Poets logo

Beets by...Ugh...

The Evilest Food in Creation

By Kendall Defoe Published 10 months ago Updated 9 months ago 2 min read
14
Beets by...Ugh...
Photo by Alexander Sergienko on Unsplash

Thou disgusting bride of sweetness...

I have squashed my beef with squash;

My Brussels have sprouted some positive benefits...

But you, inspiring my mother to provoke my tongue

Against my stomach, deserve to hear my thoughts...

You repellent punk of a taste test.

*

I remember the look of that fair root

(some become so redundant that they call you 'beetroot';

garbage in is garbage out - dictionaries can't wash out your stain).

You soil the earth with your lie of a life;

You tortured me at that table too often.

*

Was I at all fooled? Was I deceived by you?

Indeed...you looked like the dark twin of cranberry sauce.

Some sourness to be expected when I saw those evil discs of lies.

But the same old disappointment always returned to me.

And the roots made me feel like I belonged in the ground.

*

May the good Dr. Dre please forgive my title.

I could not find another well-greased path to the repellent bulb

I felt compelled to slander and mock among all those other tastes

(too many have disturbed me with your wrong hates - marshmallows, anyone? ;)

Final thought: may there be a final virus to destroy you all...

Beet it.

:/

*Okay, I will be adding some of the other entries here...even the wrong ones (and no, embedding does not always work for me - need a special tutorial to figure it out):

https://vocal.media/poets/sausage-gravy-the-og

https://vocal.media/poets/marshmallows-how-deeply-i-despise-thee#comment-f29e45cd-9f11-4d45-8d59-995cc815119e

Common sense...

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

slam poetrysocial commentarysad poetryhumorheartbreakfact or fiction
14

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Hannah Moore9 months ago

    I'm actually feeling slightly defensive of beetroot, so palpable is your vitriol!

  • I love this, and I absolutely agree. Nasty ol' beets! lol

  • Beet it! Hahahahhahahaha! Loved your poem so much!

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    hahaha! Well done, Kendall. Not sure I agree, but you went savage on this and I loved the Dr Dre reference in title and in verse! Thank you for taking part in the silliness that Donna and I started!

  • Naveedkk 10 months ago

    Super!!! Excellent

  • Lol! In college we had a friend who was always a bit queasy & so we made it a contest to see who could drive him from the table most quickly. We told some of the most disgusting stories you've ever imagined, most involving a lot of blood &/or vomit & garbage pails. (The air sick astronaut was one of my favorites. I was really good at acting out getting sick & retching. Yeah, we weren't very nice.) One day as we were sitting down to lunch I told them (before he arrived) that I was going to drive him away without saying a word. They asked, "How?" I answered, "Just watch." They were serving both spinach & beets in the cafeteria that day. At that time, I was no fan of spinach (I had neither experienced them raw in a salad nor cooked & soaked in vinegar & pepper), so I began with that. Savoring every bite. I was impressed. He made it through the spinach. But as soon as I had finished that part of the meal, he stood up & announced with a shudder, "I'm leaving before he even starts with those beets!"

  • Dana Stewart10 months ago

    Dark twin of cranberry sauce 🤣

  • Dean F. Hardy10 months ago

    You soil the Earth, with your lie of a life. Fucking hilarious hahah.

  • J. S. Wade10 months ago

    I’m with you. 🥰. “I’d Rather Eat Dirt, Than Beets”. 😂

  • Donna Renee10 months ago

    Oh noooo not beets again!! You and Scott are breaking my heart 😩😭🤣🤣🤣. “beet it” LOL. Can I add this one to the pillar post? (although my heart bleeds for the bloody beets hahaha)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.