Longevity logo

Blunt Self Love Affirmations

Dose of Tough Love (longevity)

By Annie Edwards Published 3 months ago 5 min read
4

I love the idea of positive affirmations, but I oftentimes find it hard to fully relate to them. Their positive message can sometimes seem unrealistic, as beautiful as they are meant to be. I need something more raw and unfiltered. “Blunt positivity” hits closer to home for me, and gives me a way to connect to the message and fully embrace it.

Therefore, I decided to create my own set of affirmations – not the sugar-coated Hallmark kind, but a poignant, straightforward arsenal of self-motivation. Many of them are based off of variations of the quotes I have written over the years, as well as other various life lessons I have learned.

I uploaded a video on YouTube with a visual of the affirmations, as it oftentimes helps me to see them and repeat them to myself. I’ll include the link at the bottom if anyone else would like to use it for the same purpose!

“Blunt Positivity” Self Love Affirmations

I must acknowledge and accept that some things that are truly beautiful will not always be pretty.

I cannot fully love myself while also loathing parts of myself.

I am the best DIY project I will ever create.

The time I spend envying the talents of others is also time I waste not exploring and expressing my own.

It is a waste of my time to regret the time I feel that I have previously wasted.

All humans have flaws. That includes me.

I cannot GIVE UP on life because life won’t GIVE IN to me. I must instead give life permission to show me what it’s meant to be.

I may have bad days, even bad weeks or months. I must remember, time will always continue, but circumstances will not.

In order to live a fulfilling life, I must choose to live before I die.

Life WILL be hard. I must choose to not let my soul wither away before my body does.

I shouldn’t be so hard on myself. I’ll meet others along the journey who will take care of that for me.

I am not defined by my illnesses, INCLUDING my mental illnesses, unless I decide that I am.

I must learn to immerse myself into my emotions when needed, but not become immersed by them.

Sometimes, I must first take a step back in order to properly regain my footing .

My past mistakes are meant to serve as life lessons, not life sentences.

Boundaries can either serve as my healthy or harmful shield against the world.

For a car to reach its destination, proper fuel and maintenance are required. The same goes for me.

Even if I am on the right path, I will get run over if I merely stand there. (*Based off of a quote by Dale Carnegie)

It seems kind of ridiculous to expect others to see my worth if I cannot.

When it is all said and done, I cannot fool myself, and it is foolish to think that I can.

One of the easiest ways I can become a burden is by convincing myself that I am one.

I must consistently prioritize recharging myself, the way I do my cell phone.

Realistically, I can’t be ANYTHING I want. Obstacles exist.../What I can always be is MYSELF...and if I refuse, well, I am my own obstacle.

If I can’t see the impact I’m able to have on the world, how will I be able to show it?

I need to listen to my body. It has a lot of inside knowledge.

If I choose to “be my own brand,” I’m guaranteed to have at least one successful self-ran business.

I must learn to give MYSELF the TLC I need, because the world won’t always do so.

My time is not infinite, but it is of infinite value. I must spend it wisely.

My past is only part of my story, unless I insist on reliving it.

I can’t go back in time and erase the things I’ve done. I also can’t go back in time and add in things I didn’t do.

My life mantra: Be yourself; it’s hard to fuck that up.

Although I should take the future into consideration when making decisions, I should also take into consideration that I don’t know what tomorrow brings.

Money can buy superficial life. It cannot buy self love.

Loving myself sometimes means loving others from afar. That is ok.

Spending less time stressing about a situation leaves me more time to focus on addressing the situation.

I cannot go back in time physically, so why am I so obsessed with doing so mentally?

It is unnecessary mental torture.

I prioritize what I love and deem as important. I should therefore either prioritize myself, or prioritize reevaluating my priorities.

It doesn’t make sense to waste my life wishing I could live someone else’s.

I cannot say no one loves me if I love myself.

Loving myself is more satisfying than any amount of ‘likes’ I will ever receive.

Beauty is in the eyes of the beholder. Therefore, if I cannot see my beauty, that falls on me.

I cannot fill the world with love when I am secretly harboring otherwise.

If I stay true to myself, it’s easier to truly love myself.

No other journey is the same as my own. Why then, are the timelines and checkpoints?

Holding myself to higher standards than I do others is only logical if I believe that I am better than everyone.

Acceptance of my present circumstances is not a refusal to move forward. It’s actually what will help me do so.

People can choose whether or not they see or acknowledge my worth. As a person, I also have that choice.

If I cannot see my worth, it kinda loses its value.

Putting my self worth in someone else’s hands is a dangerous and irresponsible oxymoron.

It is important to have a good relationship with the person I will spend EVERY MOMENT OF MY ENTIRE LIFE with.

I must learn to be critical, but to not overly criticize myself.

I must learn to laugh at myself, without laughing at my own expense.

I must love myself more than my best selfie, as it is a mere snapshot of the bigger picture.

I cannot simultaneously be my best self and my worst enemy.

There will always be someone who doesn’t like me. I must make sure the person that they don’t like is someone that I do.

🎥 YouTube Visual (with calming background music):

self carewellnessquotespsychologymental healthmeditationlisthumanityhow toadvice
4

About the Creator

Annie Edwards

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Julie Edwards 3 months ago

    Love it Annie 💖

  • Test3 months ago

    Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.