Poets logo

Petals

Poem about pretty poison

By Silver Serpent BooksPublished 8 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - June 2024
Petals
Photo by Sara Cervera on Unsplash

I tore off your petals.

Shoved them in my throat.

I choked and choked and choked

Until I managed to swallow down

The poison in the pretty pink petals of you.

.

I went back for the seeds,

Plucked them from you too.

They filled my stomach, infiltrated my blood,

Turned something in me sour and rotten,

Then bloomed with their fatal poison.

.

I hallucinated that you loved me.

The colors were vibrant.

Sweet on my tongue like hibiscus,

Soft in my belly like soup,

The world was pretty again.

.

And you were the prettiest.

A blooming flower amidst a field of thorns.

I waded into the violent sea,

Turned crimson from the waterfall down my flesh

But the injuries didn't land in my reality.

.

Because I was hallucinating

Pretty little dreams of you.

I was plucking your petals,

Eating your essence whole

And letting those poison seeds do their work.

surreal poetrysad poetrylove poemsheartbreak

About the Creator

Silver Serpent Books

Writer. Interested in all the rocks people have forgotten to turn over. There are whole worlds under there, you know. Dark ones too, even better.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (22)

  • Dr. Jason Benskin2 days ago

    Congratulations on having your story featured as a top story on Vocal! This is a remarkable achievement, and it's clear why your work has received such recognition. Your storytelling is truly exceptional. The narrative was not only compelling but also beautifully crafted, holding my attention from start to finish. The way you developed the characters and plot was masterful, making the story both engaging and thought-provoking. Your unique voice and perspective shine through, setting your work apart. It’s evident that you poured a lot of passion and effort into this piece, and it has certainly paid off. I look forward to reading more of your incredible stories in the future. Keep up the fantastic work! Best regards, Dr. Jay

  • Rachel S5 days ago

    Beautifully written!

  • Sara Frederick6 days ago

    I really liked this a lot. Great job!

  • L.C. Schäfer6 days ago

    "I hallucinated that you loved me" - best bit!

  • Natasha Collazo7 days ago

    Gorgeous!!!

  • Poppy 7 days ago

    This is breathtaking. "I hallucinated that you loved me." That line broke me😭😭omg

  • Kodah7 days ago

    Beautifully done as always! Your poems I swearrrrr!! Always gives me chills! Incredibly done, Silver! 💌

  • The act of tearing off petals and consuming them symbolizes a toxic and consuming relationship, the portrayal of hallucinations and the distorted perception of love add layers of complexity to the poem, highlighting the allure and danger of falling into illusions, it leaves us with a haunting impression of the destructive power of self-deception, we‘re deeply moved by the poem, loved it, and hope to read more of your work, thank you very much again for sharing this spiritual journey that touched our hearts, subscribed.

  • Kay Husnick7 days ago

    This metaphor is so heartbreakingly beautiful. I think this might be one of the best poems I've read this year.

  • Kathy Tsoukalas7 days ago

    This is beautiful - I am going through something similar to this! "I hallucinated you love me..." I know the feeling, especially at the moment. Love the way you captured the feelings with this beautiful imagery!

  • Real Poetic7 days ago

    So heartbreakingly beautiful. Congrats! 🎊

  • D.K. Shepard8 days ago

    Congrats on Top story, Silver!! The first stanza really set the tone and the clever metaphorical foundation! Just excellent!

  • Raihana H.8 days ago

    When you're blindly in love, you just don't see the red flags until it's too late... Congrats on top story!!

  • Christy Munson8 days ago

    Congratulations on Top Story! 🥳 Most fascinating tale!

  • Congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉🎉 What a great reminder that pretty doesn't always mean safety.

  • 😮 “i hallucinated that you loved me” Wow that line in particular was brilliant Silver! The whole thing was really good, I loved the imagery of poisoning oneself the way you describe, but that one line was something special! Congrats on Top Story! Very very well earned!

  • Reminds me of Phantom Thread. Excellent work

  • BAM!💥

  • Paul Stewart8 days ago

    This is stunning - that pretty poison of a toxic relationship. As ever, you have this way of words that just leaves me feeling very envious at times! Well done on this fiery piece and congrats on the Top Story.

  • ROCK 8 days ago

    If I had a mic, I would drop it. Damn Serpent this is scandalously superior work.

  • Catsidhe8 days ago

    Often, we don't know it's poison until too late. Fantastic work!

  • Andrea Corwin 8 days ago

    Wow! Enough said!💕

Silver Serpent BooksWritten by Silver Serpent Books

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.