Feast logo

Zucchini and Red Onion Pasta

or as I prefer to call it, "Squashta"

By Donna ReneePublished 8 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - September 2023
61
I got these fancy dishes specifically to increase my pasta enjoyment! Yes, it is working!

Hi friends!

Did you know that I have a recipe blog? JK! I don't... I don't even have a lot of recipes hanging out in my brain. I am always embarrassed to admit and slightly infamous for never actually having a recipe to give anyone who asks!

So this one is for Ahna and Gabby. Who asked... and, in a moment of overcaffeinated overconfidence, I agreed and now I am regretting it.

Ok so in the blogs, they always start out explaining their inspiration for the dish, so here goes.

My love for creating delicious and beautiful dishes began when I was a just a little girl, I believe that we eat with all of our senses and thus, the process of preparing our food should also involve all of our senses, which is why I always

Hahaha nope. I always skip straight to the bottom of those articles too so I'll save you the trouble. Here is the recipe. Or close. Something like this...

Donna Renee's Squashta

Serves 2 (or 1, whatever!)

Ingredients:

2 medium zucchini

1 small red onion (yes, red! They are the best!)

2-3 tablespoons of olive oil

Shtons of garlic powder, or fresh garlic if you feel ambitious

Buttloads of black pepper, idk, shake the spice thingy 30 times and then do it some more???

Salt...big flakes if you have that, they are so much more satisfying for some reason!

Parmesan cheese if you want, it still tastes awesome without it though.

1/2 box of Whole Wheat Spaghetti, the texture is so much better!

Directions:

1. Start boiling the water for pasta now...just trust me. Don't forget to salt it!

2. Chop the zucchini and red onion but use a larger cutting board than I did so you don't have to do it in batches. Keep the onions separate since they will go in first.

Pro tip! Don't touch your eyes while chopping onions.

3. Heat the olive oil in a pan, you want it hot but not like, splattering you and smoking.

4. Add the chopped red onion and stir to coat with the oil.

5. Shake a little garlic and black pepper in there now. More later.

6. Let the onions get all caramelized and slightly crispy even!

7. Add the zucchini to the pan and stir it up.

8. Now is your moment to go wild with the garlic powder and black pepper. Just do it.

9. More!

10. Oh. That's um...that's a lot. There is no going back, hope you like garlic!

11. Ok, add your spaghetti to the boiling water. Probably should have done that already but here we are.

12. Let the zucchini and onion mixture cook. Stir occasionally but don't be afraid to let it sit for a couple minutes to brown the zucchini a bit. Like this!

This is the point in the cooking process where the drooling usually begins.

13. Don't cook it into mush. That is gross. If that happens, just add water and call it soup instead. ANYWAY, Turn the heat off, sprinkle some cheese on top to melt and let it sit while you...

14. Drain the pasta and add a little olive oil to keep it from sticking.

15. Mix the cheesy, crispy, oily, garlicky veggie mix with the pasta.

16. Sprinkle with a little of that crunchy salt and serve.

17. EAT!

18. Don't leave behind any of those crispy red onion bits. That is criminal.

Before...

After!

Hey...Remember step 1??? Boil the water for your pasta?

Well, the good news is that if you forget to do that, or you don't want pasta, you can just eat the entire pan of veggies instead. Been there.

Still good! ...

Still hungry.

Nutrition Facts:

Uhhhhh. There is nutrition in this, I promise!

Please let me know if you make this!

Except if you hate it, then please don't.

vegetarianrecipehow to
61

About the Creator

Donna Renee

Hi! Thanks for reading! My hobbies include making coffee, drinking coffee, and starting to write a story and then rage-deleting it when I get the slightest bit frustrated.

Work in Progress: WOWH, cozy mystery (paranormal elements)

INSTAGRAM

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (46)

Sign in to comment
  • Andie Emerson7 months ago

    Haha I hear some goofy writing here, love it!!

  • Heather Hubler8 months ago

    That looks delightful!! And there is nothing better than the smell of onions sautéing. I would probably just eat that whole pan of veggies with the cheese. If I feel ambitious, I may try this, lol :) I hate cooking. And this was exactly the wording, style and format I would enjoy for a whole cookbook! I like to get right to the point...hahaha! Congrats on Top Story for this wonderful piece.

  • Kristen Balyeat8 months ago

    Yay! Congrats on the top! I have the ingredients for dinner tonight! Cant wait, already drooling. :)

  • Caroline Jane8 months ago

    Love this... the pictures are wonderful!!! 😋

  • Gerald Holmes8 months ago

    This looks beyond good and I will be trying it soon. I love red onion and put it in just about anything. Congrats on Top Story.

  • Test8 months ago

    Damn it! Today is a public holiday. I'm going to have to wait until tomorrow to try this out! Great read, loved the huumour and the pictures of the empty bowl made me chuckle! Congrats on Top Story, and thanks for sharing! 🤍

  • Adonnes Mbadwe8 months ago

    This Zucchini and Red Onion Pasta recipe turns simple ingredients into a symphony of flavors that dance on your taste buds

  • Excellently presented recipe, not a fan of squash except as a filler, but this is wonderfully well presented

  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    Squashta 😅 and Mmm. My favorite is yellow squash. I would try your recipe with that. I could tell you had fun writing this one. And I love the suggestion of making it soup if you it becomes an epic fail, lol. Congrats!!!

  • Naveedkk 8 months ago

    Congratulations on top story,

  • Megan Malcolm8 months ago

    Congratulations on top story, well earned! This recipe sounds delicious and is exactly how I think of recipes, much to the chagrin of anyone cooking along with me. You just gotta *feel* it, especially with garlic, haha!

  • Ahna Lewis8 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story, my friend! Definitely one of the most entertaining recipes I've read! 😆

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    I’ll try this! Great work! Congrats on top story?

  • Yayyyyyy I'm so happy this got a Top Story! Congratulations!

  • Congratulations on your Top Story🎉

  • Oh, heck yes! This looks delicious!! And it’s so simple that it’s completely versatile and easy to make on a busy weeknight!

  • Rob Angeli8 months ago

    Sounds absolutely delicious. I like to make my own pasts, so next time I do, I'll give this recipe a try. Mouthwatering, and beautiful pictures. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Real Poetic8 months ago

    Congratulations on top story! I’ll have to give your recipe a try.

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh8 months ago

    I hate cooking. But if I did like to cook this is exactly the kind of thing I would make. And I never read cooking blogs but if I did, this is the kind I would read! You are a natural at this, Donna! Please, sir, can I have some more?

  • Thavien Yliaster8 months ago

    Had to save this in my likes cause it looks absolutely delicious.

  • Gina C.8 months ago

    This sounds soo delicious! 😍 Will definitely try this. 🤗 Thank you so much for sharing and congrats on Top Story! 🤗 Also, I love the way you wrote this ☺️✨

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Agree with you regarding the recipe blogs. Just get to the recipe!!! Wonderful recipe & congratulations on Top Story!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Test8 months ago

    Thanks for sharing and congrats on top story <3

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    You absolutely should have a recipe blog. It would be friggen hilarious. Btw, this looks quite good, even with my dislike for onions. Confession: I don't mind the red ones.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.