Poets logo

Marshmallows, how deeply I despise thee

For Paul

By Donna ReneePublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 2 min read
Top Story - July 2023
72
Marshmallows, how deeply I despise thee
Photo by Leon Contreras on Unsplash

“Want some marshmallows in your cocoa?”

Ahhh marshmallows. You are so mysteriously squishy while simultaneously dusty like a neglected chalkboard eraser… and you are supposed to be edible? That seems like a bit of a stretch, to be honest.

People adore you though, they even put you in their cocoa as a special treat…

What the heck?

Why?

As if your dusty surface were not enough, your gelatinous core gives me shivers, and not the good kind.

I must admit though that I do take a certain sadistic delight in the idea of your ritual sacrifice.

Ah yes… how I wish to lure you deep into the woods on a full moon night… like a moth to the flame.

I yearn to impale you slowly and hoist your sorry, pasty, bouncy self over a crackling fire whilst telling horror stories to the rest of your kin who await their fate, gasping for air in a plastic bag (which I feel is appropriate and entirely acceptable)…

Oh yes, and then, once your skin is burnt to a smoking crisp and your partially liquified innards are dripping from my spike, I shall smash you between some stale off-brand crackers and expired chocolate bar segments and hand you off to a sticky fingered child and I shall watch with a smile on my face and a song in my heart as they mash your remnants between their slobbery jaws until you return completely to the wretched goo from whence you came, YOU HORRIFYING BLOB.

Ahem. Sorry, my mind wandered for a second there. What did you ask? Oh, right, no thank you. I don’t much care for marshmallows.

…although perhaps drowning them in a boiling mug of cocoa would be entertaining…

-Paul Stewart made me do it! 🤣🤣

If you want to play along, write a poem (or letter or song or whatever) to your least favorite food. Obviously, I don’t much care for marshmallows. 🫣

Update: Here is Paul’s rant against Almond Milk and all of the excellent rants that have been created!!

*** Please drop a link to yours in the comments if you decide to play along so that I can add it here too!***

***Remember! Please drop a link to yours in the comments if you decide to play along so that I can add it here too!***

humor
72

About the Creator

Donna Renee

Hi! Thanks for reading! My hobbies include making coffee, drinking coffee, and starting to write a story and then rage-deleting it when I get the slightest bit frustrated.

Work in Progress: WOWH, cozy mystery (paranormal elements)

INSTAGRAM

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (74)

Sign in to comment
  • JBaz4 months ago

    Congratulations my friend on the year end award. You are so deserving, and I smiled all the way while I read this.

  • Andie Emerson7 months ago

    Wow, that made my night 😂 entertainment on point!

  • Maureen Y. Palmer8 months ago

    Hahaha this is amazing! Also me_irl LOL. Whenever I'm in a roasting s'mores situation, I throw my marshmallow in the fire because I don't like eating them but I LOVE watching the fascinating process of them charring and oozing and charring some more.

  • Ahna Lewis8 months ago

    This was soo entertaining! You mastered the "slightly crazed" narrator so well, haha. 😆 And yes, marshmallows really are concerning when one starts to think about it!

  • Syeda Umama8 months ago

    https://vocal.media/poets/whispers-of-the-elements

  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    Some superb wordage here - "hoist your sorry pasty bouncy self" had me rolling that sentence round my mouth like marbles 😁

  • Sian N. Clutton9 months ago

    A funny read. I love reading your stuff!

  • Kenny Penn9 months ago

    This was hilarious, congrats and well deserved!

  • MANOJ K 9 months ago

    Madam simply super keep writing congrats best of luck visit my posts and give tips subscribe me thank u ❤

  • Such a unique and brilliantly funny collection 🩷 Thank you for sharing these 😁

  • Jordan Sky Daniels9 months ago

    This made me laugh so much

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    Oh Donna...it's under review and waiting to be published. You know what I am talking about!

  • Sara Wilson10 months ago

    I too have never understood the appeal of these things lol. Growing up, I was always the weirdo for not wanting to eat marshmallows. The only ones I would eat are the little crunchy ones in cereal 🤣🤣 and are those even marshmallows? 🤔🤷 My 5 year old would literally eat them by the bag if I were to allow it. Sometimes she asks for a small cup of them for dessert and I'm just sitting there looking at the little sugar monster like 🤔 who are you? Lol The way you were the villain in this story was hilarious. Who knew being a marshmallow murderer was possible? 🤣 Such a fun piece of work 🤣

  • Heather Hubler10 months ago

    I love how I pictured you as a villain rubbing your hands together as they roasted over flames...hahahaha!! I do like marshmallows but not just plain, I like them toasted over a fire. I love how your clever, humorous mind works. Awesome job! Congratulations on the Top Story :)

  • Chloe Gilholy10 months ago

    I had great fun looking at all the entries so far. I ended up conducting a menu using the foods mentioned in the poems/letters. https://vocal.media/feast/vocal-kitchen-nightmares-menu

  • Donna Fox (HKB)10 months ago

    Donna, I love this poem!! It was such a great, laugh-filled read!! I can see why it received Top Story!! The line “ I do take a certain sadistic delight in the idea of your ritual sacrifice.” Had my lol-ing so hard!!! 🤣 This was like a mock-horror story for marshmallows and I am all here for it! Fun fact: marshmallows were apparently originally invented as a cure for a sore throat, something about the sticky melty inside being curative and soothing… 🤔 Congratulations on Top Story, this was so well deserved! 🎉

  • Mackenzie Davis10 months ago

    I finally did it! Though i fear it got out of hand… https://vocal.media/poets/the-slut-shame-of-a-hot-matcha-latte

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    Donna, Donna, check this out - https://vocal.media/poets/dear-kristen

  • Poppy 10 months ago

    This awesome, so creative. I like marshmallows but hate the dustiness 😑 so uncalled for😂

  • Mackenzie Davis10 months ago

    I read this as soon as you posted it, and failed to comment! And wow look how it has grown. I'm drafting my own! I must join the fun, for my FOMO is getting too strong to ignore, lol. Congratulations on Top Story and the extra bonus on the leaderboard! This is pure, unadulterated fun. ❤️🎉

  • Denise E Lindquist10 months ago

    Wow!! Nice 😉 My dislike is not to the same extent but I totally get it and was getting into your dislike more than I expected to 🙃😬😂

  • Kendall Defoe 10 months ago

    I know you said that you would add mine here. But just in case: https://vocal.media/poets/beets-by-ugh

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    WOW, Donna! You really earned that leaderboard win! Way to go!

  • Mark Graham10 months ago

    Honestly, I like marshmallows in all the ways you said. We all have our quirks for I even like 'Peeps'. Good work.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.