Poets logo

Perception

for Paul's Unofficial Remix Challenge

By Heather HublerPublished 25 days ago 1 min read
14
Created with NightCafeStudio

This was written for Paul's wonderfully creative unofficial challenge which you can read about in the link below!

I chose to 'remix' or in my case, answer? Paul's words with my own, using his poem, Great Nothingness, as the inspiration. All words in italics are Paul's. His original piece was an acrostic for the Dancing with Distraction Vocal challenge. I followed the acrostic theme...you can see for yourself what I chose :)

~

Do you feel weighed down by life?

Actually, I'm light as a feather, high on life

Immerse yourself deep in water

(but) The atmosphere feels fine up here...

Stop and take a moment

Til I remember your words and slowly slip below the depths,

Tilt your head back and float

Entirely submerged now

Relax and let the waves wash over you

Nothing but a lump of pain anchored to the ocean floor

Acclimitise yourself to the water

Coalesce with it

The pressure splitting my broken mind

Think about nothing but your surroundings

Inundated with images of you and her

Indulge yourself in the great nothingness

Obsessed and consumed with my grief

Only then will you feel free,

Not to mention, happy.

Never to be free.

____________________________________________________

Thank you so much for reading!!

sad poetryAcrostic
14

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶22 days ago

    Very cleverly done!

  • Paul Stewart24 days ago

    My word. That was...stunning, Heather. Thank you first and foremost for entering something so remarkable for my lil challenge. This felt like an actual collaboration sorta...which was so cool. I love that you took the acrostic and did an acrostic and you did it as a response...like John said (lol at one of my happier ones, rare apparently but it's true I guess haha) I am bowled over a bit and will definitely read this a few more times. Also just the insanely clever Attention as a reaction/answer to Distraction. Just, great. So many lines...just flowed so well...and it was like...wait for it...pun incoming...both our pieces coalesced together seamlessly! Thank you again and well done again. Don't think I've truly done it justice but...yeah. Well done!

  • I paid ATTENTION to your Acrostic and I'm so impressed by it! I love how you chose the conceot of response to Paul lines. That was so clever and creative! Loved your poem so much!

  • Cathy holmes25 days ago

    That was fascinating. Like a conversation with your own mind. The struggle is real, and beautifully expressed.

  • Caroline Craven25 days ago

    Gosh. This was awesome. You and Paul should collaborate on some poems for sure as this was so good.

  • Your writings are almost superb. So yeahhhhh !!!

  • Brin J.25 days ago

    vvvv What John said. The two inner voices had contrasting reactions to the same situation, each coping in their own unique way. So sad, Heather.

  • John Cox25 days ago

    Wow. You took one of Paul's happy poems (rare I know) and made it more Pauline than Paul. I loved the contrast, like two inner voices arguing, hope versus despair. It should be incongruent, and yet it works in a dreamlike manner, like a call and response. Very striking, very original, Heather.

  • Babs Iverson25 days ago

    Wonderfully written!!! Loved it!!!💕❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.