How to Navigate Your Vocal Dropdown Menu

Access Your Subscriptions, Stories, Stats, and more

By Donna ReneePublished 11 months ago 3 min read
72
Image of my homepage with dropdown menu highlighted

Let's Get Started!

Have you found the dropdown menu yet? There are many tools hidden here that can help you make the most of your Vocal experience!

First though- I recommend opening Vocal in another window so you can follow and click along as you read this article.

Okay, now start by looking for your profile image or photo in the top right corner.

Click that little arrow beside it. I highlighted it for you in the photo above so you can see what I'm talking about... yep, that tiny little arrow. Yes! Got it.

Dropdown Menu

Dropdown options image

From here you can easily view your profile, create a new story, view your previously published stories as well as submitted stories and even your drafts, study your Vocal stats page and see which stories are performing best, check out your wallet, and even see who you have subscribed to and view their recent publications. There is also access to a settings page and resources option which can help you navigate Vocal and personalize your experience a bit.

You can probably click through these on your own and figure it out but I'm a show me and tell me person, so I'll show you a few of these too and highlight my favorite features.

Your Stories

Stories Page

Under the Stories part of the dropdown menu, you'll see a page like this one. I like to be able to look at my Published stories tab here to check which stories were submitted to challenges. See those little ribbon icons beside where it says "Microfiction Magic"? That tells me that these stories were successfully entered into that challenge.

Draft, obviously, is where your works in progress live until submitted. Once you've submitted them, they will move to the Submitted tab, and once published, yep, you guessed it! Under the Published tab.

Stats

The Stats Page

The Stats page is really fun! You can see how many subscribers you have, any active pledges, total reads, reads in the last 30 days, and even how much that has changed compared to the previous 30 days. This can help you figure out if what you are posting is attracting and keeping readers! The last 30 days view shows you how many reads you generated each day. This helps me by showing me that on the day I publish, I typically get the most reads but that I also get a boost in reads on the days I share my link on Facebook or Instagram.

You can also scroll down to see how many hearts and reads each of your stories has received as well as how much $ you've made so far from those reads.

Wallet

Wallet page

Speaking of $, the Wallet section tells you in detail what your earnings are, your current balance info, and how much you have made from tips or pledges.

Your Subscriptions

Subscriptions page

The Your Subscriptions option in the dropdown menu is one of my favorites. I often miss stories in my notifications but I can always go here to see if I have missed anything from authors I am subscribed to on Vocal.

You'll see a Creators tab and a Your Feed tab.

Your Subscriptions page

The Creators tab shows you a list of all the people you subscribe to and how recently they have published something.

The Your Feed tab shows you all of the publications from all of those authors in your subscriptions and you can scroll through and click to be redirected to those stories.

Stories You Liked

Stories You Liked

The Stories You Liked page is just that..ALL of the stories you have ever clicked the heart for on Vocal. You can revisit them easily through this page. Wow! I have liked a lot of stories! How about you?

Settings

The Settings page

The Settings page is pretty straightforward. You can see your Vocal+ subscription information, access Stripe, Enable (or disable) pledges if you are a Vocal+ member, and change your comments settings. I like to keep my comment email notifications turned off because I get a lot of notifications already. You can also change your password from here or even delete your account.

Resources

Resources page

There are many options here on the Resources page, click through to find recent articles from the Vocal team or click any of the tabs there to see what is available.

Sign Out

The last option under your dropdown is the Sign Out feature... if you are on a shared computer this is probably a good idea. Otherwise, just stay signed in so you don't miss anything!

Thanks for reading!

tips and guides
72

About the Creator

Donna Renee

Hi! Thanks for reading! My hobbies include making coffee, drinking coffee, and starting to write a story and then rage-deleting it when I get the slightest bit frustrated.

Work in Progress: WOWH, cozy mystery (paranormal elements)

INSTAGRAM

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (38)

Sign in to comment
  • d jojo gent3 months ago

    This article is helpful thanks alot for putting these guidelines like this in place to help new vocal creators

  • Thank you so much for this beginner article. I am new to vocal and wanted to know how to get around. This guide is so helpful!

  • Gina C.10 months ago

    Super helpful article, Donna!! I actually read this a while ago but I see that I never got around to commenting 🥲 I was taking a gander at your profile to see if I've missed anything! I love how you've included screenshots here. Congrats on Top Story!! 🤗❤️❤️

  • Novel Allen10 months ago

    Scrolling through Resources is another great way to learn new stuff or catch up on old stuff. Very informative work Donna. Congrats on TS.

  • Ude Hyginus10 months ago

    Nice write up

  • Teasa10 months ago

    never mind. I figured it out.... Geeshhhhh

  • Teasa10 months ago

    even if the challenge says 200 words no more, no less

  • Teasa11 months ago

    I'm trying to add my story to fiction which is a 200 word count entry But my submission says it's not 600... please help

  • Ahmed Saber11 months ago

    Thank you so much for writing this

  • Handy tips, thank you. I'm not on here as much as i would like to be, so having someone save time by spelling out for me is useful :D xx

  • MT Poetry11 months ago

    Well done!! I have just liked 192 stories.😕 because I'm new to vocal media.

  • R. J. Rani11 months ago

    Thank you so much for writing this, Donna! You have such a wonderful writing voice and tone that it feels like being shown the ropes by dear friend. I’d love to have read this article as a new Vocal author and hope it’s sent along with every ‘welcome to Vocal’ email that goes out!

  • Donna, I gave myself a heart attack. I have liked over 7000+ stories! I wasn't expecting it to be that huge of a number! Also, I never knew we could off the email notifications in Settings, lol. I'm a tell me and show me kinda person too so thank you so much for this!

  • Very informative thank you for writing this

  • The Dani Writer11 months ago

    Clever idea and so helpful for people who are new to the site. Well done Top Story-an!

  • Test11 months ago

    We figured all of this out on our own over time... but it's great that you put this together for folks. Would've helped us in the beginning💙Anneliese

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    This is a great resource. You explain everything so well and in your own friendly manner, that any newb would get the most out of it. Congrats on Top Story and for this being featured in the Resources section!

  • Mohammad Imran11 months ago

    Thank a lots

  • Amjad Ateih Dib11 months ago

    thanks a lot for your work

  • Iris Harris11 months ago

    Well done. Thoughtful and informative. Useful for all new users.

  • Heather Hubler11 months ago

    Wonderful article, Donna!! I'm sure this will be helpful to so many people going forward :) Congratulations on Top Story and having this article featured in Vocal Resources!!

  • Leslie Writes11 months ago

    I love your friendly step by step approach to this! It's like having it explained by a friend :) What an excellent resource!

  • Awesome 🌟 and Congratulations on all of your achievements🎉🎉🎉🎉

  • Congratulations on your Top Story and being chosen as a Vocal Resource

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Well done!!! Congratulations too!!!❤️❤️💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.