Poets logo

Seeing the Sea

"Paul's Unofficial Remix Challenge

By Shirley BelkPublished about a month ago 1 min read
17
https://mcintyrebirds.blogspot.com/2011/02/little-gull-in-port-aransas-215.html

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Oh, the warm breeze of the Gulf lulls me as the sun leaves tiny kisses

on my face...makes me feel it deep down, no part of me it misses.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

My bed of beige sand begs for me to be a child again on this relaxing day,

But I am too busy listening to what the little gulls might have to say...

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I feel so very small and insecure against the majesty of this inlet.

Oh, that I could send away all burden of my wrongs and my regret.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I think of all the seasons, memories, and occasions that God sent my way.

Have I done my best to live them fully, or have I let them slip away?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The beach becomes a spiritual mirror of which I must peer,

It begs me to take this journey forward, in His love, without fear.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

As the waves go back and forth, He commands, "No further."

He is my God, and I should have no other!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I've replaced my ugly burdens with a bucket and a shovel..

Now I'm free to build a castle instead of my small hovel!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

nature poetryMental HealthinspirationalGratitude
17

About the Creator

Shirley Belk

Mother, Nana, Sister, Cousin, & Aunt who recently retired. RN (Nursing Instructor) who loves to write stories to heal herself and reflect on all the silver linings she has been blessed with

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 9 days ago

    Wow, I loved this, so good! 💕

  • Staringale29 days ago

    There is a sense of introspection and reflection in this poem. It gives off a message to the reader to let go of their burdens, fears and embrace the beauty of the present moment.

  • Rowan Finley 30 days ago

    My FAVORITE line is: "My bed of beige sand begs for me to be a child again on this relaxing day." This line is absolutely heart turning and gorgeous!

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a month ago

    Clever and powerful remix, Shirley. Loved it!

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Love your gratitude poem!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    This was extremely powerful and profound! You produced a megamasterpiece out of Paul's masterpiece! Loved your poem!

  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    Aww, love this!! Clever.

  • Novel Allenabout a month ago

    I never saw this challenge.. .but I love it. I love the ending about building a castle, yet give praise to the hovel for bringing you to the castle. In everything we give thanks. Lovely poem.

  • L.C. Schäferabout a month ago

    This is lovely, I especially like this bit: The beach becomes a spiritual mirror 😁

  • Paul Stewartabout a month ago

    Oh this is all kinds of magical and beautiful. Love how you took my poem and gave an insight into your own views on the sea and its profound meaning for you. Exceptional. Every single line was just perfect. Thank you for entering and thank you for putting forward such an incredible piece, Shirley! :)

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a month ago

    This is absolutely one of your best Shirley. Outstanding work!!! 💜🩷💙

  • Hannah Mooreabout a month ago

    And yet....the house built on sand is doomed!

  • Well said… the sea seems to have a profound effect on many of us.

  • angela hepworthabout a month ago

    gorgeous work! what i would give to be in the ocean right about now…

  • Rachel Deemingabout a month ago

    This is lovely, Shirley. Who doesn't love the sea?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.