Writers logo

Welcome! Start Here, Please!

A Guide to My Vocal Page

By Donna ReneePublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 5 min read
41

Welcome to My Page!

Vocal is my writing home.

I love to create short stories with twists or unreliable narrators, soft sci-fi, psychological horror (can't do gore!), and I dabble in poetry and informative articles occasionally.

My beige writing flags are killing off my characters (or breaking their hearts), overusing exclamation marks, commas, (and parentheses), and adding unnecessary twist endings.

I have been putting off making a guide or table of contents for awhile because I am not an organized person by nature...but I've seen so many of my fellow creators here successfully assemble one of these and I think, oh hey that's so smart, I need to do that!

I am not sure how to best structure this so I'll just start with the ones that Vocal seemed to like enough to feature as Top Stories and then I'll go from there?

Actually, no. Changed my mind. I'm going to start with MY favorites that didn't get much attention.

Like I told you, organization is not my thing... coffee is my thing.

My Own Personal Favorite (Story) Children

These are mostly ones that I wrote pretty early on here before I had many readers or any subscribers. I love these stories though and feel a little bad that they got buried by a bunch of my terrible haiku attempts and way too many limericks hahah. If you have time to read one of these, I would love to hear your thoughts! :)

Sigh of a Damned Soul - This is possibly my favorite thing I've written, a soft sci-fi story about the fate of the crew of the Nevermore, a scout ship on a terraforming mission to Epsilon 9

The Amalgamation Game - Chapter 1 of a story that I still want to revisit, weird things are happening at a school and one girl is trying to get to the bottom of it and find her missing friend

Emily Ethereal - I still start cracking up whenever I think of this ghostly tautogram

Get Rich or Die Trying - mysterious boxes are appearing on doorsteps... and inside? Millions of dollars or instant death...

The Lost Children of the Caravan - I loved this idea. It isn't my best writing (too much telling and not enough showing) but I hope to revisit and expand this one some day!

Vocal Top Stories/Poems

Senescence - a tautogram about the passage of time - this was my first Top Story and I got it on my birthday, how fun, right? and then awhile later, Vocal actually did give us a Tautogram Challenge! Did I go a little wild with those? Yes. Did I win? No. Did I have fun? Hell yes!

A Titanic Error - a funny sci-fi short story about time travelers who go back to finally right a terrible wrong that has been haunting people for decades

What The F is Magical Realism? - a rant about my own inability to understand this genre and a sad attempt at writing a magical realism story

The Octopus Dilemma - this was one of my personal favorites to write! Hard to describe without giving away the ending though! A scientist is investigating cephalopod consciousness and...things happen.

Man's Best Friend - funny story narrated by a special pet

Mirror of a Murdered Soul - psychological horror story, check the content warnings first!

New Feature? Content Warnings, please and thank you! - an article about why I thought Vocal should give us a feature/ability to add content warnings

Let Me Tell You About This Book I Just Read... - a review that I did of a wonderful chapbook of poetry by a fellow Vocal writer

"Welcome to Flight" - a funny interpretation of a challenge prompt set in the Old West

She Danced the Skies on Laughter-Silvered Wings - an adventure story based on my grandmother's flying days in her teens

The Sensations of Nothingness - a poem describing the experience of resting and resetting in a float tank

Laundry Day with Executive Dysfunction - microfiction about the perils of laundry day

One of Us Died at the Birthday - microfiction about birth trauma

Hear Ye, Hear Ye! Content Warning Tags Are Here (ye)! - a celebration at the release of the content warning tag feature and advice on how/when/where/why to use it

Distraction Game - it's all in the eyes - microfiction set in a crowded bar

Marshmallows, how deeply I despise thee - a story about how much I abhor marshmallows...better to just not ask lol

Eyes Are The Windows - a creepy psychological horroresque story about a scientist haunted by the death of his grandfather

Zucchini and Red Onion Pasta - a recipe for my favorite dish (and also a bit of a parody of the standard recipe blog)

Meet-cute at the Corner Table - a romantic story set in a moody café

Top Stories that were selected for Vocal's Resources Section

How to Navigate Your Vocal Dropdown Menu - yep... the title about says it all haha

How to Respond to Comments on Vocal - a walkthrough of all the anxiety that I (and many of us based on the comment section!) feel around the dealing with that same comment section feature... and then a little bit of real advice at the end

FAQs

just kidding... definitely not frequently asked by any stretch of the imagination

Center Stage with Donna Renee - if you are interested in hearing more about me and my lack of a writing process though, here is an interview that I got to do as part of the amazing series (Creators in the Limelight) by the wonderful Heather Hubler

I will try to add to this list when I have time and focus (so actually I probably won't) ... but thanks so much for stopping by my page!

