Poets logo

Dear Inspiration,

Where did you go?

By Donna ReneePublished 12 months ago 1 min read
29
Dear Inspiration,
Photo by Lacie Slezak on Unsplash

Dear Inspiration,

Where did you go?

Most times you strike quickly (thanks!),

But seriously though,

Where the hell are you?

I'm getting concerned.

Reading entries is great

but my ego is burned.

I still sit here each evening

once the kids are in bed

Crafting poem after poem?

nope... just scratching my head...

Wondering what happened and if you'll come back

My muse must be snoozing, things just feel out of whack

I'm ready to quit, to turn on the TV

The World Series of Bowling appeals more to me

Than writing, deleting, rinsing, repeating,

I'm so SICK of this stall-out, my spirits depleting

I need a vacation

Some fresh inspiration

somewhere I can THINK

or just a strong drink.

Cheers,

Donna Renee

sad poetry
29

About the Creator

Donna Renee

Hi! Thanks for reading! My hobbies include making coffee, drinking coffee, and starting to write a story and then rage-deleting it when I get the slightest bit frustrated.

Work in Progress: WOWH, cozy mystery (paranormal elements)

INSTAGRAM

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (29)

Sign in to comment
  • Test7 months ago

    Great job, Donna! I can completely empathize with the process of "writing, deleting, rinsing, repeating" – it's truly clever! I thoroughly enjoyed it!👌👍

  • Jay Kantor10 months ago

    Dear Donna ~ Who knew there was a "World Series of Bowling?" ~ Gutter-Ball-Out ~ Jay

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Love how you ending your Dear Inspiration!!! Loving it!!!

  • Clever and fun!

  • Grz Colm11 months ago

    Out of curiosity do you type your work right onto vocal? I am old fashioned and prefer to operate in a notebook first then type up and edit later.. a break is good though, more things to absorb, see and ponder and return to smash it! ;0) A thoughtful and fun piece! 😊

  • Dana Stewart12 months ago

    Worded just right, I feel you, neighbor! Great work!

  • Ha I liked that! Yeah, sometimes, is it just avoiding us, or what? Love the humanization of inspiration!

  • Kelley Stead12 months ago

    So damn relatable. That muse is a tricky little tramp sometimes. Great angle for the challenge. Wishing you all the luck!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)12 months ago

    I really liked this piece! It feels like this is something happening to everyone lately! Hopefully inspiration comes to you soon! Very relatable ready from you, Donna!

  • Heather Hubler12 months ago

    Inspiration has been skipping out on me too for the fiction challenges. Haven't felt it in awhile. I sure hope you've lured yours back as this was a great starting point! Cleverly written, loved it!!

  • Samia Afra12 months ago

    yeah, I hear ya

  • Gal Mux12 months ago

    Sometimes it might feel like that... Totally relatable!

  • Novel Allen12 months ago

    Hope the drink helped. It frees the inhibitions. Inspiration has a lot to do with the topic, I find that Vocal needs to mix it up a bit. Bring some fun stuff. I'm getting a bit bored 'meself'. Good luck.

  • Susana's World12 months ago

    totally relatable :)

  • Kristen Balyeat12 months ago

    So good, Donna! I can TOTALLY relate! “writing, deleting, rinsing, repeating,” so clever! Loved this! 💫

  • Mark Gagnon12 months ago

    I don't write poetry so the need to rhyme isn't an issue. Crafting a good story is. In the end, it's all the same, brain fog and lack of motivation. Whare's that bottle of Makers Mark?

  • Cathy holmes12 months ago

    Haha. Yup, I know that feeling well. Good luck.

  • Iris Harris12 months ago

    😂😂😂😂 Cleverly worded! I love it! We all feel like this too. Thanks, for the INSPIRATION! 💖💖💖

  • Oh we all have those nights where just nothing will come out. Seriously good Donna

  • Lamar Wiggins12 months ago

    Ahhh, liquid courage can sometimes spark inspiration. But don't tip the scales too much, because it can turn into a liquid rant! 🍻😅 This was a great read, Donna. You are pretty consistent when it comes to producing gems to share with us. Thanks again for the humorous side, it made me smile.

  • Mohammed Darasi12 months ago

    I think anyone on vocal can relate to this 🤣🤣.. I can't remember how many times I wrote a sentence to spark up a story and then deleted it.

  • Kendall Defoe 12 months ago

    It is always in the last place you looked... You will find it when you least expect it. ;)

  • R. J. Rani12 months ago

    Awww! What a whimsical admonition of inspiration, dear Donna! You’ve done a wonderful and relatable job of it too 🥰 Here’s to hoping you find oodles of inspiration soon!

  • Roy Stevens12 months ago

    Okay, I'm just sitting here shaking my head and grinning. Leave it to Donna to turn a writing funk into a terrific and funny piece of work. You amaze me my friend, you simply amaze me. I fully expect to see this in the Top Story section tomorrow or the next day and I'll be deeply surprised if it doesn't show up there- once again you deserve it! 😂 😲 💖

  • C. H. Richard12 months ago

    I think you got it ! Love this ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.