Poets logo

Dear Kristen

From Humble Curdled Ocean Water - a rebuttal/apology to Kristen Balyeat's wonderful Dear Cottage Cheese...I hate you poem, as part of the Paul and Donna Yucky Food Challenge

By Paul StewartPublished 10 months ago 2 min read
12
Dear Kristen
Photo by Megumi Nachev on Unsplash

Dear Kristen (we will be kind and keep things civil, taking the higher ground)

Hate is such a powerful word to use,

You may hate me, but I only mean well.

I am but humble cottage cheese.

Sure, I'm hardly the best-looking thing in the world

I'm not a decadent chocolate mousse or cake or even a homemade ramekin of guac

I did not mean to incur the full extent of your wrath and rage

I merely wanted to help you

I wish I had a better texture than...how did you describe it? "curdled ocean water"

I would love to have a sharp flavour like cheddar or to have a crumbly and creamy texture like Wensleydale

I would even love to have a more pungent flavour like my blue cousins, Gorgonzola, Dolcelatte, and blue Stilton

I am sorry my existence defames cottages and other real cheeses in your mind

I love a good cottage...one preferably in a quiet, serene, and wild forest

away from the haters of my kind...where I can live a happy and peaceful life in seclusion. If I had that in life, I would be content - I could crochet blankets from my curds and just sit in my juices, doing internal work on myself. I'd have a wood-burning furnace or old-style fire, decking area to sit and take in the scent of pine and lavender...that would be bliss...my kind of happiness

It's time, after all, I put myself first.

Time, I accepted nothing but the best

I am not playing second fiddle to anyone, anymore

Maybe once I work on myself, I will return to society, and we can be friends, Kristen.

I live in hope

I wish thee well in life and don't wish thee ill will

Be well,

Mr. Curdled Ocean Water Aka Cottage C. Heese.

*

Thanks for reading.

Author's Note: As part of the ongoing Yucky Food Challenge, as many people have called it, I thought it might be a fun idea to write a rebuttal to many of the awesome poems we have recieved from the subjects of their wrath. For this one, I took on Kristen Balyeat's Dear Cottage Cheese...I hate you, which you can read here:

Hope you enjoy!

social commentarysurreal poetrysad poetryperformance poetrylove poemsinspirationalhumorheartbreakfact or fiction
12

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Dorothy Gibbs10 months ago

    Not a fan

  • Tiffany Gordon 10 months ago

    Fabulous!😁

  • Delightful, Paul. It's about time someone stood up for foods that serve as a base, a foundation if you will, for the more exotic of flavors to flourish. Bravo!

  • J. S. Wade10 months ago

    Rebuttal ? Luv it. 😂😂. By the way, I have a re-butt, re-chin, and re-stomach. Gravity reigns supreme. 😂

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    Holy cow, Mr. Heese! This is hilarious, Paul!

  • Ruth Stewart10 months ago

    Weiro

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Oh damn. Now I feel sorry for the cottage cheese. Lol

  • Kristen Balyeat10 months ago

    😂 😂 😂 OH MY GOSH! Paul! This is an absolutely hilarious and also somehow heart wrenching letter!!! Get me my tissues! 😂 Ok, first of all, when you said “we want to keep things civil” I got the full body shivers. “We” implies that allll thoossseeeee littttlleeee cuuuurrrddds are individuals talking with one voice {shivering now} 😱 This just took cottage cheese to a whole new level…terrifying! That in itself is a horror story waiting to happen. Next, that cottage you describe is actually my dream home 😂 but this was my favorite line of all time: “I could crochet blankets from my curds and just sit in my juices, doing internal work on myself.” 🤣🤣🤣 I mean– that visual! I can’t stop laughing! Although, a cottage cheese quilt now entered my nightmares. If I wake up in a cold sweat fighting my blanket, I’m blaming you! Haha! Paul, this is so hilarious- I keep reading it and laughing, and also equally feel like a bully. Haha! I’ve never received a letter about my behavior, especially from a food item. This is a first! Now I feel guilt for hating so hard 😂 Brilliant and so funny! Great job, Paul!

  • Donna Renee10 months ago

    🤣🤣🤣. Great idea, Paul! I love the rebuttal!! Still can’t get on board with Cottage cheese though 🤢🤢

  • HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA God, I laughed so much for this. Poor Cottage C. Heese 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    This was a nice attempt at redemption, lol. However, I don’t think my friend, Mr or mrs cottage cheese is redeemable. You almost had me for a moment until I imagined trying it again with its cold, wet ant larvae texture. Eww 😂

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    This made me so hungry as a cheese enthusiast… MmMm, Stilton. Why did the voice of the cottage cheese sound like my inner voice? As a city-dwelling hermit, I read the cottage cheese’s monologue and thought, welcome to my world. I don’t think that picture is of cottage cheese, though. No curds or curdled ocean water in sight.

  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    This is so cute, the battle of the food begin ….

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.