Poets logo

The Sea… How I Love Thee!

Paul's Unofficial Remix Challenge

By Angie the Archivist 📚🪶Published 2 months ago Updated 2 days ago 1 min read
12
The Sea… How I Love Thee!
Photo by Tim Marshall on Unsplash

I last

Saw the sea…

When?

Oh, quite recently…

When this year was still new…

Beyond sloping, silvery, satin sands

White horses astride undulating swells of cobalt blue.

**

Its gentle murmur

Drew me irresistibly

Beneath circling seagulls screeching…

Past toddlers’ tinkling laughter.

**

Patiently…

I scanned the horizon

Leapt onto foaming, salty breakers…

Courting near disaster…

Eyes stinging!

Ears ringing!

**

Flying like a demented arrow

I revelled in exhilarating, turbulent waves

Free from troubles; worries; sorrow

Unshackled from their anchor …

No longer their slave.

**

Tyrannical time loosed his grip

Refreshed, renewed, reinvigorated

I was young!

I was free!

**

Adrenaline coursed through my veins

My heart skipped merrily

Just one more wave…

No, make that three!

That last one ended quite scarily.

**

Sadly, time regained his grip

Reluctantly, I bade the sea

A forlorn farewell.

**

When?

Oh when

Will my next encounter be?

**

Beach holidays beckon cheerily

Soon… ever so soon…

I’ll return…

And all will be well for me!

**

The above poem is written for Paul’s Remix Challenge and is a remix of Paul Stewart’s fabulous poem, When Did You Last See The Sea

***

Clearly, I have a close connection to water and its soothing influence, as seen also in My Perfect Place.

nature poetryHolidayfact or fiction
12

About the Creator

Angie the Archivist 📚🪶

Addicted to reading… especially fiction and recently poetry.

Personality of a Labrador.

Attention span of a gnat! 🙃

A Parade Of Shoes: Top Story March 2024

"Look Out... Sauerkraut!": Top Story December 2023

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • TheSpinstressabout a month ago

    This is a lovely, optimistic take on the theme. I love "Beach holidays beckon cheerily"; brings me right back to childhood for some reason!

  • Shirley Belkabout a month ago

    Angie, it was a renewal! loved it

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a month ago

    This was a gorgeous piece Angie!! I love the flow, your use of imagery and all the little sensory pieces you snuck in there! Masterful work and so well thought out!! Great work!!

  • Whoaaa, this was so stunningly beautiful! I'm so sorry for pointing this out but on the line "Tyrannical time loosed its grip", shouldn't it be "loosened"? You did such a brilliant job remixing Paul's poem! I loved it!

  • D.K. Shepard2 months ago

    A blend of cheery and wistful! Excellent, Angie! Loved “Just one more wave… No, make that three!”

  • John Cox2 months ago

    This is wonderful, Angie. I love how you brought a youthful and carefree energy to Paul's ode. There just something about the sea that brings out the child in us!

  • Anna 2 months ago

    Well done! This is beautiful!❤️

  • Paul Stewart2 months ago

    Oh my...this is wonderful, Angie! I love how you responded to the question and loved the imagery you used throughout. So many great lines...I'll pick a few...even if it's hard to single out some... "Flying like a demented arrow I revelled in exhilarating, turbulent waves Free from troubles; worries; sorrow Unshackled from their anchor … No longer their slave." Love this section and then that it leads on to talk about time as being tyrannical...loved that word choice, Such an evocative poem and I felt it all...you painted a stunning picture that could be felt about the sea. Well done and thank you for such a gorgeous entry into the challenge.

  • Mariann Carroll2 months ago

    Great imagery poem of the sea ❤️

  • Hannah Moore2 months ago

    What a hearty answer!

  • Poppy 2 months ago

    Gorgeous poem💗

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.