Psyche logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

The Annoying Friend

Anxiety is my enemy.

By KodahPublished 8 months ago 3 min read

I didn't think there was ever a problem with making friends. I was pretty out-going, fun, confident and was a fluent speaker.

𝑨𝒕 𝒕𝒉𝒂𝒕 𝒕𝒊𝒎𝒆...

Then when I turned 14, something happened. Something changed. Something was removed and replaced from my mindset. Something told me this is how things are going to work now. 𝑰 𝒈𝒐𝒕 𝒅𝒊𝒂𝒈𝒏𝒐𝒔𝒆𝒅 𝒘𝒊𝒕𝒉 𝒂𝒏𝒙𝒊𝒆𝒕𝒚.

I was unprepared for what was going to happen, I was unprepared for this anxiety to be an obstacle in the future. I was unprepared to have my freedom as a teenager taken away. I was only 14 at the time yet there was so much to worry about and expect. 𝑬𝒔𝒑𝒆𝒄𝒊𝒂𝒍𝒍𝒚 𝒘𝒉𝒆𝒏 𝑰 𝒎𝒆𝒕 𝒕𝒉𝒊𝒔 𝒐𝒏𝒆 𝒈𝒓𝒐𝒖𝒑 𝒂𝒕 𝒂𝒈𝒆 𝟏𝟓.

--------------------

𝔹𝕖𝕚𝕟𝕘 𝟙𝟝 𝕐𝕖𝕒𝕣𝕤 𝕠𝕝𝕕:

15-Year-old me found a new group which I found most comfort in out of all the friend groups I've been in. Everyone understood each other and it was such an open and hospitiable group. However, I never knew how annoying I was when it came to this group. I didn't realize how badly my anxiety took a toll on me. I always felt different from whenever I would stutter and not speak properly. It hurt me a lot when I found out how many people were actually bothered by my me, and my presence. I was once fronted by a girl in the group who I was close with, her words "You're just a bit too much, I feel like you're just a bit weird and annoying, not in a bad way of course." This made me re-think my self-worth and belongingness. I didn't know if I was me creating all of this, but it felt like it was ME. The ME that didn't feel normal around people because of this constant, anxious, tsunami following you. I didn't feel normal same after this, I had this new perspective on what people thought about me. 𝐀𝐧𝐱𝐢𝐞𝐭𝐲 𝐡𝐚𝐝 𝐭𝐡𝐚𝐭 𝐧𝐞𝐰 𝐩𝐞𝐫𝐬𝐩𝐞𝐜𝐭𝐢𝐯𝐞, 𝐧𝐨𝐭 𝐦𝐞.

When I addressed the school about this issue, I was told that....

"𝑰 𝒘𝒂𝒔 𝒇𝒓𝒊𝒆𝒏𝒅𝒔 𝒘𝒊𝒕𝒉 𝒕𝒉𝒆 𝒘𝒓𝒐𝒏𝒈 𝒕𝒚𝒑𝒆 𝒐𝒇 𝒑𝒆𝒐𝒑𝒍𝒆".

I hated when people always told me that I was friends with the wrong crowd. Sometimes I just wanted to scream in their face and tell them to mind their own business. I did do that though, I had the worst attitude possible. That's why I sometimes felt like I could connect with the group that I was in. They understood my emotions and had great compassion and empathy. But I guess they didn't understand me when they left me all hurt and attacked.

After weeks of not having a stable friend group. I felt worthless. I felt unliked and unloved. It felt like no one cared about me anymore. I never realized how lonely it feels to have no friends. I started getting depression when I was 16 and it was anxiety's best friend. Being depressed made me not eat, shower nor get out of my room for days. I missed school a lot when I started year 10, I didn't have the courage to get up. People will always tell me "I wish I wouldn't have to go to school." But they don't get it, I WISH I went to school; I don't want to be in bed all day feeling sad and regretful. I want the old me back who had motivation. I didn't want to feel sad, I wanted to do things. But it seemed like that spark was lost somewhere in my wounds.

𝐍𝐨 𝐦𝐚𝐭𝐭𝐞𝐫 𝐰𝐡𝐚𝐭, 𝐢𝐟 𝐈 𝐰𝐚𝐬 𝐚𝐧𝐧𝐨𝐲𝐢𝐧𝐠 𝐨𝐫 𝐧𝐨𝐭, 𝐈 𝐰𝐚𝐬 𝐨𝐧𝐥𝐲 𝟏𝟓 𝐚𝐭 𝐭𝐡𝐞 𝐭𝐢𝐦𝐞. 𝐈 𝐬𝐡𝐨𝐮𝐥𝐝𝐧'𝐭 𝐧𝐨𝐫 𝐚𝐧𝐲𝐛𝐨𝐝𝐲 𝐞𝐥𝐬𝐞 𝐠𝐨 𝐭𝐡𝐫𝐨𝐮𝐠𝐡 𝐭𝐡𝐚𝐭 𝐚𝐭 𝟏𝟓. 𝐈'𝐦 𝐧𝐨𝐰 𝟐𝟏 𝐚𝐧𝐝 𝐬𝐭𝐢𝐥𝐥 𝐭𝐡𝐢𝐧𝐤 𝐚𝐛𝐨𝐮𝐭 𝐢𝐭 𝐭𝐢𝐥𝐥 𝐭𝐡𝐢𝐬 𝐝𝐚𝐲, 𝐈 𝐚𝐦 𝐭𝐡𝐞 𝐚𝐧𝐧𝐨𝐲𝐢𝐧𝐠 𝐟𝐫𝐢𝐞𝐧𝐝.

recoverysocial mediaptsdpersonality disorderpanic attacksdisorderdepressionanxiety

About the Creator

Kodah

- Storyteller, Love/Romance, Poetry, Dark, Mental health, Psychological, Surreal, Nature, Mythical

~𝓢𝓽𝓸𝓻𝓲𝓮𝓼 𝓬𝓪𝓷 𝓫𝓮 𝓪 𝓵𝓲𝓽𝓽𝓵𝓮 𝓭𝓮𝓮𝓹~

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran8 months ago

    I'm so sorry this happened to you 🥺 I too have anxiety and it has caused a lot of problems between me and my friends. They seemed to not understand that I was a certain way because of my anxiety. I too was friendless for some time. It was a very dark phase. But I did find good friends after that. I still have anxiety and depression. I'm seeing a therapist and am under medication. Have you seen a therapist regarding this?

  • Lunaverse8 months ago

    Woahh that was deep. I get where your coming from. Great story!

KodahWritten by Kodah

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.