Poets logo

Writing is my Addiction

My poetic obsession with writing

By Joe PattersonPublished 10 days ago Updated 10 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - April 2024
35
Writing is my Addiction
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

Writing is my addiction. I don’t see it as an affliction even though it continues in repetition.

I have to write everyday. Life holds no real sense of glory unless I’m in my writing closet crafting a story.

My writing is a pearl to me. It means the world to me. Everything I write is a gem for the world to see.

Writing is my addiction. I’m unnerved and my day goes bad if I can’t put a pen to a pad. When my story is finished then I’ll be glad.

If I don’t think of writing at least once a day that means I’m being lazy. If I’m unable to write I will go crazy.

Writing is my addiction. I craft poetry at work during lunch, sometimes my stomach can’t munch unless I know that I’ll be writing a bunch.

I get home in the afternoon and step through the door. Poetry and articles are the minimum of what my mind wants to craft once more.

Writing is my addiction. Sometimes I miss dinner if my latest written project is incomplete. I have to finish my story before I eat.

If I don’t then what am I eating for? It’s a must that I have given more to the craft of which I’m living for.

Writing is my addiction. I’m filled with a restless rage if I come to find there to be no more room on the page.

I can’t stop. There’s always another written quest for me. This is what is best for me, if you take away my writing that’ll be the death of me.

Writing is my addiction. How can it not be when it progressed my health? This is the core of how I express myself.

My greatest wealth came in the form of paper and pen or keyboards on a laptop that made sure when I started writing I would never stop.

More than a profession. More than just a lesson. My only drug of choice. My writing is my obsession.

Poetry of emotion. Articles of pop culture. Short stories of fiction. My mind draws their blueprints everyday because writing is my addiction.

social commentaryOdeMental Health
35

About the Creator

Joe Patterson

Hi I'm Joe Patterson. I am a writer at heart who is a big geek for film, music, and literature, which have all inspired me to be a writer. I rap, write stories both short and long, and I'm also aspiring to be an author and a filmmaker.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (21)

Sign in to comment
  • Payal Motla4 days ago

    Really well written. Would love to draw inspiration from you dear friend.

  • Belle6 days ago

    I love this! Well crafted! Congrats on top story!!

  • Anna 6 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!

  • And congrats for Top Story!!

  • Intense and so well-expressed! I loved it, and it's so relatable. Writing is my addiction too.

  • Tiffany Gordon 7 days ago

    Dope! I'd love to hear you rap or recite this piece! Congrats on your TOP STORY!

  • Mika Oka7 days ago

    Thank you for this reminder. Our words are precious. It's our asset

  • Literally its heart touching n good

  • D. D. Lee8 days ago

    Surprisingly enough, I just had a conversation with brother, where he asked if writing was like a drug/addiction to/for me. I didn’t agree. Nice poem! Congrats on Top Story!

  • Lana V Lynx8 days ago

    Told you, not a bad addiction to have, earned you a Top Story :). Congrats!

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • absolutely....and we are all thankful

  • Brilliant! Congratulations and well done on the TS

  • Cathy holmes9 days ago

    This is awesome. Congrats on the TS.

  • I can relate to you deeply on this level and when it comes to writing, it's a must for me too. A deeply ingrained part of me. Well done!

  • Carol Townend9 days ago

    This is a brilliant piece, Joe. It is very descriptive and fun to read and describes a very enthusiastic writer. I enjoyed reading it!

  • Teresa Renton9 days ago

    Fabulous and fun piece Joe. I loved it! Totally with you on ‘I have to finish my story before I eat’ 😂 I’d love to see/hear you perform this.

  • Congratulations on your top story.

  • I feel many of us would be able to relate to this. Loved your poem!

  • Babs Iverson10 days ago

    Fantastic!!! Loving it!!❤️❤️💕

  • Lana V Lynx10 days ago

    Not the worst addiction to have, and a great poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.