Writers logo

Remix Me, Please!

Introducing The Inaugural Edition of Paul's Unofficial Remix Challenge

By Paul StewartPublished 2 months ago Updated 24 days ago 3 min read
Top Story - March 2024
28
Remix Me, Please!
Photo by Daniel Eliashevskyi on Unsplash

Hey folks, chums, pals, fellow creators, and generally fantastic people!

I have two words for you all...

Remix me!

You heard me right. Remix me!

I love music, in its many forms, I love rock, metal, industrial, love dance music, electronic music, Hip-Hop and a lot of pop too. With all that, I love remixes too.

Remixes to me are a little like cover versions. Bands and artists give producers and other artists the opportunity to fiddle and create using the bones and pieces of their songs. It is an intriguing artform, in my opinion.

Here is some information about the musical form and history of the remix:

So what am I getting at with "Remix me!"

Well recently, I took William Wordsworth's blandorama and did my own, diseased, more honest, bleaker take on it. Then I had a lightbulb of creativity and thought - what if there was a challenge to remix someone's piece of poetry.

I also neglected to mention that the one and only Mackenzie Davis has done her own replies/takes on classic poems, that you can find here on Vocal. Below is one she did in reply to Robert Frost's "Stopping By Woods on a Snowy Evening" I didn't want to let it slip by without giving her credit because that idea was in my head when I tackled WW's blandfest and came up with this challenge.

The Inaugural Unofficial Remix Challenge

So...welcome to the inaugural Unofficial Remix Challenge.

Now, this is the part where it's going to seem very arrogant and an excuse for me to get more reads on more of my work, but hear me out. I want you to remix one of my pieces.

Below you will find links to five of my favourite poems that you can pick to remix.

The reason I chose my own rather than others is more logistics than anything else. I wanted to give the challenge a go with my own stuff first, before trying something different next time, if it proves successful.

I also know that many people do not like the idea of someone coming along and playing with their work. There are certain pieces of mine, I would be pissed off if someone messed with.

So there you have it. the compromise and easiest way to do it is to put forward a few of my own pieces for you to play around with.

The Poems

Here are the five poems you can choose from to remix.

Great Nothingness

when did you last see the sea?

Zealot of My Own Destruction

genui ignem

A Farewell to Smooth

Some Rules

I know it's boring but we have to have some semblence of order amidst the oncoming storm of creative chaos.

  1. I would like you to include "Paul's Unofficial Remix Challenge in the subtitle.
  2. I would like you to include a link to the piece you remixed along with your new version when you publish it.
  3. All pieces should be published to the Poets community.
  4. There is no word count limit.
  5. Strictly one entry per person.
  6. Please provide a link to your remixes in the comment section and I will add them to this piece.
  7. The deadline is April 20th, to give you enough time, given that there are other challenges, both official and unofficial. Including some I am still working on entries for.
  8. There will be a first place, second place and two runner-ups, who will win $20, $10 and $5 dollars respectively. All prizes will be awarded in the form of tips.
  9. For this one, I am going to leave things open from a creativity point of view. So, whether you take the bones, or a few words...I'll leave it up to you. I want to see where creativity takes you. For instance, if you want to take on more than one in the same entry, you can. Please remember that it's still strictly one entry per person.
  10. Have fun!
  11. If Vocal is interested in co-hosting this challenge, I'd welcome it! Not too subtle hint hint hint! haha!

So, there you have it. I just want to wish you well in your endeavours and look forward to seeing what you do.

*

The Remixes

Kayleigh Fraser - Talking to Paul's Reflection

Matthew Fromm - When did you last see the Rising?

John Cox - Paul in a Mirror Brightly

Hannah Moore - Redemption (Awarded Top Story)

Angie the Archivist 📚🪶- The Sea... How I Love Thee!

Anna - When did you last see the bright sky...

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden - Irreparable Changes

Shirley Belk - Seeing the Sea

Poppy - gift-wrapped

Christy Munson - Relax

Novel Allen - When did you last see the storm-tossed sea

Heather Hubler - Perception

*

Thanks for reading!

