If you're here for the fiction, this is my most recent piece:

That one was a squeaker - I submitted it barely an hour before the deadline. It is a bit weird, I'll grant you - so if you find it hard going (I don't blame you) here is an alternative. I never felt it got the eyes it deserved, and I loved this old woman. She was very real in my mind as I wrote it.

MovieNovel
45

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (32)

Sign in to comment
  • Victor Akpan9 months ago

    Please go through my article and rate it for me so that i will do 🫡 more better https://vocal.media/critique/analyzing-the-power-of-unity-in-labor-right-movement

  • Novel Allen9 months ago

    I didn't get through all of it. but can I tell you how much I love HOT FUZZ the movie. I watched it so many times, who said it was not a great funny lovable movie? I have to read this again. Great TS.

  • Nice and Congratulations on your Top Story🎉❤️💯

  • Joe O’Connor9 months ago

    Right there with you on Toy Story and Guardians! And agreed that there are quite a few plot summaries in this challenge. 50 words is juuust enough to explain your reaction to the piece, succinctly.

  • JBaz9 months ago

    I had to return, I realized I didn’t hit the lil ❤️ So I reread it, yep still good

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    Well done on this post and all your pieces! The ones I haven't read I will come back to and read! Congrats on this getting Top Story...I'm now looking at my critiques to see if I did it right!

  • Raymond G. Taylor9 months ago

    Great summary and congrats on the TS. Best thing about challenges is that they get us going. 100% Hot Fuzz and Twishite

  • Thanks for sharing your drafts, and I am not sure my critiques were actually critical enough, thanks for pointing that out, excellent article

  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    Cracking top story L.C! Good one! And I appreciated the shout out to Hooch. 😀

  • Cendrine Marrouat9 months ago

    Critiquing a piece of work in 50 words is very difficult. A summary is often necessary, as many people will have no idea of what you are talking about. I have never placed in a challenge, and I don't expect anything from this one. But I had so much fun. I did my critiques differently from the rest: Very short review + haiku. I enjoyed your story! I see I am not the only person to find Twilight and 50 Shades of Gray stupid. LOL!

  • Sid Aaron Hirji9 months ago

    Ya wonderful way to talk about this challenge. It was fun and some of the recommendations are great. Twilight book made me fall asleep

  • ANFAS9 months ago

    nice

  • Bri Craig9 months ago

    wow wow you were BUSY! I especially enjoyed your Roald Daul critique - he was my favorite author when I was young.

  • Kendall Defoe 9 months ago

    Perfect!

  • Laura Lann9 months ago

    Finding the balance with plot and opinion in so few words was my biggest struggle

  • Dana Stewart9 months ago

    I started reading through the list yesterday and was waiting to comment but alas, Congrats on the Top Story 🎉

  • JBaz9 months ago

    I only submitted two, and feel I fully missed the target as a critique. Really enjoyed your take(S) on this challenge Congratulations

  • That’s funny…early on I saw others that had only summarised the plot and then thought I had interpreted this wrongly … 🤦‍♀️😂 It was so much fun. And so hard to stop writing for! ✨ Lovely article

  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    L.C. - I found it fun as well and enjoyed everyone’s and trying to be concise, and like you said sharing things we like! It also got me thinking and writing and I too hadn’t written much for ages (I usually write bad free verse poetry) so I took that approach to this challenge..some poetic language but debatable! 😅 Yours were fun, funny and oh so opinionated at times which made these really stand out. 😆 Great work! 😊 I am glad you wrote this as I was actually going to do something similar I.e reflect on why I liked the challenge (I just haven’t gotten around to it yet) but also place my seven critiques together. I too even have another 8 or so that aren’t totally finished so was going to put that in another piece. MORE similarities haha. Further I noticed many ppl weren’t really commenting on the ‘art work’ much so was glad you addressed this. I read some that weren’t even 50 words (like 25) and of movies that aren’t even out yet, so I’m not following them anymore (that was mean) - Sorry vocal, L.C. brings out my rambunctious side! 😅 I went for a brief (hah) critique of themes, atmosphere (or overall feel of the piece) and cultural significance and a tiny bit of main story to just introduce it. (Bit ambitious for 50 words now I think of it.) Anyhow, now I feel more comfortable doing this you trail blazer you! 😄

  • Yes I too saw many pieces that were just summaries rather than an actual review of how they felt about it. Help, lol, the Twishite! 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • Teresa Renton9 months ago

    Such excellent writing, thoroughly engaging. I tried to submit insights but it didn’t seem to let me 🤷‍♀️ so just to let you know—you got an ‘outstanding’ from me 🤗

  • CPA NM Duncan9 months ago

    Is it west of the moon or text of the moon?

  • Rachel Deeming9 months ago

    I started read Twilight and never got through it. Couldn't understand what the fuss was about. Yes, I get what you are saying about the critiques - that they were blurbs and I think I may have been guilty of that. Great article as always. There is no doubting your character when you write stuff like this!

  • Lilly Cooper9 months ago

    There is so much in your article I can't decide what to say! 😆 There is always a touch of humour to be found in your short pieces!

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Loved this!!!! Fun & entertaining!!!💕❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.