Poets logo

The Joys of Working In Healthcare

a Dancing With Distraction acrostic entry

By Donna ReneePublished 11 months ago 1 min read
42
The Joys of Working In Healthcare
Photo by Anton on Unsplash

Does any part of me still want to "go back" and keep pursuing that career?

I honestly don't think

So because I shudder at the mere

Thought of

Returning to languish in agony in

A place where I must wait on hold for hours listening to bad music before attempting to

Convince (or coerce) representatives of overpriced insurance companies

That they should really consider "authorizing" the care

I know my patients deserve and need

Only to be told that (in their wallets eyes) my skillset is

No longer necessary and anyway, it won't be reimbursed.

sad poetrysocial commentary
42

About the Creator

Donna Renee

Hi! Thanks for reading! My hobbies include making coffee, drinking coffee, and starting to write a story and then rage-deleting it when I get the slightest bit frustrated.

Work in Progress: WOWH, cozy mystery (paranormal elements)

INSTAGRAM

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (36)

Sign in to comment
  • Test6 months ago

    Donna your story is relatable for many who've faced a similar crossroads. Always choose a path that leads to happiness and fulfillment.

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    That is some harsh truth there. well done.

  • Jazzy 10 months ago

    I felt this personally; healthcare is heartbreaking. Great poem!

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Raw truth wonderfully written!!! Left a heart!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Donna Fox (HKB)11 months ago

    Wow Donna, I work in a preschool and thought this was going to be along the same lines as how I felt about my job. (Somedays not a big fan). But somehow I think your job would be a lot more heartbreaking. The worst we encounter is ignorant parents that don't know how to handle their kids, but I feel like ignorance is bliss compared to people knowing what they are doing is hurtful and making that choice anyways. Aka denying insurance because they don't feel like paying to help someone... just sad and awful! I'm happy you got out of that job, it sounds really heartbreaking!

  • I couldn’t imagine dealing with insurance companies they make more money the less care approve great writing I could feel the frustration flowing off the page

  • Novel Allen11 months ago

    This goes for practically/almost every job that exists. Burn out and the wish to flee, runfarfaraway. So well said Donna. The lucky few find their dream.

  • Iris Harris11 months ago

    I actually feel the same about teaching. 😂😂😂😂

  • A. Lenae11 months ago

    Aside from the fact that this is skillfully crafted and has an almost hypnotic type of beat to it, the subject is spot on. And as a social worker in the health care field, I agree that this major issue is a distraction from the true needs of patients. Keep fighting the good fight!

  • L.C. Schäfer11 months ago

    Well, that's depressing 😣 What a horrible way to have to work. Or live. ❤

  • Rachael MacDonald11 months ago

    Truth!

  • Test11 months ago

    You captured something important. Nice job!💙Anneliese

  • hayaadnan11 months ago

    This is something very relatable and beautifully written. 💖💖

  • That was heartbreaking extremely powerful. So packed a huge punch in this poem! You're so brilliant!

  • Gal Mux11 months ago

    I could feel the frustration there... Great poem Donna !

  • Obsidian Words11 months ago

    yeah, ouch.

  • Ashley Lima11 months ago

    The frustration in this poem is palpable. Amazing work, and many hugs to you.

  • Cendrine Marrouat11 months ago

    I think poetry works perfectly to hammer that kind of message home. I found myself nodding with every line. Thank you!

  • Caroline Craven11 months ago

    Great poem, well written. Just wish that it wasn’t true 😕

  • Donna, this is brilliant, and so brutally honest! Well done!

  • Gerald Holmes11 months ago

    So well said. Love that you put the word "wallet" in there.

  • Roy Stevens11 months ago

    Your poem is terrific Donna. As to the subject, I doubt my opinion is sought by anyone who has to deal with it.

  • Cezanne Libellen11 months ago

    Awesome message and beautiful poem

  • Ian Read11 months ago

    Amazing! I won't lie, it conjured some really bad memories I have with the healthcare system, but it made me appreciate the poem all the more.

  • Gina C.11 months ago

    Amazing, Donna! I really love how you did this 😍 Such a powerful message!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.