Poets logo

Old Words

A quick poem about words in the past.

By Silver Serpent BooksPublished 5 days ago 1 min read
3
Old Words
Photo by Connor Olson on Unsplash

The words stick to my ribs.

They glue my diaphragm to exhaled lungs.

Breath won't come.

.

They fill my stomach with acid.

I can't vomit them up, can't move them through.

They rot inside my guts.

.

The words are old

But festering wounds do not clean themselves with time.

They devour, they kill.

.

These words are killing me then.

They are wrapping delicate hands around my throat

And squeezing.

.

The words have gone fuzzy though

And I cannot tell if it is because I am losing my mind

Or if I am finally succumbing to them.

performance poetrysurreal poetryslam poetrysad poetry
3

About the Creator

Silver Serpent Books

Writer. Interested in all the rocks people have forgotten to turn over. There are whole worlds under there, you know. Dark ones too, even better.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • D. J. Reddall5 days ago

    Potent language about the potency of language!

  • D.K. Shepard5 days ago

    Woah! I felt the pain and discomfort of this line so strongly “They glue my diaphragm to exhaled lungs”. Words are so powerful and you really captured their lasting impact in this

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.