Humans logo

Modern-Day Mix Tape

A tribute to my first and last love- and everything in between...

By Jamie LeFebvre Published 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Modern-Day Mix Tape
Photo by @felipepelaquim on Unsplash

For me, I travel through time and space through music. Music is my time travelling companion. The force that opens the portal. It is and always has been music. I am able to be moved from here to there most easily through what I hear. Music is how I travel through time. Music is my first love and my last love. I have had many loves in between where it started and where it will end, but it always has been and always will be music for me. My one true. That and Jesus, which goes without saying but I should say it. Considering Jesus loves music. "Don't be a prude- not when it comes to music" is something I think I have heard him say....

SIDE NOTE: I am not a "Jesus Freak", I am a "Jesus Fan". This is NOT a religious post. It is a "worth-your-while" publication.

Vocal, PLEASE, do not deny this due to religious content because I used the name "Jesus." I can edit to mother nature, the great spirit, or whatever replacement vocabulary, but that would be a waste of both of our time so lets allow our first amendment to fly freely.

I want this modern-day mixed tape of loves lost to catch on, a new trend sans ice and buckets. Something to demonstrate our intelligence, our feelings, and most importantly, ourselves and how we feel. Perhaps an idea that could be imitated by other writers and auditory time travelers such as myself. I would not consider it plagiarism, I would consider it as a compliment for this idea to be played out.…After all, imitation is the greatest form of flattery.

Music, my beautiful partner, my heart, my soul. It is not a jealous lover; it lets me listen while also travelling to memories of loves lost. It wants me to cherish all of it. Music helps me remember the best and the worst moments of those in-between loves. Music is quite the unconditional love-sharing space with previous paramours. Music is the ultimate love without attachment.

SIDE NOTE: I am wordy. I can't help it. It is who I am and I can finally say I like who I am and who I have become. Plus, assimiliation is not my style. Assimilation is void of all style. Look around at the majority or the multitude and you will see what I am talking about. Plus, Vocal has a word limit. Vocal, can we remove the word limit restriction? Vocal, can we get a haiku board or a board for shortest stories?

It is not hard to color the page with excessive hues of words. Perhaps this could be a challenge? Thoughts to consider…A writer challenged with words limited. Focus on content and quality over quantity. Considering our too fast paced world, nobody has time to read something too lengthy- such a tragedy that most of us are not and cannot read at all. If ever there were an asteroid heading for our planet, the only way to dodge it would be to slow down our energy, get back to the meaning of our lives, before we are all pulverized..

So instead of writing words to express how I feel, I am using song. A song to speak to every love I have had in a modern-day mix tape. I hope you made the list…Not just romantic love, all love. Love is love afterall… .

"Nutshell" Alice in Chains

"Darling Boy"- John Lennon

"Give Into Me"- Garret Hedlund & Leighton Meester

"Mr. Bojangles"- Neil Diamond

"Crazy Beautiful"- Luke Combs

"Free Falling"- Tom Petty

"Secret Garden"- Bruce Springsteen

"Closer"- Kings of Leon

”Nothing Compares to You"- Chris Cornell

"Love the Way You Lie"- Eminem & Rhianna

"Night We Met"- Lord Huron

"Wish You Were Here"- Incubus

"Night Moves"- Bob Seger

"Harvest Moon"- Neil Young

"Blurry" Puddle of Mudd

"Fast Car"- Tracy Chapman

"Luckiest Man"- The Wood Brothers

"Dirt Road Anthem"- Jason Aldean

"Juicy"- Notorious B.I.G

"How to Save a Life"- The Fray

"Tell Me Baby"- Red Hot Chili Peppers

"Your Song"- Elton John

"Come a Little Closer"- Dierks Bentley

"I Got You"- Jack Johnson

"Come Come Summertime"- Shwayze

"Bloodstream"- Stateless

"Start Wearing Purple"- Gogol Bordello

"Ridin Dirty"- Chamillionaire

"Everlong"- Foo Fighters

"Round Here"- Counting Crows

"Get Away"- Rick Ross

"Ob-La-Di, Ob-La Da"- The Beatles

"Hours on End"- Citizen Cope

"Closer"- Kings of Leon

"Fall For You"- Secondhand Serenade

I am sure that I will think of many more as soon as this is published...

so… stayed tuned for more tunage…

artbreakupscelebritiesdatingdivorcefact or fictionfamilyfriendshiphumanityhumorinterviewlgbtqquotessinglesocial mediatravelvintagelove
Like

About the Creator

Jamie LeFebvre

A spirit having a human experience. Join me on this journey to popularize self-discovery, self-love, and love for mankind. Promise to never stop asking the world "Why?". Because nothing is as it was once thought to be.....

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.