Critique logo

Snow White (Disney 1937) - a critique

This recently showed in cinemas to mark Disney's centenary. Spoiler alert: it doesn't hold up (sorry!) Thank you in advance for reading. I do my best to reciprocate reads and this is most easily achieved if you leave a comment!

By L.C. SchäferPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
12
Snow White (Disney 1937) - a critique
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

A timeless tale, a technically brilliant telling. But the modern lens is brutal: the humour and themes don't hold up. An awful protagonist: a wet hen with a grating voice and no personality, surrounded by little leches. Never walks; minces everywhere waving her arms. Best character: Grumpy. Watch instead: Rammstein.

Movie
12

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    Ruth read this out to me lol, last night. I knew as soon as she said you had done it, it'd be a gem. Awesome referring to Rammstein too. lol. Wonderful work, as always.

  • Hahahahahhaa the waving her arms! 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 Hilarious review!

  • Ruth Stewart9 months ago

    I like this very much - best bit = Rammstein!

  • Leslie Writes9 months ago

    🤣 Brutal, but accurate!

  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    “Waving her arms”! 😆 I thought this was a new adaptation at first, but this was a funny read LC. I’m a grumpy and a sleepy myself.

  • Alexander McEvoy9 months ago

    This is so true! And artistically brilliant film, with some not great messaging and a character that I loath listening to! Grumpy is without a doubt the best part of that movie

  • Mariann Carroll9 months ago

    I can’t for more of your critique 💗🥰

  • Alex H Mittelman 9 months ago

    I like It! Great review! Bravo! Encoré!

  • ema9 months ago

    I think they often try to turn the classics "modern", but I don't see the point 😊 I prefer the Grimm version

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.