Critique logo

A Christmas Carol (Critique)

My critique of the tale of Ebenezer Scrooge. It's good, sure, and the original has spawned many adaptions... but I have beef with the moral message. Read on, why not šŸ˜

By L.C. SchƤferPublished 9 months ago ā€¢ 1 min read
10
A Christmas Carol (Critique)
Photo by K. Mitch Hodge on Unsplash

Iconic, picturesque and spooky.

A nauseatingly sentimental promotion of crass consumerism.

Scrooge has no arc; he's just moved by terror from one extreme view to the opposite. His motivation is corrupt. Still a terrible person, but now buys love with generosity.

šŸ¤¢

We have Christmas Day off now, though, yay!

NovelTelevisionMovie
10

About the Creator

L.C. SchƤfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe Oā€™Connor9 months ago

    Iā€™m teaching this one next term so Iā€™ll see what the kids come up with! My first instinct is to immediately disagree with your take, and itā€™s something Iā€™ve never considered, but thatā€™s the beauty of opinion right? Iā€™ll have to keep it in mind when re-reading:)

  • Raymond G. Taylor9 months ago

    LOL, love it. I have my own take on ACC which I don't think is posted here. Not sure if I like it. I might consider adapting it next Yuletide. Some of the film versions are worth watching. I liked the one with George C. Scott playing Mr S. Of all Mr D's books I think this is the best (of a bad lot).

  • Andrew C McDonald9 months ago

    I get your take on this story. Itā€™s ā€œScared Straightā€ for the wealthy and crass. Lol. Good job.

  • Novel Allen9 months ago

    I love that story. I have watched every version, plus read the book. What I get is, he got so caught up in said consumerism, greed overtook his soul, he lost his love by means of neglect. Got bitter, miserly and lost, lost his best friend. Lost his way, then he was shown the folly of his ways and changed for the better. I find it to be a great moral lesson. How to balance one's life to have a happy continuation into forever.

  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    What do you mean L.C !? How is it crass consumerism..? I thought it was the opposite.. I just read it last year for the first time. We need to get a panel show asap! šŸ˜

  • Oh wow, never thought of it like this "he's just moved by terror" that's true! Hm, maybe he didn't really become a better person. It's like how they say, it's not about what you do when people are watching, it's what you do when no one is watching... also kind of what you do when there is nothing to gain from it... or without fear as a motivator. I liked your different take on this!

  • I've never watched this but your review made a lot of sense and I agree with you!

  • ANFAS9 months ago

    nice

  • Rachel Deeming9 months ago

    Made me laugh! Never viewed it like that before. I reckon Dickens would argue with you about the message. As an aside, I know where that picture was taken of the door knocker!

  • The subtitle alone was more than enough of a critique...LOL. When you break Scrooge down like that, it feels like the description of a lot of people in this world.

  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    Lol, love this. Iā€™d have to sit on your take longer, hahaā€¦I read the book years ago and felt it had a slightly more nuanced message than the movies. But I like that thereā€™s room for debate with this one. šŸ’œ

  • Kendall Defoe 9 months ago

    Greed is not always good?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Ā© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.