Poets logo

A Farewell to Hair

For Paul's Unofficial Remix Challenge

By Dana CrandellPublished 13 days ago Updated 13 days ago 1 min read
18

The hair I had has up and left

Replaced by a smooth, slick surface

With dings, dents and bumps.

The hats I wore for fashion

Now prevent sunburn, mostly.

Those who say bald is beautiful

Have never looked under the hats.

Farewell, thick, blond mop

With that flamboyant flip -

Unruly, uncontrollable

And now so missed.

Only the stubborn sides remain,

Leaving an airstrip for the mosquitoes.

***

A quick, near-last-minute entry to my pal-across-the-pond, Paul's unique challenge, which I'll link to below. It was inspired, in title, at least, by this one from Paul:

For any of you talented, quick thinkers that would like to enter, here's the challenge:

humorFree VerseFor Fun
18

About the Creator

Dana Crandell

Dad, Stedpad, Grandpa, Husband, lover of Nature and dogs.

Poet, Writer, Editor, Photographer, Artist and Tech/Internet nerd. Content writer by trade. Vocal Creator by choice.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Flamance @ lit7 days ago

    Awesome story I like it congratulations 🎉🎉

  • Novel Allen10 days ago

    Hey, come on. Bald heads are sexy. Just get rid of the side stuff and strut your bald stuff. Make it shiny. The gals will love it. I dare you to try it. Takes off 10 years.

  • Shirley Belk12 days ago

    This was so funny. Reminded me of my brother's hair (or lack thereof...)

  • Jay Kantor12 days ago

    d-bud - Odd how my HairBrush~FilledUp for years..it Won..! j-bud

  • Tina D'Angelo12 days ago

    I have to share this with my hubby, who hair has been receding since he was 20!

  • Ha ha ha. It made me "your idea is wonderful"

  • Paul Stewart13 days ago

    PMSL! lol...I had a feeling it was going to go one of two ways with you sir - either a deep piece or a deep piece with lashings of humour thrown in. What a fun take on the original piece! Also, you're looking smart in the pic anyway, hair or not! this was just pure Crandell brilliant. You always have a way of making me laugh with your phrase choices. I can imagine you actually reading it to me...and I'd not be able to keep a straight face lol! Yay for getting one in on time, so pleased! Was waiting and looking and hoping, haha! Thank you for giving your time and creativity to the challenge. As ever, I've been bowled over by the response and you've just made my job even harder lol! So, thanks for that, bud! arse. :P

  • Hahahahahahahhahaha that last line made me laugh so much! Loved your take on the challenge!

  • JBaz13 days ago

    'slick surface With dings, dents and bumps.' How long were you holding this little beauty inside, waiting to fallout of your mind like the golden locks of old. Funny, funny.

  • Brin J.13 days ago

    "Leaving an airstrip for the mosquitos" 🤣 I adore your humor on this. I smiled from start to finish.

  • Mark Gagnon13 days ago

    My brother is the one with the disappearing hairline. I tell him it's because he was swimming in the wrong end of the gene pool.

  • Heather Hubler13 days ago

    The title got me...what an ode, lol!! Great entry, big bro!! Loved the humor :)

  • Judey Kalchik 13 days ago

    Airstrip for 🦟!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.