I absolutely love hearing your thoughts in the comments (despite the anxiety spike that I get from the notifications) and I try to reciprocate as much as I can.

Oh, and you can find me here on INSTAGRAM where I post pretty much the exact same things and can't quite figure out how to do reels but I'd love to connect with you there!

Guides
41

About the Creator

Donna Renee

Hi! Thanks for reading! My hobbies include making coffee, drinking coffee, and starting to write a story and then rage-deleting it when I get the slightest bit frustrated.

Work in Progress: WOWH, cozy mystery (paranormal elements)

INSTAGRAM

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (25)

Sign in to comment
  • Christy Munson2 months ago

    Cool idea! Think I'll borrow heavily (okay, steal) when I have published a few more pieces on Vocal. Can't wait to read more of your writing.

  • It was nice hearing about your stories from your perspective. This is a great idea if I ever find the time I might attempt to do one of these

  • Lana V Lynx6 months ago

    This is so well put together and useful!

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Awesome guide!!! Loved it!!!

  • Truly Amazing 💯📝♥️✌️😉

  • Novel Allen7 months ago

    Your unique writing style is a charm. So trying to read much more, this is a great way to start.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)7 months ago

    Donna this is great!! Such a good resource and reminder that I need to divulge in reading from your page more!!

  • Gina C.7 months ago

    I love the way you write so much, Donna! 🤗 Your humor and sit is so entertaining. 🤗❤️ So many great stories and on here and others that I can't wait to get to!! I can't pick my favorite among those I've read, but I'd forgotten about "Emily Ethereal" and loved that sooo much!! I will definitely be back to catch up on more! ❤️❤️

  • Real Poetic7 months ago

    You’re such an engaging writer!

  • Ahna Lewis7 months ago

    I believe you could write just about anything (recipes, index pages, "How to guides", car manuals, etc.) and make it entertaining! Where were you when they were drafting the history book we used in high school? 😆 Love this catalog of your work and delighted to say I've read every one!

  • Caroline Craven7 months ago

    You have some crackerjack stories there Donna! Great stuff :)

  • Very nice!!! Thank you Donna for putting this together for us!!!

  • Amanda Starks7 months ago

    Oooh, I know what I'm doing on the next rainy day!!

  • Sooooo many of my favourites here and there are some that I've not read yet. I would have to circle back here when I have the time. Thank you so much for putting this together although organising ain't your thing 🥰🥰🥰

  • Grz Colm7 months ago

    Great work. Is that you in the image, as I wanna go there NOW! 😃 I need to put my Instagram up too, so thanks for the reminder. 😊👍 I don’t do reels just save my “stories” on insta with the links (for the film reviews). I don’t have a creative writing one yet. Could I possibly (down the track) have some assistance with these links above... I haven’t written enough yet like you have (AND such interesting sounded pieces before I followed you!) But when I do a link to another piece the whole picture etc comes up. Anyway I’m rambling today. Sorry. Peace out!

  • Test7 months ago

    Donna your page reflects your unique writing style and personality. Keep up the great work, and I look forward to reading more of your stories!😘👌❤

  • Mark Gagnon7 months ago

    As you know, I've read most of these. It is a good way to revive some of the ones that have been lost in the stacks. Good work!

  • Alexander McEvoy7 months ago

    Oh wonderful! I can’t wait to dive into some of your older (favourite) work! 2 things though, 1. LOVE COFFEE 2. Punctuation is like salt, add according to taste 😇 Sneaky 3. I really enjoyed your humour in this!

  • This is a good start to organizing your page, Donna. And since some of these I don't believe I've read as of yet, I think my reading list just grew.

  • Moe Radosevich7 months ago

    Good way to restore past thoughts, nice thought

  • Kenny Penn7 months ago

    I see I have a lot of reading to do!!! Woohoo!

  • Rob Angeli7 months ago

    Ah (story) children. Getting to watch them grow up and go off on their own. Thanks for the table of contents.

  • Dana Stewart7 months ago

    This is a great idea! I know I've missed some Donna Renee gems along the way. Will remedy that soon. I love, absolutely love, your personality! It shines through your writing too!

  • Stephanie Hoogstad7 months ago

    I love the humor that you added to your index. It's very entertaining. And great idea, putting your favorite stories first. In hindsight, I should have done that with my archives, but I'm a bit married to my (semi)-organizational system now, so I'm going to stick with it (for now). I'll make sure to check out some of your favorites sometime!

  • Paul Stewart7 months ago

    lol! even when cataloguing your work you have me grinning! Love this despite the anti-marshmallow hate! you and me were both robbed in the tautogram challenge!! I keep trying to start a guide to my work, but...it's quite a lot!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.