Poets logo

when did you last see the sea?

poem or something...

By Paul StewartPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - October 2023
32

when did you last see the sea

when did you last feel the breeze

these are the moments I live for

the slight of touch

the mist in the morning

the afterglow aftershock of the night before

when did you last laugh until you cried?

when did you last cry until you laughed?

these are pivitol moments

worth remembering

celebrating, commemorating, memorialising

to yesterday's wins, losses, bad days, holidays and high days

when did you last tough the sky

when did you last reach out and grab for the clouds, sun, moon and the stars

as I grow older, I want to stay grounded

less inclined to reach up

less inclined to reach out

than I should

*

Thanks for reading!

performance poetrysurreal poetrysocial commentarysad poetrynature poetryinspirationalheartbreakfact or fiction
32

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (22)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen2 months ago

    I just found this prompt months later and it is still wonderful. I just wrote one about a storm tossed sea, I love to watch the lightening over the waters. Congrats on a cool prompt.

  • Shirley Belk2 months ago

    Touched my heart...why I chose to remix :) Great idea by the way, Paul!

  • Anna 2 months ago

    Great poem! Can't wait to recreate it!😊

  • Poppy 2 months ago

    Love it love it love it. I'd say more but I'm too busy remixing hehehe.

  • This is a delightful poem… “ when did you last see the sea when did you last feel the breeze these are the moments I live for the slight of touch the mist in the morning’… such precious moments… certainly invigorating.

  • John Cox2 months ago

    I agree with Grz Colm’s comments. This poem is a great corrective to our resistance to awe when we age. Beautiful poetry!

  • Such an encouraging and pure poem..congrats Paul

  • Grz Colm7 months ago

    Yo!…great job…. I wanna laugh until I cry and cry until I laugh lol! I liked that bit a lot. Great writing Paul and congrats on all the things! 😁😆😊

  • This is beautiful Paul! You have a gift for uplifting poetry…. 🩷💕🩷

  • ThatWriterWoman7 months ago

    'when did you last laugh until you cried? when did you last cry until you laughed?' LOVE these words!

  • Naomi Gold7 months ago

    Really profound words, expressed with perfect brevity. I’m glad Suze nominated this so more of us can see it. I’m seeing it exactly when I need it. Congrats! 🥂

  • Rachel Deeming7 months ago

    This is a lovely poem, Paul.

  • Test7 months ago

    This is beautifully written x Uplifting and inspiring without being too cheesy 🤍

  • Once again, Paul, sage counsel. Just one question. Did you mean to say, "when did you last tough the sky" rather than "touch the sky"? It's an interesting turn of phrase that's kind of fun to mull over, but I'm not sure it's what you meant.

  • kory salajka7 months ago

    love this. thank you -- it really went right in. lovely.

  • Hmmm, I've never been much of an ambitious person so I have no idea when was the last I reached up or out. A very poignant poem! 🍩🥐

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Wonderful.

  • love the ocean

  • Hannah Moore7 months ago

    I just sat down from an imaginary sword fight with my 13 year old (turning 14 tomorrow) son. We laughed and cavorted across the kitchen in our pyjamas, and I am still glowing with the pleasure. It was only five minutes. I will keep it though.

  • Mother Combs7 months ago

    💞

  • Suze Kay7 months ago

    Beautiful poem about the tangible moments that make it good to be alive. Thanks for sharing, Paul :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.