Longevity logo

Thoughts Too Early in the Morning

My morning monologue is my daily soundtrack

By Judey Kalchik Published 11 months ago 4 min read
9
https://pixabay.com/users/stocksnap-894430/

Why is it so cold before the sun comes out?

Why am I out here in when it’s cold?

~

I’m holding a flashlight and swinging it as I walk. Is that the way walker-people do it? Real walker-people, not poser-people like me.

Should I hang the light around my neck instead?

If so, does it hang in back so cars can see me ahead of them or do I wear it on my chest?

~

Holding the flashlight is getting my fingers cold.

Where are my gloves?

It’s almost July- have I ever worn gloves this time of year?

Maybe I should get a hat with a light.

Like a coal miner or a fisherman.

Is that weird?

I think that’s weird.

~

Oh no- did I start the ‘walk outside’ exercise icon on my watch before I started?

I want to check but that’s the hand holding the flashlight and I need to keep moving.

Do steps taken outside of the app count as exercise taken?

Why the heck does that matter to me?

It matters.

~

Arm movement- swinging the arms at my sides or bending at the elbows and pumping them as I walk?

Does one help a person walk faster or burn more calories?

How many more calories?

What would that mean to the flashlight-holding hand?

And if I walk faster will I tire faster and stop faster and then not get as many steps?

~

I wonder where that car goes every morning?

It seems like it hardly passes me and then it’s back heading home again.

Maybe dropping someone off at the bus stop?

Maybe for a morning coffee?

I can’t wait to finish this and get some coffee.

Would it really change anything if I got coffee first thing in the morning and then went outside for the walk/exercise?

~

Mmmmmm- coffee.

~

I know this cap is giving me hat head.

I can see my shadow in front of me.

Is it good to have thigh gap or bad to have thigh gap?

Who decides these things?

I do NOT have thigh gap.

I definitely have shadow-shin gap.

That probably wouldn’t count.

~

Sun’s rising and I’m half-way through the laps.

Flashlight off and now I can curl my hands inside the sweatshirt.

That’s better.

Does anyone notice that I have to touch the stop sign when I get to the end of the road and turn around?

Do they think it’s weird?

It’s not like I think the world will blow up if I don’t touch it.

I’m just used to it.

And I mean, the world HASN’T blown up… not that I’m taking credit for it. But maybe it’s helped some.

I'm touching it {touch} just in case it saves the world. I mean; it might not save anything but I bet it helps a little.

~

I smell a skunk.

I think it shows that a person is healthy if they can breathe through their nose while exercising.

I breathe through my mouth, but I’ll try.

This works- no problem.

But I’m breathing through my mouth again- how did that happen?

Must. Hold. Mouth. Closed. With. Lips. Together.

There. That’s not too hard.

How long has my mouth been open?

~

There’s those two deer.

Deer are skittish and won’t charge anyone.

They are frightened of me.

They’ll run away any moment.

Why are they watching me?

Why aren’t they running?

Maybe it’s the flashlight?

I don’t want them to get scared and jump in front of me.

Do they jump in front of walkers or just in front of things with wheels?

If I kept the light on all night would they stop eating our hostas?

Gotta remember to look that up.

~

There’s my girls! Hi Momma Olive Kitty. Hi Tres!

I know- it’s treats time. I’m home.

Kitty treats for you and a cup of coffee for me.

~

Given my general lack of athletic prowess I tend to rely on walking as an activity to raise my heart rate. Here's an early story about that.

I appreciate you reading my non-AI-generated thoughts! While you’re here, please choose one or more of the ways below to interact with me and the other writers on Vocal.

FIVE ways to interact with all writers on Vocal:

1. Leave a comment and share your thoughts. What do you say when you talk to yourself?

2. Click on the little heart to let me know that this clicked with you.

3. Click on the subscribe button and get a FREE notification when my next post goes live.

4. Feel free to share a link to anything I write on your social media.

5. A one-time tip or even a monthly pledge to support my writing is always appreciated if you are so moved!

You can also find me on Medium, where a version of this story was first posted.

self caremeditationhumorhealthfitnessathleticsadvice
9

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • sleepy drafts11 months ago

    Oh, I loved this! This made me feel as if I was on the morning walk with you. I especially love reading this after your Froggy article, lol! Awesome, work, Judey. Also, I hope your walk is lovely this morning!! 👏🏻❤️

  • So on point! (Except for the coffee. I never learned to like the stuff. And I don't carry a flashlight--ANSI jacket or vest for traffic out in the country. But otherwise, so on point!)

  • Hannah E. Aaron11 months ago

    This is so incredibly relatable, especially the sign-touching and wondering about the deer and their next moves lol. When I cook, I wash my hands sooo many times because my brain goes you-just-grazed-the-counter-and-it-should-be-clean-but-what-if-it-isn’t-and-you-make-everyone-sick in many variations along the same line. And just recently, a pair of gray foxes came through the yard while I was on the porch. They looked at me and I have no idea what I would have done if they’d decided against just trotting off into the woods. Awesome job on this!!

  • J. Delaney-Howe11 months ago

    This made me smile. My inner dialogue is to noisy to get down on paper. lol

  • Lana V Lynx11 months ago

    I giggled at this, it's like Ulysses was reborn for your morning walks.

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    I chuckled all the way through it. Great job, Judey!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.