Poets logo

Distraction Game

It's all in the eyes

By Donna ReneePublished 11 months ago 1 min read
31
Distraction Game
Photo by Joshua Rawson-Harris on Unsplash

Devilish smile from across the chaotic bar, towards you but not quite focused... enough to make you wonder if you are the target of my intentions tonight. Enough to give you hope.

In your direction now, for sure, I wink, I smile, and then I

Sashay, certainly to you, it seems...your heart pounds and then I

Turn aside just before I

Reach you... and greet another hopeful, lonely soul instead. You watch as I place my hand in theirs, lean in close, and tacitly offer more.

As you sigh in sinking disappointment, I peek back over my shoulder, look you up and down, smirk, and bite my lip.

Caught you looking again, or did you ever even look away? Don't lie. I know you didn't.

This will be easy, it's my favorite game and you are

Incapable of resisting.

Of course, you never even notice my friend, the forgettable one who bumped against you ever so gently while I held you in the gravity well of my eyes.

No matter, you'll figure it out when you go to close your tab after I disappear.

how toheartbreak
31

About the Creator

Donna Renee

Hi! Thanks for reading! My hobbies include making coffee, drinking coffee, and starting to write a story and then rage-deleting it when I get the slightest bit frustrated.

Work in Progress: WOWH, cozy mystery (paranormal elements)

INSTAGRAM

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (24)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Clever!!! Fantastic distraction game!!! Loved it!!!

  • Aleena Gichie10 months ago

    Hey Donna, great article.👋 I'm new to the Vocal life 🥺, I'm trying to learn all I can. Can you please tell me if having subscribers matter?

  • Donna Fox (HKB)10 months ago

    Donna this was beautifully done for both challenges and formats! You are quite genius in the reworking and creation of these! Nicely done!

  • Holly Pheni10 months ago

    Nicely done! I enjoyed the way you worked this out for two challenges at a go. Very creative!

  • Gina C.10 months ago

    Omg I love this so much. I'm not sure how I missed these! She's very slick, and so are you! ☺️❤️❤️

  • Ahmed Saber11 months ago

    Realy i love your article

  • Samia Afra11 months ago

    I dare say, saucy!

  • Brilliant! You had me thinking about instant attraction and the whole time you were stealing wallets

  • Ian Read11 months ago

    A most clever and wicked distraction indeed! Wonderful story!

  • hayaadnan11 months ago

    woah 💖💖💖

  • Harmony Kent11 months ago

    Brilliantly done! You most certainly distracted me and surprised the heck out of me at the end 💕🙂

  • You...you distracted me! Omg! It worked! You distracted me with your distraction poem and performed your microheist! If that isn't brilliant, then I don't know what is! I loved this so much!

  • Ouch. We guys are just too easy.

  • Kendall Defoe 11 months ago

    Tease! ;)

  • Caroline Craven11 months ago

    Ha! Nicely done! She's got some smooth (criminal) moves! Love this Donna. Great stuff.

  • Dana Stewart11 months ago

    Nice crime, haha! Loved this one a lot! Great job Donna!

  • Heather Hubler11 months ago

    Oh snap...little wallet heist! This was great, lured me in and I did not see the ending coming. Wonderful entry!!

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Oh, that was wonderful. Perfect heist. Well done.

  • Ahna Lewis11 months ago

    Brilliant! I loved the twist ending! I guess the only thing necessary for a successful heist is the right distraction! 😆

  • Leslie Writes11 months ago

    Haha - the perfect crime! Love it!

  • Jay Kantor11 months ago

    Dear Ms. Donna - I'm so glad that I've been "Targeted" by your always 'Coffee-Stained Wit' ~ You have 'Distracted' me ~ "Hey, you Lookin' at me?" O-'D' ~ I forwarded your Lovely comment {I did not insert your name} re; "Rescue" for - Pet Haven Minnesota - and the Director loved it ! Jay Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Author Community -

  • Lamar Wiggins11 months ago

    Ahhh, Yes, the eyes. I love where you went with this, Donna. Great entry!💖

  • I relished the Flow of this wonderfully written Piece❤️😉📝

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.