Critique logo

Harry Potter (Critique)

Look at the poster. Love or hate the series, you didn't need the title blazed across it to know exactly what that was all about. This deserves a critique, and here it is - books and movies in 50 words.

By L.C. SchäferPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
15

This series inspired and defined an entire generation, and galvanised them to read. It's spawned movies, video-games and theme parks. The titular character is similar to Gaiman's Timothy Hunter, but the story is well-plotted and resonates deeply.

Movies: casting excellent, but can't forgive them for dropping Rik Mayall as Peeves.

MovieNovel
15

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • The Dani Writer9 months ago

    I got hooked on the movies rather organically almost without my awareness. You nailed a good critique. It certainly did define a generation.

  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    Interesting critique!! I’ve not read Gaiman! 😊👏 Was def a fan of the books and movies but mostly the first few books were the easiest to escape into, I,e not so looong.

  • Peeves was one of my favourites and I was so disappointed that the movies didn't feature him!

  • Sid Aaron Hirji9 months ago

    Oh and sweet critique

  • Sid Aaron Hirji9 months ago

    Best thing about Harry Potter is the whole way the author speaks about how death is not the worst thing

  • Mattie :)9 months ago

    Great review. Fingers crossed on getting the perfect Peeves in he HBO series :) #Ravenclaw

  • Lana V Lynx9 months ago

    Omg, I completely forgot about Peeves! Great review on significance of JKR’s work.

  • Joelle E🌙9 months ago

    PEEVES! Omg, thank you! I remember this being one of my greatest pains when I first watched the movies 😄😄

  • Alexander McEvoy9 months ago

    I have my issues with the series, and certainly with its creator But it stands as a masterwork of storytelling! I love 1,3,&4 (2 is extremely good, but I rarely reread it) So many of my friends credit this series as being their main inspiration to start reading and a few even to start writing! Nothing will quite match the sheer awe I felt watching that first movie and goodness knows I spent a lot of my youth pretending to be a wizard. Your critique is so well done! It carries all the love a person can have for a series (also yes, Peeves should have been included! Hopefully they put him in the new TV series)

  • Bugsy Watts9 months ago

    I was worried there might be HP slander lol. Absolutely agree with everything and I didn't know Peeves had originally been cast!

  • This is my 100th story on Vocal! 😁

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.