Poets logo

The Sensations of Nothingness

finding peace in a float tank

By Donna ReneePublished about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - May 2023
94
The Sensations of Nothingness
Photo by Pawel Czerwinski on Unsplash

mind churns

body aches

~

strip down

shower off

earplugs in

door open

step over

door shut

slide through

settle deep

lights out

dark falls

waves dissipate

water settles

~

bones s-t-r-e-t-c-h

heart slows

gravity melts

spirit rests

chaos fades

universe hums

~

mind stills

body heals

surreal poetry
94

About the Creator

Donna Renee

Hi! Thanks for reading! My hobbies include making coffee, drinking coffee, and starting to write a story and then rage-deleting it when I get the slightest bit frustrated.

Work in Progress: WOWH, cozy mystery (paranormal elements)

INSTAGRAM

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (69)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm7 months ago

    Wicked! Never been in one. ☺️

  • Beautiful 🥰

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    There is a reason this was top story. Enchanting 🥰

  • Sara 8 months ago

    I love that I feel your words, I love this 🫶

  • Real Poetic11 months ago

    Very powerful and to the point. Love it. 👏🏼👏🏼

  • C. Rommial Butler12 months ago

    Simple and elegant and true!

  • J. S. Wade12 months ago

    Excellent imagery Donna! Intriguing experience. Congratulations! 🥇🥂

  • Wow, now that made me want to try this. But maybe I don't need to, the words you chose, they actually made me relax for a moment. That was true wordsmithery!

  • Test12 months ago

    Very nice

  • Eniola Ogunfowokan12 months ago

    Excellent work

  • Ward Norcuttabout a year ago

    slick poem. tight images!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Congratulations on Top Story! I felt each line of this sink into my bones. Gravity melts just got me. Loved it!

  • PPabout a year ago

    Simple words but deep meaning

  • Li Maabout a year ago

    Amazing,,poetry syntax attract me!Congratulations on your top story!

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    Oh wow this was so good Donna you really nailed this!!!

  • Naomi Goldabout a year ago

    I knew this would be Top Story… but I would’ve added it to my Freshly Picked this week if it wasn’t. 🥂

  • Tymara Howardabout a year ago

    Congrats on the top story!

  • Hassaankhanabout a year ago

    Check it out guys you will love it https://vocal.media/poets/winter-nights-qu1ts0fth

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    That's lovely, Donna!!! Congratulations on T S too!!!

  • Yayyyyy congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    I loved this quick journey that ended with a relaxing calmness. What a great concept for the challenge. Sensory deprivation ...clever!

  • Testabout a year ago

    Awesome poem, Donna! Floating is the best!!! I love a good float sesh, but I've only ever done it in the open water—I've considered the tanks but I'm worried I'll get too claustrophobic.

  • J. R. Loweabout a year ago

    Ooooh love this! It feels very dynamic

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    congrats on a well deserved TS!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.