Psyche logo

The Great War

What was I even fighting for?

By Nat Published 22 days ago 3 min read
Like
The Great War
Photo by Dan Meyers on Unsplash

The leaving never bothered me. I don’t think I was born to actually finish anything. I was always the first to arrive and the first to leave. Going back just proved that the city was the same as it ever was. I remember telling someone that I was leaving to fight a war. I guess the war was between me, myself and I. I don’t even know what I was fighting for anymore but it turned into something bigger. I thought that I had to burn all of my bridges when that wasn’t the case. I just wanted a fresh start that didn’t involved staying in a city that was slowly killing me. I am still unsure of how I got here. I remember my mentor telling me to smile even when I wanted to die because women like us are tough and that we can do anything especially with a broken brain.

Leaving was easy. I’m thankful for the people I left behind but I will not go back. I survived something that I didn’t think I was going to. My best friend says that I finally got my color back and that leaving did it. I am not sure if leaving did but it helped. I had gotten used to feeling like a burden. I finally have color back in my face. I loved that place for so long and when I finally left I convinced myself that it was for the best and is what had to happen. I faked it till I made it but what happens now. Leaving felt like I can finally breathe.

I really needed the change. I was hoping the subway crashed whenever I was on the 6 train. That isn’t a way to live. I still wish I would have changed my mind. I think about the things that I lost and the people I knew. I didn’t know how to make them happy anymore. When I think about it for too long I get angry again. Even after 4 years I still missed the smoke of the city. I think that maybe that city got what is best of me. All of my friends blame someone else for my downfall. It kills me. I don’t think that I will be able to open up that way again. The past me wants to go and use old coping skills that aren’t the healthiest. I thought that I just needed to grow up and then I would come back. Years passed and I felt the same. I only come home for funerals and weddings now. I knew my hometown was never to keep, But I surived the war that was in my mind.

When I think about it, it doesn’t feel like my story anymore. I’m only writing this because someone told me to write what I know and somehow this is all I know. I know that it’s sad but sometimes it’s all I can think about. I really thought I knew everything at the age of 16 but here I am ten years later just as naive. I still can’t believe that I left the way I did. Sometimes I think that I got so good at disappearing that I start to doubt my own memories. Was I even there? It was hard to be a stranger in my own hometown. So I packed up my life and moved to the ocean. I had to get away because I thought that I was gonna go to my grave. I’m lucky for my mentors who assured me that I was making the best choice. I never wanted me leaving to make anyone mad.

recoveryptsddepressioncopinganxiety
Like

About the Creator

Nat

She/her/hers

writing about adoption, mental health, and chronic Illness.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.