Poets logo

Paul in a Mirror Brightly

Paul's Unofficial Remix Challenge

By John CoxPublished about a month ago 1 min read
13

This spiteful world abated,

Its jagged cruelty and harsh laughter,

The icy stares and sullen silences,

Its hardness and hate

All that once tormented

Overcome, replaced

With your soft touch

That pierces and pleads.

Say goodbye to your hard walls

And memories of the torment

When you were young.

The tricks and blows and dirty names,

The last to be chosen on the playground,

Tears bitterly wept in those sleepless nights,

The good night kisses that ended when you were small.

For you did not know

The joy of a gentle voice,

Your life

Lived for so many years

In a wilderness

Of hate.

But then I met you,

The two of us battered and broken,

Hope, even distant, beckoning where pain once ruled,

The feel of your skin beneath my tender hands,

The soft touch of your lips upon mine.

Say hello to hope and the fastness of love,

Embracing the alternative to lonely and alone.

For we have known the hard and heartless

And discovered in one another’s arms what

Many rarely do.

love poems
13

About the Creator

John Cox

Family man, grandfather, retired soldier and story teller with an edge.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hubler17 days ago

    This brought tears to my eyes...how utterly lovely :) You did this challenge justice. Wonderful work!

  • L.C. Schäferabout a month ago

    Truly beautiful and raw. Full of healing and hope 👌

  • Jay Kantorabout a month ago

    Hi John - I've been wanting to say. You so impress me how you can hop from Poignant to Scarry with a little wrist action of your pen; I admire that. I've been co-writing a 'Children's' story with one of our VillageBucket Authors - Way out of my Wheelhouse - as I'm certain you've noticed about my 'Goof Writing' and Comic sketches. I'm just having fun with it all, as I see that you are, too at this stage. Best, j.in.l.a.

  • Cathy holmesabout a month ago

    This is beautiful, John. A tribute to true love, despite the scars brought. Wonderful piece.

  • A beautiful take & such a blessing.

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Awww John, this was so sweet, emotional and extremely touching! So SO wonderful! I loved it!

  • Kayleigh Fraser ✨about a month ago

    This is a really beautiful entry, John 👌🙏🤍✨

  • Anna about a month ago

    Wow! I'm so glad you found each other!😊

  • Paul Stewartabout a month ago

    You're right, in reply to your other comment, that I shall reply to in due time - I did ask for it and boy, am I glad I did. I love how you soothed out all the roughness and turned it into an inspirational love piece about your wife. I do hope you read this to her. It is so genuinely lovely...no annoying half-baked emotions...just pure, lived, real, felt. Loved it, thank you for taking part John and thank for you putting forward such a stunning piece of poetry. I am very humbled so far by the entries and the quality.

  • Hannah Mooreabout a month ago

    I need to go back and read Paul's to see what you've done properly! I also need to have a go at this myself at some point ...

  • John Cox (Author)about a month ago

    For the remix inspiration visit Paul's poem A Farewell to Smooth https://vocal.media/poets/a-farewell-to-smooth

  • Lacy Loar-Gruenlerabout a month ago

    Oh, John, I know this is dedicated to your wife, and it is so so good. It's beyond good. Just beautiful. I'm tearing up just reading it! (In a good way, though!)

  • Christy Munsonabout a month ago

    "The goodnight kisses that ended when you were small" gets me where I live. Great line, John!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.