VocalPromptsInspirationCommunityChallenge
28

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (33)

Sign in to comment
  • Kendall Defoe 18 days ago

    Okay, I did not obey the rules completely. I could not resist playing with this one: https://vocal.media/poets/ethical-counterpoint

  • Dana Crandell18 days ago

    Here you go, Pal, Not quite last-minute, but close: https://vocal.media/poets/a-farewell-to-hair

  • Yay!! About time you got TS for this. Great Job!!!

  • Heather Hubler27 days ago

    Here is my entry, Sir Paul :) I hope you don't hate it!! https://vocal.media/poets/perception-jh3s05ot

  • Christy Munsonabout a month ago

    Great unofficial challenge, Paul. I'm pleased to add my entry into the mix of already excellent pieces! https://vocal.media/poets/relax-3wex0wx9

  • Poppy about a month ago

    Here's mine! https://vocal.media/poets/gift-wrapped-8q5t0vd2 Also, this remix idea might be a new addiction! I've already written a poem based off a song and want to do more thanks to you! Also, I loved your poem, glad this has brought attention to it, otherwise I would've missed it!

  • Shirley Belkabout a month ago

    Here is my remix of your wonderful poem. Hope I did it justice. https://vocal.media/poets/seeing-the-sea-rhd0a4h

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a month ago

    Lol, pretty clever idea, Paul. Your wheels are always turning to come up with something new. I think I’ll give it a shot. I wonder which poem will get remixed the most. Wagers, anyone? Lol.

  • Anna about a month ago

    Here's my take on the challenge: https://vocal.media/poets/when-did-you-last-see-the-bright-sky Btw I really like this kind of remix style. It was fun to recreate something "old"! I'm looking forward to seeing more challenges like this!!😊

  • Here’s my ruination of your perfectly delightful poem!😵‍💫😳 You obviously like living on the edge!🫨 https://vocal.media/poets/the-sea-how-i-love-thee

  • ROCK about a month ago

    This is quite the challenge with an intimidating twist. I am not so confident to rewrite another's work.

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Mackenzie Davisabout a month ago

    Woot! Top Story!!! See?!!

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh2 months ago

    I am so excited about this challenge. How brave and generous of you to lend your poetic discography to the community to play with!

  • Wait... "no word count limit." Get ready to read all 30,000 words of what I'm cooking up over here. Hope your weekend's open 😏

  • Melissa Ingoldsby2 months ago

    Very creative challenge!! 👏

  • Hannah Moore2 months ago

    Just gonna come right out and admit that I hope you like it Paul. https://vocal.media/poets/redemption-v7140dio But I'll weather it if you dont!

  • Oh, what a fun idea...I will start reading

  • Poppy 2 months ago

    A PAUL CHALLENGE YAY Gonna have to read this poems asap and get planning. I’m glad you’re giving us so much time! I have to admit I was hoping for “I want you to know” to be one of the poems😂😭 and I forget the name of my other favourite… “if you know, I’m sorry” or something like that? Anyway this is suuuchhh a cool idea, I love remixing poems so much! I’ve only remixed my own poems before 🙈 but this feels almost like a collaboration in a way (which is funny because I know you hate doing those) and I really enmity collaborations so IM KEEN!

  • Whether to pun or not to pun, which is the darker question? Whether 'tis nobler in mind to attempt to do both within a single go.... Yep, that's as far as I'm going to take it here. Though I did want to add that if we've already read the poem once, our reread of it I don't believe will give you another read. Still, I guess it does mean introducing you to a larger audience with the link.

  • Wow! This looks fun, but scary! 😦 You’re a brave man offering your precious masterpieces to be remodeled 🫨 I’d like to have a go… now that’s enough to give you nightmares 😳

  • John Cox2 months ago

    Remember, Paul, you asked for this. https://vocal.media/poets/paul-in-a-mirror-brightly A remix of A Farewell to Smooth https://vocal.media/poets/a-farewell-to-smooth

  • Dana Crandell2 months ago

    Well, there's enough time, so I'll try to come up with something. Great challenge idea, sir!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.